Brussels Airport plunges students of Thomas More into air freight

June 24, 2015

A successful collaboration between academia and business with a revised Logistics Management training course

Brussels Airport Company and Thomas More University College are joining forces in order to expand the Logistics Management training course to cover the subject of air freight. Through such things as practical assignments and trainee placements at Brucargo (the freight department of Brussels Airport), students will gain understanding of the logistical processes in and around the airport. Thomas More is aiming to increase its response to the present and future needs of the industry and the operational field.

Brussels Airport Company and Thomas More have signed a cooperation agreement under which the Logistics Management training course will be further developed. Brussels Airport Company is committed to working on the realisation of innovative and practice-oriented learning environments related to air transport, both for students and for teachers.

Together with various partners at Brucargo, Brussels Airport Company will work jointly on the development of an air-transport curriculum. Brucargo will also provide practice-oriented assignments for students and assist the students with these. Students will have the opportunity to visit companies or take up internships at Brucargo in the context of their training. The cooperation came about partly thanks to the efforts of David Bellon, himself an ex-student of the school and who today holds an important position with one of the major companies at Brucargo.

Air freight is an exciting sector in motion, but perhaps not one that is familiar to students. Through this cooperation, we are aiming to transfer knowledge of the sector to the students and also immerse them in the practice, in the hope that some of them will work in this field. Brussels Airport is experiencing significant increases in freight volumes, so that more and more jobs are coming to Brucargo”, says Steven Polmans, head of cargo at Brussels Airport Company.

"With our course in Logistics Management, we intend to offer innovative professional training that meets the present and future requirements of the sector”, says Geert Strobbe, unit manager of business courses at Thomas More University College. "To that end, we are forming partnerships with leading companies in the sector. Brussels Airport is an important partner for us. Via the Cargo Training Centre (CTC) they will provide guest tutors, they will train our own tutors and will supply interesting course and training material. Our students will be highly sought after by the airport companies and be able to start work in and around the airport immediately upon graduating with an IATA-DGR certificate. A definite win/win situation for all concerned."

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport offre aux étudiants de Thomas More la confrontation avec le terrain

24 juin 2015

Une rencontre fructueuse monde académique-entreprise avec une formation « Gestion logistique » revisitée.

Brussels Airport Company et la haute école Thomas More ont décidé de collaborer et d’étoffer la formation « Gestion logistique » en y adjoignant un module axé sur le fret aérien. Au travers de travaux pratiques et de stages au sein de Brucargo, la division fret aérien de Brussels Airport, les étudiants auront désormais la possibilité d’apprendre à mieux connaître les différents aspects de l’activité logistique dans et autour de l’aéroport. Thomas More entend de la sorte répondre plus efficacement aux besoins actuels et futurs du terrain et des entreprises.

Brussels Airport Company et Thomas More ont signé une convention de collaboration en vue de l’extension de la formation « Gestion logistique ». Brussels Airport s’engage notamment à participer à la mise en oeuvre d’environnements d’apprentissage innovants, axés sur la réalité du terrain, dans le domaine du transport aérien, à l’intention à la fois des étudiants et des enseignants.

De concert avec divers partenaires au sein de Brucargo, Brussels Airport Company collaborera à l’élaboration d’un programme de cours couvrant le fret aérien. De son côté, Brucargo proposera des travaux pratiques à l’intention des étudiants ainsi que l’encadrement requis correspondant. Dans le cadre de leur formation, les étudiants pourront également faire un stage à Brucargo. Cette collaboration a été mise sur pied à l’initiative notamment de David Bellon, lui-même ancien étudiant de l’école et qui occupe une fonction importante auprès de l’une des principales entreprises à Brucargo.

« Le fret aérien est un secteur passionnant et en pleine évolution mais qui reste apparemment méconnu des étudiants. Par le biais de cette collaboration, nous souhaitons le faire mieux connaître auprès des étudiants en les plongeant dans la réalité quotidienne du fret aérien, avec l’espoir que certains d’entre eux se lanceront dans ce créneau. Les volumes de fret sont en forte hausse à Brussels Airport, ce qui contribue à générer sans cesse de nouvelles opportunités d’emploi à Brucargo », explique Steven Polmans, Head of Cargo au sein de Brussels Airport Company.

« Au travers de notre formation en « Gestion logistique », nous souhaitons proposer un enseignement professionnel innovant en prise directe sur les besoins actuels et futurs de la réalité quotidienne du terrain », observe pour sa part Geert Strobbe, unit manager des formations business à la haute école Thomas More. « C’est pourquoi nous cherchons à nouer des partenariats avec des grandes entreprises du secteur, dont Brussels Airport fait assurément partie. Le Cargo Training Center (CTC) accueillera des professeurs externes, se chargera de former nos propres enseignants, et proposera un éventail intéressant de cours et de matériel. Nos étudiants sont très recherchés par les entreprises aéroportuaires et, après leurs études, une fois le certificat IATA-DGR en poche, ils peuvent trouver immédiatement un emploi dans la sphère de l’aéroport. En d’autres termes, toutes les parties sont gagnantes. »

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company