Next generation aircraft at Brussels Airport: Finnair's A350

October 12, 2015
This morning, Brussels Airport welcomed the first A350 XWB operated by Finnair, the very latest airplane developed by Airbus as the most energy-efficient aircraft of its kind and its most silent plane yet. Starting from next year, Finnair's A350 will be landing at Brussels Airport twice a week.

Shortly after the A380, Brussels Airport again had reason to roll out the red carpet for a next generation Airbus in Finnair's A350 XWB, the first A350 to fly in Europe.

“As an ISO-certified airport for environmental standards, we consider the A350 to be the type of aircraft we want to see more of in the future. Courtesy of its aerodynamic design and the use of high-tech materials, the A350 produces very little noise compared with its predecessors. In addition, it consumes significantly less kerosene, which makes it a lot more eco-friendly”, Brussels Airport CEO Arnaud Feist explains.

As from February of next year, Finnair's Airbus A350 will be descending on Brussels Airport every Wednesday and Thursday. The A350 XWB has the perfect size to operate profitably at a medium-sized airport such as Brussels Airport performing short but especially long haul flights.

The A350 XWB not only enables Finnair to carry more passengers, but also transport more cargo than the A340-300, the aircraft currently assigned to carry out these flights. Approximately 30% of all air cargo at Brussels Airport is transported on board passenger aircraft.
<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Nouvelle génération d’avions à Brussels Airport: le A350 de Finnair

12 octobre 2015
Brussels Airport a accueilli ce matin le premier A350 XWB de Finnair, l’avion le plus récent développé par Airbus et qui représente, pour sa catégorie, un modèle en consommation d’énergie et qui figure parmi les plus silencieux. Dès l’an prochain, le A350 de Finnair volera deux fois par semaine à Brussels Airport.

Juste après la visite de l’A380, Brussels Airport a une fois encore l’occasion de voir sur son tarmac un Airbus, nouvelle génération, le A350 A350 XWB de Finnair, le tout premier volant en Europe.

“Pour un aéroport comme le nôtre, certifié ISO en matière de management environnemental, cet A350 représente le type d’appareil que nous voulons voir plus souvent à Brussels Airport. Grâce à son design aérodynamique et à l’utilisation de matériaux high-tech, cet avion produit un très faible niveau de bruit en comparaison avec ces prédécesseurs. De plus, la diminution significative du kérosène à bord le rend plus respectueux de l’environnement », déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

A partir de février 2016, l’Airbus A350 de Finnair volera les mercredi et jeudi vers Brussels Airport. Le A350 XWB s’avère de taille idéale pour opérer de façon rentable sur les aéroports de taille moyenne comme Brussels Airport, tant sur courtes que longues distances.

Le A350 XWB offre à Finnair non seulement la possibilité de transporter plus de passagers, mais aussi plus de fret en comparaison avec le modèle précédent, le A340-300. Environ 30% du fret à Brussels Airport est transporté à bord d’avions d epassagers.
<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company