Renovated runway 25L/07R at Brussels Airport reopened to air traffic

August 20, 2015

The thorough renovation of runway 25L/07R at Brussels Airport was completed ahead of schedule due to the favourable weather conditions and the efforts made by the partners and collaborators concerned. Brussels Airport chose to apply the latest techniques and innovations in terms of runway safety and performance.

After less than 3 months of work and 18 days ahead of schedule, runway 25L/07R is 24/7 operational again. The favourable weather conditions of the past few months made it possible to work faster than planned. Only once in three months' time did work have to be interrupted for six hours because the weather was too bad. That is very exceptional. During the works there were no unexpected issues that might have slowed down work.

Moreover, our partners Aswebo and Louis Stevens & Co - JDC Airports made every effort to speed up the work so as to minimise the nuisance for the passengers as much as possible. Due to the close cooperation with Belgocontrol and the airlines, there was hardly any impact for the passengers.

Only in unfavourable weather conditions, runway 25L/07R will not yet be used as the automated landing system for pilots still needs to be aligned. The runway will be fully operational as soon as Belgocontrol will have been able to test the system. These tests will be carried out at the latest on 12 September.

Low-energy materials
When determining the design and the materials to be used for the renovation of the runway, Brussels Airport chose to apply the latest techniques and innovations so as to guarantee the safety and efficiency of air traffic. 

The runway lighting system is fitted with low-energy LED lamps instead of halogen lamps. This allows us to economise 420,000 kilowatt-hour of electricity per year, this is the equivalent of the annual consumption of 115 households (3500 kWh/year) and a carbon reduction of 116 tonnes a year.

A new technique that was used is runway grooving. Over the whole length of the runway grooves were cut in the surface, perpendicular to the runway centreline. The 85,000 grooves are 3 to 4 cm apart. The grooves improve the friction of the runway and help to drain the runway in case of rain.  Due to the grooving, aircraft have more grip on the runway in poor weather conditions and their tyres last longer.

During the works, the scraped off asphalt was crushed to be reused in the foundations. This allowed us to reduce waste by 100,000 tonnes, the equivalent of 4,000 trucks driving to and from the construction site. Which in its turn led to an 860-ton CO2 reduction.

Which works were carried out?

  • Removal and replacement of 200,000 m² of asphalt, 12-cm thick layers
  • 60,000 m² of runway shoulders demolished and reconstructed
  • 218 kilometres of cables renewed
  • 7 kilometres of rainwater drains demolished and rebuilt
  • 9 kilometres of sewerage renovated
  • Waterproof coating of the roof slab of the tunnel under the N227 was replaced
  • 1,300 lamps replaced by LED lamps

Runway use during the works
During the works, no flights were operated on runway 25L/07R. This means that as of 27 May, all take-offs and landings had to be carried out on the two other runways. Flights were carried out in compliance with the legal provisions of the flight dispersion plan in force and according to the weather conditions.

From 3 to 15 August the intersection of runways 25L/07R and 01/19 was renovated. As a result, both runways could only be used in a shortened configuration.  During this 12-day period, the majority of the aircraft movements took place on runway 25R/07L.

In the upcoming years, runways 01/19 and 25R/07L will also be renovated.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

La piste 25L de Brussels Airport à nouveau ouverte au trafic aérien après sa rénovation

20 août 2015

La rénovation complète de la piste de décollage et d'atterrissage 25L/07R de Brussels Airport a été finalisée plus tôt que prévu grâce aux conditions météorologiques favorables et à l'implication des partenaires et collaborateurs concernés. Brussels Airport a opté pour les techniques et innovations les plus récentes en matière de sécurité et d’efficacité sur la piste.

Moins de 3 mois de travaux ont suffi pour remettre en service, 24 heures sur 24, la piste de décollage et d'atterrissage 25L/07R, soit 18 jours plus tôt que prévu. Les conditions météorologiques favorables ont permis d’achever les travaux plus rapidement. Le travail n’aura été interrompu qu’une seule fois en trois mois, pendant 6 heures en raison des conditions climatiques. C’est exceptionnellement peu. Durant la période des travaux aucun problème inattendu n’est venu ralentir leur exécution.

Par ailleurs, les partenaires concernés, Aswebo et Louis Stevens & Co – JDC Airports, ont mis tout en oeuvre pour terminer le travail dans les délais afin de limiter le plus possible les inconvénients pour les passagers. Enfin, une excellente collaboration avec Belgocontrol et les compagnies aériennes a permis de réduire au maximum les désagréments pour les passagers.

L'utilisation de la piste 25 gauche ne sera restreinte qu'en cas de conditions météo dégradées, le système d'atterrissage automatique destiné aux pilotes devant encore être réglé à cet effet. La piste sera complètement remise en service une fois que Belgocontrol aura pu tester le système. Les tests devraient avoir lieu le 12 septembre.

Matériaux éco-énergétiques
Au moment de choisir matériaux et modalités d'aménagement, Brussels Airport a opté pour les techniques et innovations les plus récentes afin d'assurer la sécurité et l'efficience du trafic aérien.

Pour le balisage de la piste, le choix s'est ainsi porté sur des lampes LED économes en énergie en lieu et place des lampes halogènes. Il s'ensuit une économie annuelle d'électricité de 420.000 kilowatts-heure, soit l'équivalent de la consommation annuelle de 115 ménages (3500 kWh/an), et une réduction des émissions de CO2 de 116 tonnes par an.

La piste bénéficie de la nouvelle technique de rainurage (grooving). 85.000 rainures espacées de 3 à 4 centimètres ont été tracées sur toute la longueur de la piste. Un premier avantage consiste en un écoulement plus aisé des eaux de pluie. Auquel s'ajoute aussi une meilleure adhérence des pneumatiques des avions en cas de mauvais temps et une usure moindre de ceux-ci.
Durant les travaux, l'asphalte raclé a été broyé en vue de sa réutilisation dans les fondations. Ce qui, en plus d'éviter quelque 100.000 tonnes de déchets, a aussi permis l'arrivée et le départ de 4.000 camions en moins sur le chantier. Une réduction des émissions de CO2 de 860 tonnes

Aperçu des travaux effectués

  • 200 000 m2 d'asphalte, en couches de 12 cm d'épaisseur, enlevés et renouvelés
  • 60 000 m2 de bas-côtés asphaltés le long des pistes démolis et réamenagés
  • 218 kilomètres de cables renouveles
  • 7 kilomètres de canaux d'évacuation des eaux de pluie, démolis et reconstruits
  • 9 kilomètres d'égouts renovés
  • Remplacement du revêtement étanche du tunnel traversant la N227
  • 1 300 lampes remplacées par des lampes LED

Pistes utilisées durant les travaux
Pendant les travaux, aucun vol n'a pu utiliser la 25L/07R et depuis le 27 mai, l'ensemble du trafic aérien s'est donc déroulé sur les deux autres pistes. Les vols ont toujours ete exécutés conformement aux dispositions légales du plan de répartition en vigueur et eu egard aux conditions météo.

Entre le 3 et le 15 août, le croisement entre 25L/07R et 01/19 a été a son tour renové, ces deux pistes n'étant des lors disponibles que sur une distance plus courte. Durant ces 12 jours, la plupart des mouvements ont alors eu lieu sur la piste 25R/07L.

Les pistes 01/19 et 25R/07L seront également rénovées dans les prochaines années.

 

 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company