Galactic atmosphere at Brussels Airport

November 5, 2015

Strange creatures are hovering around Brussels Airport terminal today. Marching Stormtroopers, life-size R2D2s and other famous characters straight out of one of the episodes of the legendary Star Wars saga. Even the real Rey's Speeder Bike is parked for a few hours in the terminal to the delight of passengers. For the first time in its history, the famous R2D2™ ANA Jet has touched down on European soil. It has chosen the tarmac of Brussels Airport as first stop-off point in Europe during its trip around our planet.

To celebrate the arrival of the highly anticipated "Star Wars" Dreamliner from All Nippon Airways on Belgian soil, Disney, ANA and Brussels Airport have put on a stellar show. 200 fans have been invited to attend the landing and the baptism by the airport firefighters of this out-of-this-world aircraft flown in by the Japanese airline, which, for today, the 4th of November, replaces the daily ANA flight that has been linking Brussels and Tokyo since 25 October.

"I am so excited to join in with everyone’s enthusiasm today for the arrival of ANA’s Star Wars R2D2 jet at Brussels Airport.  ANA started its collaboration with Star Wars in April 2015 and our partnership will continue for the next five years. On board our flight, customers are able to enjoy all of the first six Star Wars episodes, and in the case of the R2D2 jet, there are all the little touches we’ve added just for Star Wars fans, like the R2D2 seats and cups, and our lightsaber-inspired cabin lighting. I hope this fantastic collaboration will help make ANA a familiar face among the people of Belgium”, Mr Moriyuki Tanemura, Country Manager ANA Belgium – France.

"Over and beyond the extraordinary buzz created by the presence of this aircraft at Brussels Airport, we are very honoured to host the new Dreamliner 787-900, the largest Boeing 787 and the flagship of the All Nippon Airways fleet. It also bears witness to the confidence that the airline has put in us and is a fantastic way of promoting the Brussels-Tokyo route that is essential for our country, not only for the economy but also for tourism," adds Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company.

“We are delighted to be part of this special day and to celebrate this significant occasion with Brussels Airport and ANA. Along with all the Belgian Star Wars fans we are thrilled for Star Wars: The Force Awakens to release in Belgium on December 16th. The Force is still strong”, says Peter Fitton, Country Manager Disney Benelux.

Some of the airport’s employees and several passengers present at Brussels Airport have not hesitated to dress up in the costumes of their favourite characters and try out the Rey's Speeder Bike, the vehicle that will play a starring role in the next episode of the series.

The R2D2™ ANA Jet will also be present in Belgium this coming 6th of November. Other dates are also likely, so keep an eye out on our social media.
a

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Ambiance galactique à Brussels Airport

5 novembre 2015

D’étranges créatures circulaient aujourd’hui dans le terminal de Brussels Airport. Des Stormtroopers au pas décidé, des R2D2 grandeur nature et d’autres célèbres personnages tout droit sortis de quelque épisode de la saga légendaire, Star Wars. Même le véritable Rey’s Speeder Bike a stationné pour quelques heures dans le terminal pour la plus grande joie des passagers. Pour la toute première fois de son histoire, le fameux avion R2D2 ™ ANA Jet s’est posé sur le sol européen. Il a en effet choisi le tarmac de Brussels Airport pour étape européenne de son périple planétaire inaugural.

Pour célébrer l’arrivée du très attendu Dreamliner « Star Wars » d’All Nippon Airways, sur le sol belge, Disney, ANA et Brussels Airport ont sorti le grand jeu. 200 passionnés ont été invités à assister à l’atterrissage et au baptême par les pompiers de l’aéroport du superbe avion de la compagnie nippone, qui remplace ce 4 novembre le vol quotidien d’ANA assurant la liaison entre Bruxelles et Tokyo depuis le 25 octobre dernier.

“Je suis particulièrement enthousiaste de me joindre à l’engouement général pour l’arrivée de l’ANA’s Star Wars R2D2 jet à Brussels Airport. ANA a entamé sa collaboration avec Star Wars en avril 2015 et notre partenariat se poursuivra pour les 5 prochaines années. A bord de ce vol, nos passagers ont la possibilité de profiter des 6 premiers épisodes de Star Wars, et dans le cas du R2D2 jet, nous avons ajouté quelques petites attentions pour les fans de Star Wars, comme des sièges et des tasses R2D2, et notre éclairage cabine inspiré des sabres laser de la série. J’espère que cette fantastique collaboration rendra ANA plus familier au public belge », déclare Moriyuki Tanemura, General Manager ANA France-Belgium.

« Au-delà de l’événement extraordinaire que constitue la présence de cet avion à Brussels Airport, nous sommes très honorés d’accueillir le tout nouveau Dreamliner 787-900, version étendue du Boeing 787 et fleuron de la flotte d’All Nippon Airways. C’est aussi la marque indéniable de la confiance que la compagnie japonaise nous témoigne et un formidable outil de promotion pour la ligne quotidienne entre Bruxelles-Tokyo qui est très importante pour notre pays tant au niveau économique que touristique », ajoute Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company.

« Nous avons le plaisir de prendre part à cette occasion unique avec Brussels Airport et ANA. Avec tous les fans de Star Wars Belges, nous sommes impatients de la sortie de Star Wars : Le Réveil de la Force en Belgique au cinéma le 16 décembre prochain. La Force est toujours puissante », Peter Fitton, Country Manager Disney Benelux. 

Certains collaborateurs de l’aéroport et plusieurs voyageurs présents à Brussels Airport n’ont pas hésité à enfiler les déguisements de leur personnages favoris et à s’essayer au Rey’s Speeder Bike, l’engin à découvrir dans le prochain épisode de la série.

L’avion R2D2 ™ ANA Jet sera également présent en Belgique le 6 novembre prochain. D’autres dates sont probablement à prévoir, gardez nos médias sociaux à l’œil.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company