Legal framework for Brussels Airport Company security service under review

July 30, 2015

Brussels Airport Company punctuates that every necessary measure has been taken for the safety of passengers and of the airport, in accordance with national and international legislation. Brussels Airport Company is discussing the legal framework for its security personnel with minister Galant. Meanwhile a consultation with the unions on the subject had already been planned for September.

Over recent months, discussions have been taking place concerning the outdated legislation and the long-term vision for the organisation of the Brussels Airport Company security department. In this context, minister Galant will host a round-table meeting in consultation with Brussels Airport Company in September with a view to adjusting the legal framework to take account of the latest evolutions in the aviation and security environment. The unions have also been invited.

Brussels Airport Company is conscious that the staff who are responsible for the security of the airport are essential to its day-to-day operation. It is a fundamental requirement that the airport operator adopts the necessary measures in compliance with the legislation. Accordingly, in recent years the airport has invested in personnel and new technologies in order to monitor safety. Thanks to these new technologies, more alarm signals are being detected than ever before. Every alarm is responded to, but not every alarm necessarily constitutes a safety incident.

The security system at Brussels Airport is inspected on a regular basis by the Directorate General for Aviation and by European bodies. In the event that a potential problem is identified in an audit, the airport operator will in every case take immediate corrective measures. Over recent years, the Brussels Airport security system has always been declared compliant.

Numerous measures are in force at the airport, in respect of the safety of passengers and that of the operations and personnel. One such measure is the control of access to the embarkation area that takes place in Connector via automatic access gates. These automatic gates, which are also used in many other international airports, are not new, and have been operated for passengers at Brussels Airport for several years. The number of them was recently increased, for purposes of the new Connector platform.

The recent security incident in which two individuals who were not holding valid access permits – but were fully checked for prohibited items – accompanied a passenger as far as the aircraft, is currently the subject of analysis. In the interim, additional measures have been taken in order to prevent the recurrence of such an incident. The airline company has been asked to clarify its procedure for control of access to its aircraft. A legal investigation is also underway. It is important to mention in this regard that, under the legislation, individuals who breach the regulations concerning the safety of airports risk a custodial sentence of between 8 days and 1 year, and a fine of from 200 to 4 million euros.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Le cadre législatif de services de sûreté de Brussels Airport sera abordé

30 juillet 2015

Brussels Airport Company souligne que toutes les mesures nécessaires sont prises pour la sûreté des passagers et de l’aéroport, conformément à la réglementation nationale et internationale. Brussels Airport Company est en discussion avec la Ministre Galant concernant le cadre législatif pour son personnel de sûreté. Une concertation avec les syndicats était déjà prévue en septembre à ce sujet.

Depuis quelques mois, des discussions ont lieu sur le cadre législatif et la vision à long terme concernant l’organisation des services de sûreté de Brussels Airport Company.
Dans ce cadre, la ministre Galant organisera en septembre, en concertation avec Brussels Airport Company, une table ronde visant à adapter le cadre législatif aux dernières évolutions dans le secteur de l’aviation et de la sécurité. Les syndicats sont également conviés à cette réunion.

Pour Brussels Airport Company, le personnel qui est responsable de la sûreté à l’aéroport est essentiel au fonctionnement quotidien de l’aéroport. Prendre les mesures de sûreté nécessaires, conformément à la législation, fait partie de la mission de base de l’exploitant de l’aéroport. Au cours de ces dernières années, l’aéroport a entre autres investi dans de nouvelles technologies permettant de surveiller la sûreté. Ces nouvelles technologies permettent de détecter davantage de signaux d’alarme qu’auparavant. Ces alarmes déclenchent systématiquement une réaction, même si chaque alarme ne constitue pas nécessairement un incident de sûreté.

Le système de sûreté à Brussels Airport est régulièrement inspecté par la Direction générale Transport aérien et par les instances européennes. Si un audit pointait un problème potentiel, l’exploitant de l’aéroport prendrait immédiatement les mesures correctrices nécessaires.  Lors des contrôles de ces dernières années le système de sûreté de Brussels Airport a toujours été déclaré conforme.

A l’aéroport, toutes sortes de mesures sont en vigueur, afin de garantir en permanence la sûreté tant des passagers que des opérations et du personnel.  Une de ces mesures est le contrôle d’accès aux zones d’embarquement qui s’effectue via les portiques d’accès automatiques dans le Connector.  Ces portiques d’accès, comme utilisés dans de nombreux autres aéroports internationaux, ne sont pas nouveaux, puisqu’ils sont déjà utilisés depuis plusieurs années pour les passagers à Brussels Airport. Leur nombre a récemment été étendu à la suite de l’ouverture de la nouvelle plate-forme « Connector ».

Le récent incident de sûreté, au cours duquel deux personnes ne disposant pas d’un titre d’accès valable, mais ayant toutefois été entièrement contrôlées au niveau de la présence d’objets interdits, ont accompagné un passager jusqu’à l’intérieur de l’avion est actuellement en cours d’analyse. Entre-temps, des mesures complémentaires ont été prises pour éviter que ce type d’incident ne se reproduise. Il a été demandé aux compagnies aériennes de clarifier leur procédure en ce qui concerne le contrôle d’accès jusqu’à leur avion.  Une enquête judiciaire est également en cours. Il est important de mentionner ici que les personnes qui commettent une infraction à la législation relative à la sûreté des aéroports encourent, selon la législation européenne, une peine de prison de 8 jours à 1 an et une amende de 200 euros à 4 millions d’euros.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company