New flights expected if Jet Airways decrease flights to Brussels

November 6, 2015

The Indian airline Jet Airways has let it be known that they are planning to re-evaluate their activities at Brussels Airport. Together with Brussels Airlines and other Star Alliance partners, Brussels Airport is looking at how new flights to North-America and India can be started.

Jet Airways flies daily between Brussels Airport and Newark and Toronto in North America and Delhi and Mumbai in India. The plans of Jet Airways have been motivated by economic rationale and the continuous evolution of partnerships within the airline industry. 

Arnaud Feist, Brussels Airport’s CEO says in a statement: “Ever since the end of 2013 there has been a strategic alliance between Jet Airways and Etihad Airways and the cooperation with the Star Alliance network has been reduced drastically. It was therefore to be expected that Jet Airways was going to re-evaluate their flights to Brussels Airport”. 

When Jet Airways first came to Brussels Airport, the airport invested heavily so that the airline could make a large number of simultaneous arrivals and departures during the busiest period of the day. These investments also helped to increase the number of long-distance flights to Brussels Airport and strengthen the Star Alliance network in order to become the preferred hub for several global market leading airlines. 

During the last few years Brussels Airport’s intercontinental network has expanded  drastically with the inclusion of  US Airways, Air Canada, United Airlines (Chicago), a doubling of the activities of Etihad Airways, Qatar Airways, Thai Airways International, Emirates, ANA and a doubling of the number of long-distance planes for Brussels Airlines from four to eight.

The airport is looking at several different options in terms of starting new routes. More specifically they are looking at Brussels Airlines which can hopefully expand their successful operations to New York and Washington with new destinations in North America. Brussels Airport also expects that Star Alliance and other airlines will organise more flights to North America and, either direct or with stop-overs, to India.

About Jet Airways

Jet Airways have been flying to Brussels Airport since 2007. That is the year they established their European hub between India and North America right here at Brussels Airport. Since then they have been carrying more than 750,000 passengers every year on their six daily flights to and from Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, New York, Newark and Toronto. More than half of them flew between India and North America.

In 2012 Jet Airways decided for the first time to stop two daily flights to Brussels Airport. More specifically, they were the flights to New York, after Brussels Airlines started servicing this route and those to Chennai. However, the annual number of passengers remained high with an average of 650,000. 

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Nouvelles liaisons si Jet Airways confirme retrait de ses activités à Bruxelles

6 novembre 2015

La compagnie aérienne Jet Airways a manifesté l’intention de réévaluer ses activités à Brussels Airport. Brussels Airport examine, entre autre avec Brussels Airlines et d’autres partenaires Star Alliance, de quelles façons de nouveaux vols vers l’Amérique du Nord et l’Inde pourront être opérés.

Jet Airways vole quotidiennement de Brussels Airport vers Newark et Toronto en Amérique du Nord et vers Delhi et Mumbai en Inde. L’intention de Jet Airways répond à une logique économique et à l’évolution continue des relations de collaboration dans le secteur aérien. 

“Depuis la fin 2013, il existe une collaboration stratégique entre Jet Airways et Etihad Airways et la collaboration avec le réseau Star Alliance est réduite. C’est donc en ligne avec les attentes que Jet Airways procède à une réévaluation de ses activité à Brussels Airport”, déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

A l’arrivée de Jet Airways, Brussels Airport a considérablement investi afin de permettre à la compagnie aérienne d’effectuer un important nombre de départs et d’arrivées simultanés au moment le plus chargé de la journée. Ces investissements ont eu comme conséquences l’élargissement des vols long-courrier de Brussels Airport et la consolidation du réseau Star Alliance, pour devenir le hub préférentiel de différentes compagnies de premier plan au niveau mondial. 

Au cours des années suivantes, le réseau intercontinental de Brussels Airport s’est considérablement étendu avec respectivement US Airways, Air Canada, United Airlines (Chicago), Etihad Airways dont les activités ont doublé, Qatar Airways, Thai Airways International, Emirates, ANA, et le passage de 4 à 8 du nombre d’appareils de Brussels Airlines en direction de destinations lointaines.

L’aéroport recherche différentes options afin de démarrer de nouvelles routes. En particulier avec Brussels Airlines pour étendre ses opérations fructueuses vers New York et Washington par de nouvelles destinations en Amérique du Nord. Brussels Airport s’attend également à ce que Star Alliance et d’autres compagnies aériennes prendront le relais vers l’Amérique du Nord et, directement ou avec escale, vers l’Inde.

A propos de Jet Airways

Jet Airways est actif à Brussels Airport depuis 2007. La compagnie a alors confirmé le rôle de hub de Brussels Airport entre l’Inde et l’Amérique du Nord et transporte alors plus de 750.000 passagers chaque année sur les 6 vols quotidiens de et vers Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, New York et Toronto. Plus de la moitié des passagers volent entre l’Inde et le Nord de l’Amérique.

En 2012, Jet Airways décida de cesser d’opérer deux des vols quotidiens à Brussels Airport, à savoir les vols vers New York, après le démarrage par Brussels Airlines de cette route et les vols vers Chennai. Le nombre annuel de passagers reste élevé avec une moyenne de 650.000 passagers.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company