New Brussels-Tokyo service: stimulus for investment and tourism

October 25, 2015

Today, the largest Japanese airline All Nippon Airways (ANA), started a daily service between Tokyo and Brussels; this is the first direct connection between the two countries in 15 years. The connection will generate more than 100 new direct jobs in and around Brussels Airport, and many more indirect jobs in the tourist sector and in he air cargo industry. It offers both Belgian and Japanese companies new pportunities for investment and export.

The ANA plane, a Boeing 787 Dreamliner, was given a warm reception with an escort in formation by the airside services and the traditional water salute on the tarmac of Brussels Airport. The passengers on the first - fully booked - flight from and to Tokyo were treated to Belgian chocolate.

During an official ceremony attended by Deputy Prime Minister Kris Peeters and Transport Minister Jacqueline Galant, the chairman and CEO of ANA Holdings, Shinya Katanozaka, and the CEO of Brussels Airport Arnaud Feist celebrated the new collaboration.

“Brussels Airport is honoured to be able to welcome such a prestigious airline as ANA. Both our companies share the values of customer intimacy, perfection and service. The direct flight creates hundreds of new direct and indirect jobs in and around our airport, stimulates tourism between both our countries, and gives Belgian companies an important new transport link for Belgian export goods such as chocolate and pharmaceutical products”, said Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport.

“This new, unique direct service between Japan and Belgium plays an important role in ANA’s strategy to develop an extensive international network of destinations. The flight schedule has been designed to offer passengers the best possible connections at Brussels Airport, in collaboration with ANA’s joint partners and Brussels Airlines in the Star Alliance network”, said Shinya Katanozaka, chairman and CEO of ANA Holdings.

The arrival of ANA is the result of lengthy negotiations between the two countries. The support of the federal and regional authorities proved crucial; the Belgian economic missions in Japan in 2012 and 2015 in particular contributed to ANA’s decision to include Brussels Airport in their expansive international network.

“This new direct flight between Belgium and Japan will further strengthen the links between our two economies following 150 years of diplomatic relationships. It also creates an important economic opportunity for both Belgian and Japanese companies. This is an additional lever for attracting Japanese investments. Furthermore, it will also encourage many Japanese and Belgians to visit each other’s countries and get to know the culture”, said Deputy Prime Minister Kris Peeters.

There are more than 240 Japanese companies in our country and more than 5,000 Japanese live here. Last year, 112,000 travellers from Japan visited our country and 19,000 Belgians visited Japan. This new direct flight is expected to stimulate Japanese tourism in our country.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Liaison Bruxelles-Tokyo: nouvelle artère vitale pour l'économie belge

25 octobre 2015

La plus grande compagnie aérienne japonaise All Nippon Airways (ANA) lance aujourd’hui un vol quotidien entre Tokyo et Bruxelles, soit la première liaison directe entre les deux pays depuis 15 ans. Cette liaison permet la création de plus de 100 nouveaux emplois directs à Brussels Airport et autour de l'aéroport et d’un grand nombre d’emplois indirects dans le secteur du tourisme et du transport de fret aérien. Elle offre aussi aux entreprises belges et japonaises de nouvelles possibilités d’investissement et d’exportation réciproques.

L'appareil d’ANA, un Boeing 787 Dreamliner, a reçu tous les honneurs lors de son arrivée sur le tarmac de Brussels Airport : une escorte en formation du département « Airside Services » et le traditionnel baptême à la lance à incendie sur le tarmac par les pompiers de l’aéroport. Ce premier vol - de et vers Tokyo affichait complet et les passagers se sont vu offrir du chocolat belge.

Au cours de la cérémonie officielle en présence du vice-premier ministre Kris Peeters et de la ministre de la Mobilité Jacqueline Galant, Shinya Katanozaka, président et CEO d’ANA Holdings, et Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport, ont célébré cette nouvelle collaboration.

« Brussels Airport est honorée de pouvoir accueillir une compagnie aérienne aussi prestigieuse qu’ANA. Nos deux entreprises partagent les mêmes valeurs d’orientation client, de perfection et de qualité du service. Ce vol direct crée des centaines d’emplois directs et indirects dans notre aéroport et autour de lui, encourage le tourisme entre notre pays et le Japon et ouvre aux entreprises belges une importante nouvelle liaison pour des produits d’exportation belges tels que le chocolat et les produits pharmaceutiques », a déclaré Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

« Cette nouvelle liaison directe unique entre le Japon et la Belgique joue un rôle important dans la stratégie d’ANA, qui vise à développer un vaste réseau international de destinations. Dans ce cadre, l’horaire de vol a été établi de manière à offrir aux passagers les meilleures correspondances à Brussels Airport avec les partenaires d’ANA et Brussels Airlines dans le réseau Star Alliance », a précisé Shinya Katanozaka, président et CEO d’ANA Holdings.
L'arrivée d’ANA est le résultat de longues négociations entre les deux pays. Le soutien des autorités fédérales et régionales a été crucial à cet égard et les missions économiques belges au Japon de 2012 et 2015 en particulier ont emporté la décision d’ANA d’inclure Brussels Airport dans son vaste réseau international.

« Ce nouveau vol direct entre la Belgique et le Japon renforcera encore la collaboration entre nos deux économies, après 150 années de relations diplomatiques. Il offre aussi des atouts économiques essentiels aux entreprises tant belges que japonaises. C’est également un levier supplémentaire pour attirer les investissements japonais. De plus, cela encouragera de nombreux Japonais et Belges à visiter leurs pays respectifs et à découvrir leurs différentes cultures », a souligné le vice-premier ministre Kris Peeters.

Plus de 240 entreprises japonaises sont présentes dans notre pays, où vivent près de 5 000 Japonais. L'année dernière, 112 000 voyageurs venus du Japon ont visité notre pays et 19 000 Belges se sont rendus au Japon. Cette nouvelle liaison directe devrait favoriser le tourisme japonais dans notre pays.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company