Info about the Coronavirus

Last updated: 01 April 2020

We understand that as a passenger or an airport employee you are probably worried about the coronavirus, so we want to inform you. The Federal Public Service (FPS) Public Health emphasizes that there is no additional risk for people travelling through Brussels Airport or working at the airport. Just like in any other public areas, it’s very important to strictly apply all hygiene measures and to keep a distance of 1.5 metres from other people (e.g. when queuing).

The Belgian Health Authorities and our health sector are vigilant and use all means to protect public health. As an airport, we closely monitor the situation and are ready to immediately implement any additional measures if necessary.

Timeline with info & advice

Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

  • Aegean Airlines
  • Alitalia
  • Bulgaria Air
  • Croatia Airlines
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Finnair
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Iberia
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
  • Lufthansa
  • Qatar Airways
  • Ryanair (Dublin)
  • Swiss
  • TAROM
  • Vueling (Barcelona)

Excludes charter flights to repatriate passengers.

The recent developments regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) unfortunately have a significant impact on the availability of our parkings, which are guarded 24/7.

Only P2, P3 and the ‘Reservation Zone’ are still accessible to park. In all other parkings, cars can only be picked up.

Do you have any other questions, such as ‘already made reservations’? Send a mail to brusselsairport@interparking.com or call +32 2 715 21 10.

Picking up a friend or relative?

Passengers arriving at Brussels Airport are only people who wish to go home.

Is this the case for one of your family members living under your roof in Belgium? If he or she is unable to take public transport or a taxi home, it is preferable that you wait for him or her outside the airport or in the car park.

Please respect the containment measures scrupulously and keep a social distance of 1.5 meter.

Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

  • Aegean Airlines
  • Aeroflot
  • Alitalia
  • British Airways (until 30/3)
  • Bulgaria Air
  • Croatia Airlines
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Finnair
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Iberia
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
  • Lufthansa
  • Qatar Airways
  • Ryanair (Dublin until 15/04)
  • Swiss
  • TAROM
  • TAP Air Portugal
  • Thai Airways International (until 31/03)
  • Vueling (Barcelona)

Excludes charter flights to repatriate passengers.

Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

  • Aegean Airlines
  • Aeroflot
  • Alitalia
  • British Airways (until 30/3)
  • Bulgaria Air
  • Croatia Airlines
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Finnair
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Iberia
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
  • Lufthansa
  • Qatar Airways
  • Ryanair (Dublin until 08/04)
  • Swiss
  • TAROM
  • TAP Air Portugal
  • Thai Airways International (until 31/03)
  • Vueling (Barcelona)

Excludes charter flights to repatriate passengers.

The federal police, in consultation with Brussels Airport, is carrying out reinforced controls at the airport.

Maintaining the social distance of 1.5 metres is particularly important to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. Brussels Airport has taken numerous measures in recent weeks to make its passengers aware of the need to respect this social distance. These include ground stickers to indicate the distance, posters and information on the screens, voice announcements in the terminal and checks by airport staff and the federal police. It is in everyone's interest that this social distance is respected, which is the most effective measure to prevent contamination.

That is why, in order to raise awareness, the federal police, in consultation with Brussels Airport, is now carrying out tighter controls at the airport and is using the federal reserve for this purpose. Access to the airport will also be controlled from now on. Only people who are travelling themselves will be allowed to enter the airport. It is also no longer possible to wait for someone in the arrivals hall. Anyone who refuses to respect social distance can - as is the case throughout the country - be fined, and the airport is no exception. Brussels Airport Company appreciates the help of the federal police and the reinforcement that will be put in place, as these measures are important for public health.

Passengers arriving at Brussels Airport are only people who wish to go home.

Is this the case for one of your family members living under your roof in Belgium? If he or she is unable to take public transport or a taxi home, it is preferable that you wait for him or her outside the airport or in the car park.

Please respect the containment measures scrupulously and keep a social distance of 1.5 meter.

Will people be put under quarantine when arriving at Brussels Airport?

When during the flight, a passenger on board shows symptoms of the Coronavirus infection and/or is suspected to be infected with the Coronavirus, the airport crew immediately notify the airport. On arrival of the aircraft, a medical team stands ready to examine the (possibly) infected passenger(s) and, if necessary, refer them through to their GP or the nearest hospital.

In case of a (suspected) infection on board, all passengers as well as the crew on board fill in a passenger location card, allowing the authorities to inform the passengers if necessary. Any members of staff concerned will also be informed.

Passengers are not automatically quarantined on arrival. Body temperature measurements are not carried out because both the FPS Public Health and virologist Marc Van Ranst deem this does not have an efficient added value to trace a possible Covid-19 infection.

Passengers who are found to have symptoms prior to their departure are denied boarding and have to be looked after first in the country they’re staying in at that moment.

Which measures are considered being essential for travel?

We advise against any travel and kindly refer to the website of Foreign Affairs. We cannot comment on the nature of essential trips.

Will checks be carried out on access points?

Federal Police determines if checks need to be performed and which controls will be carried out.

What to do when your airline has cancelled your flight and you cannot return home?

Please contact your airline or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Contact details of the airlines are listed here.

Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

  • Air Arabia
  • airBaltic
  • Air Malta (as of 21/3)
  • Austrian Airlines
  • Blue Air (as of 21/3)
  • Brussels Airlines (as of 21/3)
  • CSA Czech Airlines
  • Delta Air Lines
  • Eyptair (as of 20/3)
  • El Al Israel Airlines
  • LOT Polish Airlines
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Ukraine International
  • SunExpress
  • Tunisair
  • Turkish Airlines (as of 21/3)

No. However, passengers or aircraft coming from Belgium are no longer allowed to enter certain countries. Many airlines are reducing the number of flights they offer or have cancelled all their flights.

We advise to contact your airline. Contact details of the airlines are listed here.

Can you come and pick someone up at the airport (arrivals) without any issues?

Yes, the arrivals hall is open as usual, please adhere to the social distancing-rule (1,5 metres) at all times.

Is public transport still running?

Public transport remains operational but it is advised to make essential trips only. If you make use of public transport to get to and from work, it is recommended to adapt your travel schedule to avoid peak hours. Please check the websites of the public transport companies regarding running times.

Are taxis still available?

The ‘airport express’ is no longer running, but taxis and other alternative services are still available, providing the number of passengers is limited and hygiene rules are increased.

Since Monday evening 16 March 2020 all lounges at the airport are closed.

Our Lost & Found service remains open, but with a few changes in our way of working. Have you lost an item at the airport? Contact lost.objects@brusselsairport.be and we will send your item to you by regular mail, at your expense. Your lost item was found but you prefer to come pick it up at the airport yourself? To prevent the spread of the Coronavirus, non-essential visits to the airport are advised against. We will therefore keep the item for you until airport operations are back to normal. We will then contact you to make an appointment for you to come and collect it.

Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

  • Air Arabia
  • airBaltic
  • Austrian Airlines (as of 18/03)
  • CSA Czech Airlines
  • Corendon
  • Delta Air Lines
  • El Al Israel Airlines
  • LOT Polish Airlines
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Ukraine International
  • SunExpress

Consult the FPS Foreign Affairs website and/or the IATA website for the most recent travel advice. You can find the advice by country on their pages.

Yes, Brussels Airport is open. However, several airlines have decided to cancel some or all of their flights. This means that there are fewer flights arriving and departing from the airport.

The airport remains open in order to guarantee a number of operational activities. Cargo flights continue as planned to transport pharmaceuticals and other products. Many travellers want to return to their own country through Brussels Airport and necessary travels must remain possible.

The status of all flights for the next four days can be found here: departures, arrivals. For a flight on a later date, we advise you to contact your airline. Here you can find a contact list with details of all airlines.

The more stringent measures taken by the government have a significant impact on the opening hours and/or offer of our services, shops, bars & restaurants. Restaurants and lounges are closed, but there are take-away options and you can also purchase drinks. Before security screening, some shops are open on weekdays (Monday to Friday). Our supermarket and the airport pharmacy remain open during the weekend. Past security screening a few shops remain open on weekdays and during the weekend.

The more stringent measures taken by the government have a significant impact on the opening hours and/or offer of our services, shops, bars & restaurants. Restaurants and lounges are closed, but there are take-away options and you can also purchase drinks. Before security screening, some shops are open on weekdays (Monday to Friday). Our supermarket and the airport pharmacy remain open during the weekend. Past security screening a few shops remain open on weekdays and during the weekend.

Yes. To date, public transport continues to run to and from the airport.

In applying a number of simple measures, you can help to prevent the spread of flu viruses, corona viruses or other viruses.

Consult the FAQ of the FPS Public Health website for more information.

Do you have a question about measures taken against the Coronavirus in Belgium? Call +32 800 146 89.

The Foreign Affairs Crisis Center can be reached by phone on +32 250 140 00 from 9.00am to 8.00pm. We emphasize that this number is strictly reserved for emergency situations abroad.

Do you have a question on the economic impact? Call +32 800 120 33.

Do you have another question for Brussels Airport? Call +32 2 320 30 30.

A propos du Coronavirus

Dernière mise à jour : 23 mars 2020

Nous comprenons qu‘en tant que passager ou collaborateur de l’aéroport, vous puissiez vous faire du souci à propos du coronavirus. Et nous souhaitons, à ce titre, vous informer au mieux. Le SPF Santé publique insiste sur le fait que vous ne courez pas de risque supplémentaire en voyageant via Brussels Airport ou en y travaillant. Comme dans tout autre lieu public, il est primordial d'appliquer strictement toutes les règles d'hygiène et de maintenir une distance de 1,5 mètre avec d’autres personnes (lorsque vous vous asseyez par exemple).

Les autorités sanitaires belges et notre secteur de la santé sont extrêmement vigilants et déploient tous les moyens pour préserver la santé publique. En tant qu'aéroport, nous suivons de près la situation et sommes prêts à mettre en œuvre immédiatement, si nécessaire, toute mesure supplémentaire.

Chronologie avec infos et conseils

Vous trouverez ici une liste des coordonnées des compagnies aériennes.

  • Aegean Airlines
  • Aer Lingus
  • Aeroflot
  • Air Canada (jusqu'au 28/03)
  • Alitalia
  • ANA (jusqu'au 28/03)
  • British Airways
  • Bulgaria Air
  • Cathay Pacific (jusqu'au 29/03)
  • Croatia Airlines
  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Finnair
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Iberia
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
  • Lufthansa
  • Qatar Airways
  • Ryanair (Dublin) jusqu'au 08/04
  • Swiss
  • TAROM
  • TAP Air Portugal
  • Thai Airways International (jusqu'au 31/03)
  • United Airlines (jusqu'au 28/03)
  • Vueling (Barcelona)

Exclut les vols charters pour rapatrier les passagers.

La police fédérale, en concertation avec Brussels Airport, effectue des contrôles renforcés à l’aéroport

Le respect de la distance sociale de 1,5 mètre est particulièrement important pour prévenir la propagation du coronavirus. Brussels Airport a pris de nombreuses mesures ces dernières semaines pour sensibiliser ses passagers à la nécessité de respecter cette distance sociale. Parmi celles-ci, des autocollants au sol pour indiquer la distance, des affiches et des informations sur les écrans, des annonces vocales dans le terminal et des contrôles par le personnel de l'aéroport et la police fédérale. Il est dans l'intérêt de tous que cette distance sociale soit respectée, ce qui est la mesure la plus efficace pour prévenir la contamination.

C'est pourquoi, afin de sensibiliser tout un chacun, la police fédérale, en concertation avec Brussels Airport, effectue désormais des contrôles renforcés à l’aéroport et utilise pour cela la réserve fédérale. L'accès à l'aéroport sera désormais également contrôlé. Seules les personnes qui voyagent elles-mêmes seront autorisées à entrer dans l'aéroport. Il n'est plus non plus possible d'attendre quelqu'un dans le hall des arrivées. Toute personne qui refuse de respecter la distance sociale peut - comme c'est le cas partout dans le pays - être condamnée à une amende, l'aéroport ne faisant pas exception. Brussels Airport Company apprécie l'aide de la police fédérale et le renforcement qui sera mis en place, car ces mesures sont importantes pour la santé publique.

Les passagers qui arrivent à Brussels Airport sont uniquement des personnes qui souhaitent rentrer à la maison.

C’est le cas de l’un des membres de votre famille vivant sous votre toit, en Belgique ? S’il est dans l’incapacité de prendre les transports en commun ou un taxi pour rentrer : attendez-le à l’extérieur de l’aéroport ou au parking.

Respectez ensuite les mesures de confinement et garder une distance de 1.5m entre chaque personne.

Les personnes qui arrivent à Brussels Airport sont-ils mis en quarantaine ? 

Lorsqu’un passager présentant des symptômes à bord d’un vol et/ou une suspicion d'infection par le coronavirus est détectée, l'équipage de l'avion le signale immédiatement à notre aéroport. À l'arrivée, une équipe médicale se tient prête à examiner le ou les passagers (éventuellement) infectés et, si nécessaire, à les rediriger vers le médecin traitant ou l'hôpital le plus proche.

Dans le cas d'un passager (potentiellement) infecté à bord, tous les passagers et membres d'équipage à bord remplissent une carte de localisation (PLC) afin que les autorités puissent informer les autres passagers étant à bord et les prévenir si nécessaire. Le personnel concerné sera alors également informé.

Les passagers ne sont donc pas mis automatiquement en quarantaine à leur arrivée. Les mesures de température ne sont pas non plus appliquées. Car selon le SPF Santé publique et le virologue Marc Van Ranst, cela n'offre aucune valeur ajoutée efficace pour détecter une éventuelle contamination par le COVID-19. 

Les passagers qui présentent des symptômes avant le départ se voient refuser l'embarquement dans l'avion et doivent être pris en charge dans leur pays de résidence actuel.

Quelles sont les mesures considérées comme indispensables pour voyager ?

Il est conseillé de ne pas voyager. Nous vous renvoyons vers le site des Affaires étrangères. Nous pouvons difficilement nous prononcer quant au caractère essentiel d’un déplacement.

Des contrôles aux points d’accès ?

C’est la Police Fédérale qui détermine si un contrôle doit être effectué, où et quand.

Que se passe-t-il si ma compagnie aérienne a annulé mon vol et que je ne peux pas rentrer chez moi ?

Veuillez prendre contact avec votre compagnie aérienne ou le Ministère des Affaires étrangères. Voici une liste de contacts des compagnies aériennes.

Vous trouverez ici une liste des coordonnées des compagnies aériennes.

  • Air Arabia
  • airBaltic
  • Air Malta (à partir du 21/3)
  • Austrian Airlines
  • Blue Air (à partir du 21/3)
  • Brussels Airlines (à partir du 21/3)
  • CSA Czech Airlines
  • Delta Air Lines
  • Eyptair (à partir du 20/3)
  • El Al Israel Airlines
  • LOT Polish Airlines
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Ukraine International
  • SunExpress
  • Tunisair
  • Turkish Airlines (à partir du 21/3)

Non. Certains pays n’autorisent plus les passagers ou avions en provenance de Belgique. De nombreuses compagnies aériennes ont supprimé leurs vols en tout ou partie.

Nous vous conseillons de prendre contact avec votre compagnie aérienne. Voici une liste de contacts des compagnies aériennes.

Puis-je, sans difficulté, venir chercher quelqu’un à l’aéroport (dans le hall d’arrivée) ?

Oui, le hall d’arrivée reste ouvert comme d’habitude. Veuillez respecter la règle de distance (1,5 mètre) en toutes circonstances.

Les transports publics sont-ils toujours disponibles ?

Les transports publics restent en activité mais ne doivent être utilisés que pour les déplacements essentiels. Si vous prenez les transports en commun pour vous rendre au travail, il est conseillé d’adapter votre schéma de voyage de manière à éviter les heures de pointe. Concernant l’offre des sociétés de transport, veuillez consulter les sites internet de celles-ci.

Les taxis roulent-ils encore ?

L’ « Airport Express » n’est plus en service mais les services de taxi et leurs alternatives restent en service à condition de limiter le nombre de passagers et de renforcer les mesures d’hygiène.

Depuis le lundi 16 mars 2020, tous les lounges sont fermés à l’aéroport.

Notre service des objets trouvés est toujours ouvert, mais les procédures de fonctionnement sont modifiées. Vous avez perdu quelque chose à l’aéroport ? Veuillez nous contacter via lost.objects@brusselsairport.be et nous pourrons alors vous envoyer votre bien par la poste, à vos frais. Votre objet perdu a été retrouvé et vous souhaitez le récupérer vous-même à l'aéroport ? Pour lutter contre la propagation du Coronavirus, toutes les visites non essentielles à l'aéroport sont déconseillées. Nous garderons donc votre bien jusqu’à ce que les opérations à l'aéroport reviennent à la normale. Nous vous contacterons ensuite pour prendre rendez-vous.

Vous trouverez ici une liste des coordonnées des compagnies aériennes.

  • Air Arabia
  • airBaltic
  • Austrian Airlines (à partir du 18/03)
  • CSA Czech Airlines
  • Corendon
  • Delta Air Lines
  • El Al Israel Airlines
  • LOT Polish Airlines
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Ukraine International
  • SunExpress

Consultez le site web du SPF Affaires étrangères et/ou le site web IATA pour les conseils de voyage par destination les plus récents. Sur leurs pages, vous trouverez les recommandations appropriées pour chaque pays.

Oui, Brussels Airport est ouvert. Toutefois, un certain nombre de compagnies aériennes ont pris la décision d'annuler tous leurs vols ou certains d’entre eux. Cela signifie qu'il y a moins de vols à l'arrivée et au départ de l'aéroport.

L’aéroport reste ouvert afin d’assurer certaines activités opérationnelles. Les vols cargo se poursuivent comme prévu afin de transporter les produits pharmaceutiques et d’autres marchandises. Bon nombre de voyageurs souhaitent rentrer chez eux via Brussels Airport et les voyages essentiels doivent rester possibles.

Le statut de tous les vols pour les quatre prochains jours peut être consulté ici : départ, arrivée. Pour un vol à une date ultérieure, nous vous conseillons de contacter votre compagnie aérienne. Vous trouverez ici une liste des coordonnées des compagnies aériennes.

Les mesures plus strictes du gouvernement ont un impact significatif sur les heures d'ouverture de nos magasins, bars & restaurants et/ou notre offre de services. Les restaurants et lounges sont fermés, mais il est possible d’acheter des repas à emporter et d’obtenir des boissons. Avant le contrôle de sécurité, quelques magasins restent ouverts en semaine (lundi – vendredi). Le supermarché et la pharmacie, eux, restent ouverts le week-end. Après le contrôle de sécurité, quelques magasins sont ouverts en semaine et durant le week-end.

Les mesures plus strictes du gouvernement ont un impact significatif sur les heures d'ouverture de nos magasins, bars & restaurants et/ou notre offre de services. Les restaurants et lounges sont fermés, mais il est possible d’acheter des repas à emporter et d’obtenir des boissons. Avant le contrôle de sécurité, quelques magasins restent ouverts en semaine (lundi – vendredi). Le supermarché et la pharmacie, eux, restent ouverts le week-end. Après le contrôle de sécurité, quelques magasins sont ouverts en semaine et durant le week-end.

Oui. À ce jour, les transports publics continuent de circuler entre l'aéroport et le centre-ville.

Grâce à un certain nombre de mesures, vous pouvez, vous aussi, contribuer à endiguer la propagation des virus de la grippe, des coronavirus ou d'autres virus.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez le FAQ disponible sur le site web du SPF Santé publique.

Avez-vous encore une question relative aux mesures prises en Belgique en lien avec le Coronavirus ? Contactez le +32 800 146 89.

Le call center des Affaires étrangères est accessible au numéro +32 250 140 00 de 9h00 à 20h00. Il est important de souligner que le call center traite les situations d’urgence à l’étranger.

Avez-vous encore une question relative à l’économie ? Contactez le +32 800 120 33.

Avez-vous encore une question pour Brussels Airport ? Contactez le +32 2 320 30 30.