Brussels Airport Company invests in new infrastructure and low-energy lighting for FC Melsbroek

October 16, 2015

Along with Steenokkerzeel local council, Brussels Airport Company has filed an application for a building permit for the new infrastructure of FC Melsbroek and a youth house. The new soccer grounds are situated along Haachtsesteenweg, some 100 metres from the current football pitches. Brussels Airport Company is investing at its own impetus in energy-saving lighting on the grounds, which will be less of a nuisance for local residents.

In association with the town of Steenokkerzeel and local football club FC Melsbroek, Brussels Airport is building new infrastructure for the club that plays in the Second Division A of Brabant's Provincial League. The application for a building permit for the construction of dressing rooms, a canteen and a grandstand will be submitted shortly.

More so, Brussels Airport Company has already started building the two new pitches to make sure they are ready by the time the competition resumes after the winter break of January 2017.

“We are also having low-energy LED lighting fitted on the new football grounds. The cost of this eco-friendly investment comes on top of the initial budget that Brussels Airport had put aside for the realisation of this project. Yet, the technology offers nothing but benefits. Not only will the football club be slashing its electricity bill by half, the lights also allow for more targeted lighting which means they create less of a nuisance for local residents”, explains Brussels Airport Company's Infrastructure and Real Estate Director Yves Van Hooland.

Under the terms of the concession agreement, the construction and relocation of FC Melsbroek is being funded in full by Brussels Airport Company. Steenokkerzeel local council has purchased the new grounds where it will also be building the new youth house.

“I'm happy we've also managed to find a new place for the youth house as part of this project. Along with FC Melsbroek and Brussels Airport Company, we'll make sure the football team plays in the new infrastructure by January 2017 at the latest,” says Steenokkerzeel Town Alderman for Sport Geert Laureys.

“All players, supporters and the members of the Board of Directors are anxiously awaiting their new infrastructure. And a lot of youth players' parents are delighted that their kids will no longer need to cut across the hazardous Haachtsesteenweg to play their beloved game of footie”, says FC Melsbroek not-for-profit organisation Chairman Henri Vandervorst.

 

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport investit dans une infrastructure neuve et un éclarage économique pour FC Melsbroek

16 octobre 2015

Brussels Airport Company et la commune de Steenokkerzeel, introduiront prochainement une demande de permis de bâtir pour la nouvelle infrastructure du FC Melsbroek et pour une maison de jeunes. Les nouveaux terrains sont situés le long de la Chaussée de Haecht, à une centaine de mètres des terrains actuels. Brussels Airport Company investit volontairement dans un éclairage des terrains plus  économe en énergie et par ailleurs moins gênant pour les riverains.

En collaboration avec la commune de Steenokkerzeel et le club de football FC Melsbroek, Brussels Airport construit une nouvelle infrastructure pour ce club de Deuxième Provinciale A – Brabant. La demande de permis de bâtir pour un bloc vestiaires-buvette et une tribune sera introduite très prochainement. Brussels Airport Company a déjà entamé l’aménagement de deux nouveaux terrains afin de les rendre praticables dès la trêve hivernale en janvier 2017.

“Nous ferons également placer un éclairage LED économe en énergie sur les terrains de football. Le montant de cet investissement respectueux à l’environnement s’ajoute à l’enveloppe budgétaire que Brussels Airport Company avait initialement prévu pour la réalisation de ce projet. Mais la technologie n’offre que des avantages. Non seulement, l’équipe de football pourra réduire de moitié sa facture d’électricité, mais les lampes permettront aussi de mieux diriger l’éclairage, d’où une nuisance moindre pour les riverains”, commente Yves Van Hooland, Director infrastructure & Real Estate chez Brussels Airport Company.

Aux termes de la concession convenue, la construction et le déménagement du FC Melsbroek seront entièrement financés par Brussels Airport Company. La commune de Steenokkerzeel a par ailleurs fait l’acquisition de nouveaux terrains et y construira aussi la maison des jeunes.

“Je suis heureux que nous ayons pu trouver un nouveau site pour la maison de jeunes dans le cadre de ce projet. Avec le FC Melsbroek et Brussels Airport Company, nous ferons en sorte que le club de football puisse jouer dans une nouvelle infrastructure à partir de janvier 2017.” explique Geert Laureys, Échevin des Sports à Steenokkerzeel.

“Tous les joueurs, les supporters et les membres du Conseil d’administration attendent impatiemment leur nouvelle infrastructure. Et beaucoup de parents concernés par les équipes de jeunes sont ravis que leurs enfants ne soient plus obligés de traverser la dangereuse Chaussée de Haecht pour pouvoir pratiquer leur sport favori”, indique Henri Vandervorst, Président du FC Melsbroek asbl.
<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company