Automated border control at Brussels Airport

July 10, 2015

EU-citizens arriving from a non-Schengen country at Brussels Airport can henceforth have their identity verified digitally. To this end, the federal police has opened six automated border control gates at Brussels Airport, in the presence of Interior and Security Minister Jan Jambon and State Secretary for Asylum and Migration Theo Francken. The automated border control gates will allow arriving passengers at Brussels Airport to proceed through border control more swiftly.

All passengers at Brussels Airport who travel to or arrive from a non-Schengen country, such as Morocco or the USA, have to go through border control. The federal police will check whether their identity matches that on the identity papers and whether the travel documents they carry are authentic.

As of today, this verification can also happen digitally for arriving EU-citizens at the 6 e-gates in Pier B. These e-gates are automated border control gates where the verification is done digitally based on several parameters. In a later stage these e-gates will also be installed for departing passengers.

“Due to the e-gates the flow of passengers arriving from a non-Schengen country to the baggage reclaim area will be much smoother, both for the EU citizens who will use the e-gates as for the non-EU citizens whose identity will be checked manually as there will be fewer passengers using the traditional control posts”, says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport.

How does automated border control work?
The passenger walks through the entrance gate and inserts their identity card or passport into the slit provided for this purpose. There are two slits: European passports are to be inserted in the lower slit, Belgian identity cards in the upper slit. As it happens, the two documents use a different digital technology.

“That the digital identity verification also works with a Belgian identity card is a first. The federal police and Brussels Airport chose to include his extra feature to allow Belgians who travel with only their identity card to pass border control more quickly”, says General Commissioner of the Belgian Federal Police Catherine De Bolle.

The advanced software system verifies three parameters. Firstly, is the identity document authentic or forged? At the same time a police check of the identity of the passenger is carried out. A last check is based on face recognition whereby the photograph on the chip of the identity document is compared to a digital photo which was made at the e-gate.

If the evaluation of all three parameters is positive, the exit gates of the e-gate opens and the passenger can proceed to the baggage reclaim area. A police official who supervises the e-gates can swiftly react if anything untoward occurs e.g. when the gates do not open.

As soon as the passenger leaves the e-gate the system checks whether any items were left behind so the passenger can be called back.

At the moment, only EU citizens are able to use the automated border control gates because non-EU citizens are subject to other entry conditions. The check of their identity documents will be carried out manually as before.

The installation of the e-gates at Brussels Airport is a joint investment by the Federal Police and Brussels Airport with the financial support of the European External Borders Fund. This fund aims to financially support member states who manage and control the external borders of the EU.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Contrôle frontalier automatisé à Brussels Airport

10 juillet 2015

Dorénavant, les citoyens de l’Union européenne qui arrivent à Brussels Airport en provenance d’un pays situé en dehors de l’espace Schengen peuvent faire contrôler leur identité de façon numérique. La police fédérale vient d’ouvrir six postes de contrôle frontalier automatisés à Brussels Airport, en présence du ministre de l’Intérieur et de la Sécurité, Jan Jambon, ainsi que du secrétaire d’État à l’Asile et la Migration, Theo Francken. Grâce à ces postes de contrôle frontalier automatisés, les passagers arrivant à Bruxelles pourront passer plus rapidement les contrôles frontaliers.

Les voyageurs se rendant depuis l’aéroport de Bruxelles dans un pays n’appartenant pas à l’espace Schengen, comme le Maroc et les États-Unis, ou les passagers en provenance de ces pays sont tenus de passer par le poste de contrôle frontalier de la police. Les agents contrôlent notamment si l’identité des passagers correspond bien à leurs papiers et si leurs documents de voyage sont authentiques.

Depuis aujourd’hui, un contrôle électronique est également possible grâce aux six « e-gates » situées au niveau de la jetée B. Il s’agit de postes automatisés procédant à un contrôle numérique de divers paramètres. Lors d’une phase ultérieure, des e-gates seront également installées dans le hall des départs.

« Grâce aux e-gates, le flux des passagers en provenance d’un pays extérieur à l’espace Schengen vers la salle des bagages sera plus rapide, tant pour les citoyens de l’UE transitant par les e-gates que pour les citoyens non européens qui continueront à passer par le contrôle manuel. Ces derniers seront en effet répartis sur un plus grand nombre de postes de contrôle », déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

Comment un contrôle frontalier automatisé se déroule-t-il ?
Le passager franchit un petit portail d’accès et introduit sa carte d’identité ou son passeport dans la fente prévue à cet effet. Deux fentes sont prévues : l’une (celle du dessous) pour le passeport européen et l’autre (celle du dessus) pour la carte d’identité belge. Les deux documents fonctionnent en effet selon des technologies numériques différentes.

« La possibilité de contrôler également la carte d’identité belge est une première. La police fédérale et Brussels Airport ont opté pour cette possibilité supplémentaire afin de permettre aux citoyens belges voyageant avec leur seule carte d’identité de passer plus rapidement la frontière », indique la Commissaire générale de la police fédérale, Catherine De Bolle.

Ce système informatique perfectionné contrôle trois aspects. Tout d’abord, l’authenticité du document d’identité est vérifiée. Pendant ce temps, un contrôle policier de l’identité du passager a lieu. Enfin, le système procède également à une reconnaissance faciale, en comparant la photo sur la puce du document d’identité avec une photo numérique prise à l’e-gate.

En cas d’évaluation positive concernant les trois aspects, les portes de l’e-gate s’ouvrent et le voyageur peut se rendre dans la salle des bagages.

Les policiers de faction aux e-gates peuvent réagir rapidement à tout moment en cas d’irrégularité, par exemple si les portes ne s’ouvrent pas.

Une fois que le passager a passé l’e-gate, le système contrôle encore si aucun bagage à main n’a été oublié. Le cas échéant, le passager distrait peut être rappelé.

Pour l’instant, seuls les citoyens de l’UE peuvent utiliser les postes de contrôle frontalier automatisés. Les non-ressortissants de l’UE sont en effet soumis à d’autres conditions d’entrée et leur contrôle se déroule toujours manuellement.

L’installation des e-gates à Brussels Airport est un investissement commun de la police fédérale et de Brussels Airport, avec l’appui financier du Fonds européen pour les frontières extérieures. Ce fonds a pour objectif de soutenir financièrement les États membres qui gèrent et surveillent les frontières extérieures de l’UE.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company