Hold baggage

hd_holdbaggage_en

For security reasons, all hold baggage is screened.

If during this screening, the security agent suspects the presence of prohibited or dangerous goods, the Brussels Airport Security department is allowed to open your bag or suitcase in pursuance of Regulation (EC) No 300/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council.

As a rule the passenger is confronted with their baggage. In this case your baggage will be opened in your presence and the security staff will explain to you why an extra search is being performed.

In some cases however a confrontation is not possible (e.g. when the baggage is late). In that case the baggage will be opened by the Chief Security Inspector of Brussels Airport, in the presence of the supervisor of the security agent.

The prohibited or dangerous item, if any, will be removed from the baggage and a three-language document with reference number will be put into the bag or suitcase to inform its owner. In this case you will not know that your bag or suitcase was opened until after you have reclaimed it at your destination.

Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Bagage de soute

hd_holdbaggage_fr

Tous les bagages de soute sont soumis à un contrôle de sûreté (screening).

Si, lors du contrôle de sûreté des bagages de soute, l'on soupçonne la présence de substances ou d'objets interdits ou dangereux, le service de sûreté de Brussels Airport a le droit d'ouvrir votre bagage en vertu du Règlement (CE) no 300/2008 du Parlement européen et du Conseil.

En général, une confrontation du passager avec son bagage est effectuée. Cela signifie que vous serez présent lors de l'ouverture de votre bagage et que vous serez informé de la raison de ce contrôle supplémentaire.

Dans certains cas, une confrontation du passager avec son bagage n'est pas possible (ex. lorsque le bagage est retardé). Dans ce cas, le bagage sera ouvert par le Chief Security Inspector de Brussels Airport, en présence d'un superviseur des agents de sûreté.

Le cas échéant, l'objet interdit sera enlevé et un document informatif en trois langues avec numéro d'enregistrement sera placé dans votre bagage pour vous en informer. Dans ce cas, vous ne serez au courant de l'ouverture de votre bagage qu'une fois que vous serez arrivé à destination.
 


Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company