Brussels Airport lowers airport tariffs by 5.2% and invests over €550 million in its infrastructure

December 17, 2015

Brussels Airport Company has fixed the tariffs for the use of the airport for the period 1 April 2016 - 31 March 2021 in consultation with the airlines and the Airport Regulator. The tariffs in 2016 will drop by 5.2% in comparison with the current regulated tariffs. Via the airport tariffs, Brussels Airport Company shall, in the coming years, give a financial stimulus to airlines that operate low-noise aircraft.

The airport tariffs at Brussels Airport are set in compliance with the legal requirements in the operating licence of Brussels Airport Company. After the consultation period with the airlines and the Airport Operator, the tariffs were fixed for the coming 5 years. These tariffs drop on average by 5.2% in 2016 to a fee of 26.38 euro for local departing passengers and to 16.76 euro for transfer passengers. From 2017, the tariffs will increase annually by 1.7% above inflation in the context of the investment plan for Brussels Airport.

“The airport tariffs at Brussels Airport can be reduced thanks to the strong increase in the number of passengers at our airport in 2014 and 2015 and the continuous attention paid to cost control. Thanks to this drop in tariffs, Brussels Airport strengthens its competitive position. In comparison with the large airports around us in the Netherlands, France or Germany, our airport remains substantially cheaper for airlines and thus also for passengers. It offers the airlines the chance to grow further at Brussels Airport and to create jobs in Belgium”, says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company.

The tariff is determined by four factors: a fixed fee for passengers per flight and a variable fee per flight linked to the weight of the aircraft, an environmental factor and the time of departure or landing.

In the framework of its environmental commitment and the efficient use of the airport, Brussels Airport Company is gradually implementing a rebalancing between the various fees. This is translated in an annual shift between passenger taxes and landing and take-off charges. This stimulates airlines to strive for a higher passenger load factor. Via the airport tariffs, Brussels Airport Company shall also give a financial stimulus to airlines that operate low-noise aircraft or only fly during the day. The aircraft generating the most noise will pay up to 2.8 times more for take-off and landing than the most silent aircraft. Flights during the day are also 3 times cheaper than night flights.

Brussels Airport Company will invest more than 550 million euro in the infrastructure until 2020 to offer passengers and airport partners an even more pleasant and modern environment and to adapt the capacity and the quality of the airport to their increasing needs. To achieve all this, the tariffs will rise annually by 1.7% in addition to the increase for inflation.

> Click here for detailed information about the airport fees.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport diminue les tarifs de 5,2% et investit plus de €550 millions dans l'infrastructure

17 décembre 2015

Brussels Airport Company a fixé les tarifs pour l’utilisation de l’aéroport pour la période du 1er avril 2016 au 31 mars 2021, en concertation avec les compagnies aériennes et le Service de Régulation de l’Aéroport. Par rapport aux tarifs régulés actuels, les tarifs baisseront de 5,2% en 2016. Au travers des tarifs aéroportuaires, Brussels Airport Company offre pour les années à venir des incitants financiers aux compagnies aériennes qui recourent à des appareils peu bruyants.

Les tarifs aéroportuaires à Brussels Airport sont fixés dans la licence d’exploitation de Brussels Airport Company, comme le prévoit la loi. Les tarifs ont été établis pour les 5 prochaines années, après une période de consultation avec les compagnies aériennes et le Service de Régulation. Ces tarifs baissent en moyenne de 5,2% en 2016, pour atteindre un tarif de 26,38 euros pour les passagers au départ pour une destination locale et jusqu’à 16,76 euros pour les passagers en transit. À partir de 2017, les tarifs augmenteront chaque année de 1,7% en plus de l’inflation dans le cadre du plan d’investissement de Brussels Airport.

“Les tarifs aéroportuaires à Brussels Airport peuvent baisser grâce à la forte augmentation du nombre de passagers sur notre aéroport en 2014 et 2015 ainsi qu’à une attention permanente accordée à la maîtrise des coûts. Fort de cette baisse de tarifs, Brussels Airport renforce sa compétitivité. Par rapport aux grands aéroports voisins des Pays-Bas, de France ou d’Allemagne, notre aéroport reste nettement plus avantageux pour les compagnies aériennes et donc pour les passagers. Il offre aux compagnies l’opportunité de poursuivre leur croissance à Brussels Airport et de créer des emplois en Belgique”, précise Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company.

Le tarif est déterminé par quatre facteurs : un tarif fixe pour les passagers par vol et un tarif variable par vol lié au poids de l’avion, à un facteur environnemental et à l’heure de départ ou d’atterrissage.

Dans le cadre de son engagement pour l’environnement et de l’utilisation efficace de l’aéroport, Brussels Airport Company instaure progressivement un rééquilibrage entre ces tarifs. Cela se traduit par un glissement annuel entre taxes passagers et redevance pour atterrissages et décollages. De quoi encourager les compagnies aériennes à viser un taux d’occupation supérieur. Au travers des tarifs aéroportuaires, Brussels Airport Company fournit en outre des incitants financiers supplémentaires aux compagnies aériennes qui recourent à des appareils peu bruyants ou ne volent que de jour. Les avions les plus bruyants paieront jusque 2,8 fois plus que les appareils les moins bruyants pour l’atterrissage et le décollage. Les vols de jour sont également 3 fois plus avantageux que les vols de nuit.

Brussels Airport Company investira jusqu’en 2020 plus de 550 millions d’euros dans l’infrastructure pour offrir aux passagers et aux partenaires aéroportuaires un environnement encore plus agréable et moderne, et adapter la capacité et la qualité de l’aéroport à leurs besoins croissants. Afin d’y parvenir, les tarifs augmenteront chaque année de 1,7% en plus de l’inflation.

> Cliquez ici pour des informations plus détaillées concernant les tarifs aéroportuaires

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company