Brussels Airport Fund

Submit your project

The Brussels Airport Fund supports local communities

Connecting people, businesses and communities is Brussels Airport’s core mission. That is why the airport has been supporting good causes that make a positive difference and bring people together for some time. With the Brussels Airport Fund, established in cooperation with the King Baudouin Foundation, Brussels Airport wants to further strengthen its social role.

The Brussels Airport Fund is an independent fund established under the auspices of the King Baudouin Foundation. Through this fund, organisations in the vicinity can request support for sustainable projects in response to an annual thematic call for proposals. The Fund manages the applications, and an objective jury is responsible for the selection of the projects.

Call for projects 2025  

The second call for projects – for the year 2025 – is now open. With this second call, the Fund wants to continue encouraging local initiatives that benefit people and their environment. The Fund concentrates on sustainability projects from local communities that aim to strengthen the connection between the residents and their surroundings.  

Which projects are eligible?  

  • Themes: As with the previous call for projects, projects should focus on one or more of the following themes: nature and environment, energy, mobility.  
  • Municipality: The projects should be carried out within one of the following municipalities: 1000-1020-1120-1130 Brussels, 1140 Evere, 1850-1851-1852-1853 Grimbergen, 3150 Haacht, 3020 Herent, 1910 Kampenhout, 3070-3071-3078 Kortenberg, 1950 Kraainem, 3000-3001-3010-3012-3018 Leuven, 1830-1931 Machelen, 3110-3111-3118 Rotselaar, 1200 Sint-Lambrechts-Woluwe, 1150 Sint-Pieters-Woluwe, 1820 Steenokkerzeel, 1800 Vilvoorde, 1970 Wezembeek-Oppem, 1930-1932-1933 Zaventem. 
  • Clear objective: Projects should have specific objective and a clear plan of approach, aiming towards permanent results. 
  • Project duration: A project can last for between 12 and 18 months, according to the nature and size of the project.   

Which projects are not eligible?   

Projects that are merely concerned with developing the normal operation of an organisation are not eligible. Example: support for the day-to-day/normal operation of a sports club or youth movement is not eligible unless these organisations develop a specific sustainability project meeting the criteria above.  

Who can submit a funding proposal?  

All organisations with a social purpose, active in the municipalities listed above: non-profits, youth organisations, local organisations, de facto associations, schools etc. The call is not open to individuals. Local councils can submit a funding proposal, as long as they do so in partnership with organisations with a social purpose.   

 What financial support will be granted?   

An organisation can apply for project support between €1,000 and €10,000. All costs are eligible as long as they are linked to a project. Any funding proposal must include a clear financial plan.    

How can I submit a project?  

Projects can be submitted through the website of the Koning Boudewijn Stichting who will proceed to the review and selection of the projects by an independent jury. 

Until when can I submit a project? 

The call for projects 2025 is now open and will close on September 16, 2024.  

Call for projects 2024: Sustainable projects that connect people

In total, the Fund received 29 submissions in this first call. An independent jury evaluated the projects and selected 18 projects that received support from the Brussels Airport Fund in 2024.

These local projects focus on nature and the environment, energy or mobility and stimulate the connection between residents and their environment. Sustainability was a key aspect: the project was evaluated not only by the positive impact it could have on the neighbourhood and climate, but also on its long-term results. Additionally, a clear financial plan of approach and specific targets were also crucial.   

Below is an overview of the selected projects. More details on the individual projects can be found on the website of the King Baudouin Foundation.

Selected projects

  • Borrekensveld: Green Play and Meeting Place (Municipality of Grimbergen)
  • The Care Garden (VZW De Ark, Brussels)
  • Bij-zonder Bouwen (VZW Heemschut, Grimbergen)
  • Leef Wonderwoudje in Rotselaar (Leefgreens)
  • “Kom op Adem” (Adem, Vlasselaar)
  • Participatory Co-creation trajectory in Centrum Molenmoes (De Wissel VZW, Wezemaal)
  • Vol aan de Bak! (Mobiel 21)
  • Heat from “De Boomgaard” (LIVEZ cvso)
  • Plastic-Free Rivers (River Cleanup vzw)
  • Vertous (Courtileke)
  • Pand 57 (Buurtwerk 't Lampeke vzw, Leuven)
  • New building Scouts Buken-Delle (VZW Lokalen Buken)
  • Energetic renovation youth centre Floerebloes
  • Strombeach 24 (VIVA1853)
  • Woluwe-Saint-Pierre Bicycle Library (Kontakt ASBL)
  • Stimulating Disadvantaged Families (MFC Combo, Leuven)
  • Veloveutwie Kortenberg (The Hulster)
  • Mijn Kijk Ap(art) (VZW Gemeenschapscentrum De Linde)

Brussels Airport Fund

Soumettre un projet

Le Brussels Airport Fund soutient les communautés locales 

Connecter les gens, les entreprises et les communautés est la mission première de Brussels Airport. C'est pourquoi l'aéroport soutient depuis longtemps des organisations caritatives qui apportent une contribution positive et rassemblent les gens. Avec le Brussels Airport Fund, géré par la Fondation Roi Baudouin, Brussels Airport entend renforcer son rôle social.

Le Brussels Airport Fund est un fonds indépendant qui a été créé sous l'égide de la Fondation Roi Baudouin. Par l'intermédiaire du Fonds, les organisations locales peuvent demander un soutien pour des projets durables par le biais d'un appel à projets annuel sur un thème spécifique. Le Fonds gère les candidatures et un jury indépendant est chargé de la sélection des projets.

Appel à projets 2025  

Le deuxième appel à projets - pour l'année 2025 - est actuellement ouvert. Avec ce deuxième appel à projet, le Fonds souhaite continuer à encourager les initiatives locales qui bénéficient aux personnes et à leur environnement. Le Fonds se concentre sur les projets de développement durable des communautés locales qui visent à renforcer le lien entre les habitants et leur environnement.  

Quels sont les projets éligibles ?  

  • Thèmes : Comme pour l'appel à projets précédent, les projets doivent se concentrer sur un ou plusieurs des thèmes suivants : nature et environnement, énergie, mobilité.
  • Localité : Les projets doivent être réalisés dans l'une des communes suivantes : 1000-1020-1120-1130 Bruxelles, 1140 Evere, 1850-1851-1852-1853 Grimbergen, 3150 Haacht, 3020 Herent, 1910 Kampenhout, 3070-3071-3078 Kortenberg, 1950 Kraainem, 3000-3001-3010-3012-3018 Louvain, 1830-1931 Machelen, 3110-3111-3118 Rotselaar, 1200 Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, 1150 Woluwe-Saint-Pierre, 1820 Steenokkerzeel, 1800 Vilvoorde, 1970 Wezembeek-Oppem, 1930-1932-1933 Zaventem.
  • Objectif clair : Les projets doivent avoir un objectif spécifique et un plan d'approche clair, visant de préférence des résultats permanents.
  • Durée du projet : Un projet peut durer entre 12 et 18 mois, en fonction de sa nature et de sa taille.

Quels sont les projets non éligibles ?   

Les projets qui visent uniquement à développer le fonctionnement normal d'une organisation ne sont pas éligibles. Par exemple : le soutien au fonctionnement quotidien/normal d'un club sportif ou d'un mouvement de jeunesse n'est pas éligible, à moins que ces organisations ne développent un projet spécifique de développement durable répondant aux critères ci-dessus.  

Qui peut soumettre un projet ?  

Toutes les organisations à but social opérant dans les communes énumérées ci-dessus : asbl, mouvements de jeunesse, organisations locales, associations de fait, écoles, etc.. L'appel n'est pas ouvert aux particuliers. Les communes peuvent soumettre une proposition de financement, à condition qu'elles le fassent en partenariat avec des associations à but social.

Quel est le soutien financier accordé ?   

Une organisation peut demander un soutien pour un projet compris entre 1000 et 10.000 euros. Tous les coûts sont éligibles pour autant qu'ils soient liés à un projet. Toute proposition de financement doit inclure un plan financier clair.

Comment puis-je soumettre un projet ?  

Les projets peuvent être soumis via le site web de la Fondation Roi Baudouin qui procédera à l'examen et à la sélection des projets par un jury indépendant.

Jusqu'à quand puis-je soumettre un projet ? 

L'appel à projets 2025 est actuellement ouvert et sera clotûré le 16 septembre 2024. 

Des projets durables qui connectent les gens 

Au total, 29 dossiers ont été soumis pour ce premier appel. Un jury indépendant a évalué les projets et en a sélectionné 18 qui ont bénéficié d'un soutien du Brussels Airport Fund en 2024. 

Ces projets locaux se concentrent sur les domaines de l'environnement, de l'énergie ou encore de la mobilité et stimulent la connexion entre les habitants et leur environnement. La durabilité est essentielle : les projets ont été évalués non seulement en fonction de l'impact positif qu'ils auront sur l'environnement et le climat, mais aussi en fonction des résultats à long terme. Un plan d'action financier clair et des objectifs concrets étaient également des critères de sélection très importants.  

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu des projets sélectionnés. Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur le site web de la Fondation Roi Baudouin.

Un deuxième appel à projets sera lancé dans le courant de cette année pour un soutien en 2025.

Projets sélectionnés 

  • Borrekensveld : lieu de jeu et de rencontre au cœur de la nature (commune de Grimbergen)
  • Le jardin de soins (asbl De Ark, Bruxelles)
  • Bij-zonder Bouwen (VZW Heemschut, Grimbergen)
  • Leef Wonderwoudje à Rotselaar (Leefgreens)
  • Kom op Adem (Adem, Vlasselaar)
  • Trajectoire de co-création participative au Centrum Molenmoes (De Wissel VZW, Wezemaal)
  • Vol aan de Bak! (Mobiel 21)
  • Chaleur du De Boomgaard (LIVEZ cvso)
  • Rivières sans plastique (River Cleanup vzw)
  • Vertous (Courtileke)
  • Pand 57 (Buurtwerk 't Lampeke vzw, Louvain)
  • Nouveau bâtiment Scouts Buken-Delle (ASBL Lokalen Buken)
  • Rénovation énergétique de la maison des jeunes Floerebloes
  • Strombeach 24 (VIVA1853)
  • Vélothèque de Woluwe-Saint-Pierre (Kontakt ASBL)
  • Stimuler les familles défavorisées (MFC Combo, Louvain)
  • Veloveutwie Kortenberg (Le Hulster)
  • Mijn Kijk Ap(art) (VZW Gemeenschapscentrum De Linde)