We take animal care to the next level

Official opening

The pristine Animal Care & Inspection centre has been a few years in the making and will be open for business in June 2020. Designed exclusively for live animal handling, with large areas foreseen for the inspection, handling, storage and/or quarantine of live animals.

Designed for the future

With over 2000m² of covered space, the facility has been designed ready for the future of animal transport and housing. Multiple animal stays with adaptive lighting, temperature and air cycling make sure animals always reside in optimal conditions.

The ACIC has dedicated export and import zones, which are physically separated from each other to avoid any contact between animals. The building is designed as a passive building, the need for energy is further covered by solar panels, heating pumps and thermal exchange.

Border Control Post

The presence of a Border Inspection Post for live animals is essential for the operation of an international airport. Multiple state-of-the-art inspection rooms, fully equipped, make sure animals can be checked smoothly and without delay. The offices of the Federal Agency for Security of the Food Chain (FASFC) are located on the first floor, which results in faster processing and improved animal welfare.

Facts and figures

  • 1 In-house laboratory                  
  • 10 Equine stables  
  • 10 Flex Animals stay
  • 3 Docking positions         
  • 2 Roller beds      
  • 9 Air changes per hour    
  • 12 Different temp/light settings    

Contact

info@acic.brussels

Animal Care & Inspection Centre
Building 700C
1830 Machelen
Belgium

Le soin animalier à un plus haut niveau

Ouverture officielle

C’est un Animal Care & Inspection Centre flambant neuf qui ouvrira ses portes en avril 2020, après quelques années de chantier. Conçu exclusivement pour la prise en charge des animaux vivants, il prévoit des zones spacieuses pour l’inspection, le traitement, le séjour et/ou le placement en quarantaine d’animaux vivants.

Un concept d’avenir

Possédant plus de 2 000 m² d’espace couvert, l’installation a été conçue de manière à être préparée au transport et à l’hébergement d’animaux tels qu’envisagés dans le futur. Plusieurs espaces de séjour sont dotés d’un mode d’éclairage et de température adaptatif ainsi que d’un système de recyclage de l’air, qui garantissent des conditions optimales pour les animaux.

L’ACIC possède des zones d'importation et d’exportation dédiées, physiquement séparées les unes des autres afin d'éviter tout contact entre les animaux. Les besoins énergétiques du bâtiment, conçu pour être passif, sont couverts par des panneaux solaires, des pompes à chaleur et un échangeur thermique.

Poste de contrôle frontalier

La présence d'un poste de contrôle frontalier pour animaux vivants est essentielle au fonctionnement d'un aéroport international. Plusieurs salles d'inspection à la pointe de la technologie, entièrement équipées, garantissent un examen fluide et sans délai des animaux. Les bureaux de l’AFSCA (Agence fédérale pour la sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire) sont situés au premier étage, donnant lieu à un traitement plus rapide et à une amélioration du bien-être des animaux.

Faits et chiffres

  • 1 Laboratoire interne                  
  • 10 Boxes à chevaux           
  • 10 Espaces de séjour flexibles
  • 3 Postes de mise à quai   
  • 2 Bancs à rouleaux          
  • 9 Renouvellements d’air par heure          
  • 12 Paramètres de température/lumière différents  

Contact

info@acic.brussels

Animal Care & Inspection Centre
Building 700C
1830 Machelen
Belgique