Brussels Airport launches “Follow the guide” campaign for a stress-free start of the holidays

June 22, 2015

The summer holidays are about to take off at Brussels Airport. The airport is expecting the first wave of departing holidaymakers at the end of this week and is ready to welcome the large number of passengers. Brussels Airport is also launching an awareness campaign to ensure the swift processing and throughput of arriving and departing passengers at the airport.

The last week in June traditionally sees the start of the holiday exodus at Brussels Airport. Among the peak days are Friday 26 June, Monday 29 June and Wednesday 1 July, with 45,000 and 44,000 departing passengers expected in that order.

On average, these figures are up by 4.5% on last year. The figures show that Belgians no longer traditionally depart at the weekend, on Friday or Sunday, but - with 1 July falling in the middle of the week -, a particularly large volume of passengers will be leaving on their holidays in the middle of the week.

Below is an overview of the estimated numbers of departing passengers for the coming days:

Thursday 25 June        42,000
Friday 26 June         45,000
Saturday 27 June        36,000
Sunday 28 June          42,000
Monday 29 June       44,000
Tuesday 30 June         41,000
Wednesday 1 July    44,000
Thursday 2 July       43,000
Friday 3 July               42,000
Saturday 4 July           36,000
Sunday 5 July          43,000


Smooth departures
Every year, Brussels Airport puts in place a string of measures to make sure the summer exodus runs as smoothly as possible. In view of the rising volume of passengers, the airport is launching a large-scale awareness campaign in order to ensure the smooth flow of road traffic to the terminal.

Signage on the access road has been restyled with colour codes to show passengers the right way. This summer, if you are coming to pick someone up, or want to accompany someone to the departure hall, you can park your car for up to 30 minutes at car parks P1 or P2 for just 1 euro. Follow the green route for this.

Further information on this campaign is available at www.brusselsairport.be/followtheguide/ .

Brussels Airport also keeps passengers informed via social media and its website. Throughout the summer, passengers will be able to consult the expected rush for the coming days, which will help them to correctly estimate how busy it will be on the day of their departure.

Brussels Airport will also deploy extra personnel to assist passengers with information. Thanks to the new screening platform in Connector, there will also be a smoother throughput from check-in to the gate.

Belgians seek the sun
Spain is still the number one destination for Belgians. So much so that the three major airline companies at Brussels Airport, i.e. Brussels Airlines, JetairFly and Thomas Cook, are even seeing a rise in the volume of passengers headed for the Spanish destinations. Croatia, France, Greece, Morocco, Turkey, Tunisia and Italy are also popular destinations.

One notable trend sees an increasing number of Belgians jetting off to long-haul destinations for their holidays. Saint-Petersburg, Dakar, Miami, Washington and several destinations in Thailand for instance are increasingly popular.

Six tips for a smooth departure

  1. Get to the airport well ahead
    Brussels Airport advises passengers to get to the airport well ahead of their scheduled departure time. It is best to come to the airport two hours prior to departure for European flights, and three hours for transatlantic flights.
  2. If possible, come by public transport
    On busy departure days, heavy traffic is expected on the roads to the airport. It is therefore advisable to take public transport as much as possible. The train and bus station could not be closer: a couple of floors underneath below the departures hall.
    http://www.brusselsairport.be/en/passngr/to_from_brussels_airport/train/
    http://www.brusselsairport.be/en/passngr/to_from_brussels_airport/bus/

  3. Making your way to the airport by car? Leave on time and book your parking space
    Still want to come by car? Then leave in plenty of time and avoid the stress and nuisance of getting stuck in traffic. Book your parking space in advance.Coming to drop someone off or pick them up? Then take advantage of the 30 minutes’ parking promotion which is valid all summer: www.brusselsairport.be/followtheguide

  4. Check in online
    Online check-in saves a lot of time and is available as from 24 hours ahead of the flight’s scheduled departure time or as specified by your airline. In this case, baggage can be handed in at your airline’s ‘Baggage drop-off’ desk.
  5. Do not forget your travel documents
    Do not forget to bring your identity card or passport. Children under the age of 12 years need a children’s ID or passport in order to be allowed to travel by plane.
  6. Prepare your baggage for the security check
    Do not take any sharp or pointed items in your hand baggage, and place any liquids in your hold baggage. Do you still need to take liquids or gels in your hand baggage? Make sure you comply with the legal guidelines: pack them in bottles or tubes with a maximum 100 ml capacity and put them together in a transparent resealable plastic bag with a capacity of maximum 1 litre.
    Exception: baby food and liquid medicines accompanied by a doctor’s certificate.

    Laptops and tablets should be separately submitted for screening. Coins, keys, wallets, mobile phones, watches and belts should be placed in a separate tray.
<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Pour des départs en vacances sans stress : Brussels Airport lance sa campagne “Suivez le guide”

22 juin 2015

À Brussels Airport, les vacances d'été pointent le bout de leur nez. D'ici la fin de la semaine, nous attendons une première grosse vague de passagers en partance pour les vacances et nous sommes prêts à les recevoir. De plus, Brussels Airport lance une campagne de sensibilisation afin que le chassé-croisé des passagers au sein de l'aéroport se déroule sans encombre.


À Brussels Airport les départs en vacances démarrent traditionnellement la dernière semaine de juin. Avec un pic prévu, entre autres, le vendredi 26 juin, le lundi 29 juin et le mercredi 1er juillet, où on attend respectivement 45 000 et 44 000 passagers au départ.


Soit 4,5 % de plus que l'année dernière. Il ressort des chiffres que les Belges ont changé leurs habitudes et ne partiront pas durant le week-end, le vendredi ou le dimanche. Cette année, le 1er juillet tombe en effet en pleine semaine, ce qui explique également que de nombreux passagers partent en vacances au milieu de la semaine.

Ci-dessous, un aperçu de l'estimation du nombre de passagers au départ pour les prochains jours :

Jeudi 25 juin                 42 000
Vendredi 26 juin        45 000
Samedi 27 juin              36 000
Dimanche 28 juin          42 000
Lundi 29 juin              44 000
Mardi 30 juin                41 000
Mercredi 1er juillet   44 000
Jeudi 2 juillet            43 000
Vendredi 3 juillet          42 000
Samedi 4 juillet            36 000
Dimanche 5 juillet    43 000 

 

Un départ sans encombre
Chaque année, Brussels Airport met tout en oeuvre pour que les départs en vacances d'été se déroulent de façon optimale. Avec un nombre de passagers en augmentation, l'aéroport lance une campagne de sensibilisation à grande échelle afin de réguler le trafic vers l'aéroport. La signalisation sur la bretelle d'accès a été adaptée avec des codes couleur afin d'indiquer la bonne route aux passagers. Qu’il s’agisse de venir chercher ou d’accompagner quelqu'un dans le hall des départs, cet été il est possible de stationner jusqu’à 30 minutes sur le Parking P1 ou leparking P2 pour seulement 1 euro. Pour ce faire, il suffit de suivre la route verte.

Plus d'infos à propos de cette campagne sur www.brusselsairport.be/suivezleguide .

Brussels Airport informe également les passagers via les réseaux sociaux et son site web. Durant tout l'été, les passagers peuvent y consulter un baromètre de fréquentation qui leur permettra de bien évaluer l'affluence le jour de leur départ.

Brussels Airport a également prévu du personnel supplémentaire dans le hall des départs ainsi que dans les jetées afin d'informer au mieux les passagers. Grâce à la nouvelle plateforme de screening du Connector, le passage du check-in à la porte d'embarquement se fera plus rapidement.

Le Belge veut du soleil
L'Espagne reste la destination préférée des Belges. Les trois grandes compagnies aériennes de Brussels Airport, autrement dit Brussels Airlines, JetairFly et Thomas Cook, voient même le nombre de passagers vers des destinations espagnoles augmenter. Les autres destinations les plus populaires sont la Turquie, la Croatie, la Grèce, la Tunisie, le Maroc et l'Italie.

On remarque également que de plus en plus de Belges optent pour des vacances encore plus loin de chez eux. Saint-Pétersbourg, Dakar, Miami, Washington et plusieurs destinations en Thaïlande, par exemple, connaissent un succès grandissant auprès des passagers.


Six conseils pour un départ sans encombre

  1. Venez à temps à l’aéroport
    Brussels Airport recommande à ses passagers d'arriver bien à temps à l'aéroport. Pour les vols européens, prévoyez d'arriver 2 heures avant le départ, et 3 heures avant pour les vols transatlantiques.
  2. Privilégiez les transports publics
    Les jours d'affluence, les voies d'accès à l'aéroport sont bondées. Privilégiez autant que possible les transports publics. La gare et l'arrêt de bus se situent à proximité directe, quelques étages sous le hall des départs.
    http://www.brusselsairport.be/fr/passngr/to_from_brussels_airport/train/
    http://www.brusselsairport.be/fr/passngr/to_from_brussels_airport/bus/
  3. Vous vous rendez à l'aéroport en voiture ? Partez à temps et réservez votre place de parking
    Vous décidez malgré tout de venir en voiture ?
    Partez à temps et évitez le stress inutile des embouteillages.
    Réservez également votre place de parking.

    Vous venez rechercher ou déposer quelqu'un ? Profitez de notre promotion parking durant tout l'été : www.brusselsairport.be/suivezleguide
  4. Enregistrez-vous en ligne
    L'enregistrement en ligne vous fait gagner du temps. Ce service est disponible 24 heures avant l'heure de départ prévue ou selon les informations fournies par votre compagnie aérienne. Dans ce cas, vous pouvez déposer vos bagages au guichet « drop-off » de votre compagnie aérienne.
  5. N'oubliez pas vos documents de voyage
    Emportez bien votre carte d'identité et votre passeport. Pour pouvoir prendre l'avion, les enfants de moins de 12 ans doivent être titulaires d'une Kids-ID ou d'un passeport.
  6. Préparez vos bagages pour le contrôle de sûreté
    N'emportez pas d'objets pointus dans votre bagage à main et placez les liquides dans votre bagage en soute. Vous voulez malgré tout emporter des liquides ou gels dans votre bagage à main ? Veillez à ce que ceux-ci soient conformes à la législation : contenus dans des flacons ou tubes, pour un maximum de 100 ml. Rassemblez-les dans un sac plastique refermable pouvant contenir maximum 1 litre.
    Exceptions : les médicaments liquides accompagnés d'un certificat médical ainsi que les aliments pour bébé.

    Les ordinateurs portables et les tablettes doivent être présentés séparément au contrôle de sûreté. Déposez vos pièces de monnaie, clés, portefeuille, téléphone mobile, montre et ceinture dans un bac séparé.
<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company