Brussels Airport grows again to over 2 million passengers in October

November 10, 2015

Freight transport continues to rise, with a 7.3% growth on last year

In the month of October Brussels Airport again received more than 2 million passengers, an increase of 6.4% compared with October last year. Freight transport also rose significantly, with an increase of 7.3% over October 2014. The number of flight movements remained stable in comparison with October last year.

In the month of October, 2,119,423 passengers visited Brussels Airport, a growth of 6.4% compared with October 2014. The number of transfer passengers, in particular, grew strongly: up 14.5% on the same period last year, thanks to the strong performance of Brussels Airlines and other Star Alliance partners.

The growth is seen in every segment. Growth in the short-haul segment was driven mainly by Brussels Airlines and the low-cost companies, while in the long-haul segment all airlines performed well. Since 25 October, the Japanese company All Nippon Airways has been contributing to this growth, with a daily flight to Tokyo.

The freight volume at Brussels Airport rose in the month of October by 7.3%. The full freight segment showed particularly strong growth of 27.1%, thanks to the arrival of new airlines at Brussels Airport. The suspension of the activities of Ethiopian Airways, is expected to have a negative effect on growth in the coming months.

The express services, too, such as DHL, grew by 5.9%.

Air freight transport showed a decline across the whole of Europe. When it comes to belly cargo, down by 6.6% in October, Brussels Airport is no exception.

Flight movements
The number of flight movements at Brussels Airport remains more or less stable. Overall, the increase was a mere 0.8%. The average number of passengers per flight rose to 116 compared to 110 in October 2014.



<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport progresse à nouveau à plus de 2 millions de passagers en octobre

10 novembre 2015

Le transport de fret affiche une augmentation de 7,3% par rapport à l’année passée

Au cours du mois d’octobre, Brussels Airport a à nouveau accueilli plus de 2 millions de passagers, une progression de 6,4% comparé à octobre de l’an dernier. Le volume de fret transporté à l’aéroport est également en forte hausse de 7,3% par rapport à octobre 2014. Le nombre de mouvements de vol est resté stable en comparaison avec octobre de l’an dernier.

Passagers
Au cours du mois d’octobre, 2.119.423 passagers ont visité Brussels Airport, une progression de 6,4% par rapport à octobre 2014. Le nombre des passagers en transfert affiche une hausse toute particulière de 14,5% par rapport à la même période l’an dernier, grâce à la solide performance de Brussels Airlines et d’autres partenaires Star Alliance.
La croissance s’observe dans tous les segments. Sur les court-courriers, Brussels Airlines et les compagnies low cost progressent tout particulièrement, tandis que toutes les compagnies affichent une bonne performance sur les vols long-courriers. Depuis ce 25 octobre, la compagnie japonaise All Nippon Airways contribue elle aussi à cette progression, avec un vol quotidien pour Tokyo.

Cargo
Le volume de fret à Brussels Airport a enregistré quant à lui une hausse de 7,3% au mois d’octobre. Le segment des avions-cargos a connu une augmentation particulièrement élevée de 27,1%, grâce au démarrage de nouvelles compagnies à Brussels Airport. L’arrêt des activités d’Ethiopian Airways devrait, en revanche, avoir un effet négatif sur la croissance des prochains mois.

Les services express, comme DHL, enregistrent également une croissance qui s’élève à 5,9%.

Si le transport de fret aérien est en recul dans toute l’Europe, pour Brussels Airport, seul le transport de fret à bord des avions passagers (belly cargo) est en recul (-6,6%).

Mouvements de vol
Le nombre des mouvements de vol est resté quasiment stable à Brussels Airport. Au total, on enregistre une hausse d’à peine 0,8%. Le taux d’occupation à bord des avionspassagers augmente fortement de 110 à 116 passagers par vol en comparaison avec
octobre 2014.

 

results1510 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company