Brussels Airport opens new building for official guests

June 15, 2015

Brussels Airport has opened a new protocol building to offer its official guests, including the Belgian and foreign royal families, heads of state and government leaders, even more facilities and comfort.

As the airport of Europe’s capital, Brussels Airport has one of the most in-demand protocol services in the world.

The new building was formally opened this morning in the presence of the minister of Foreign Affairs, Didier Reynders and Transport Minister, Jacqueline Galant.

Brussels Airport has officially opened a new protocol building. Each year, almost 25,000 official guests, including royal families, heads of state and government leaders, make use of the protocol services at the airport. With the new protocol building Brussels Airport can better meet the specific needs of the official guests who wish to spend their time at the airport usefully and in the most agreeable way.

"The protocol building is the first place these visitors see on arrival in Belgium, and so it should offer them a dignified welcome, characterised by the Belgian hospitality we are famous for around the world", says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport.

The protocol building consists of a royal room, various lounges, meeting rooms and relaxation areas. It also has its own security screening platform and passport control. All the rooms and services are grouped on one floor so that the available surface is used more efficiently and the guests can enjoy their stay in spacious and comfortable lounges. The private lounges are equipped with movable partitions so that the rooms can be adapted to the size of the delegations. Technologically too, everything is organised in such a way that the guests can carry on their work activities efficiently.

In the protocol building, guests can make use of the various lounges and meeting rooms, catering and separate car park. Besides the screening of baggage and hand baggage, the check-in formalities and passport control also take place in the protocol building. Limousines take the guests to their airplane.

In recent years, an increasing number of official guests have been making use of the services of the protocol department. Brussels Airport has one of the most in-demand protocol services in the world, due to the many international institutions and to the image of Brussels as the heart and capital of Europe. An expansion and optimisation of the building were a logical decision, enabling Brussels Airport to continue offering the best service to its official guests. To that end, it was decided to move the building to another location with more space and possibilities.

In autumn, Brussels Airport plans to offer the premium service of the protocol department to passengers other than the official guests, as already is the case at many other airports.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Nouveau bâtiment protocolaire pour Brussels Airport

15 juin 2015

Brussels Airport a ouvert les portes d’un nouveau bâtiment destiné à offrir davantage de confort et de facilités aux hôtes protocolaires, comme les familles royales belge et étrangères, les chefs d’état et les chefs de gouvernement.

En tant qu’aéroport de la capitale de l’Europe, Brussels Airport possède l’un des services protocolaires les plus sollicités au monde.

Le nouveau bâtiment a été officiellement inauguré ce matin en présence du ministre des Affaires étrangères Didier Reynders et de la ministre de la Mobilité Jacqueline Galant.

Brussels Airport a officiellement inauguré un nouveau bâtiment protocolaire. Chaque année, ce sont quelque 25.000 hôtes protocolaires – familles royales, chefs d’Etat, chefs de gouvernement – qui font appel au service du protocole de l’aéroport de Brussels Airport. Grâce à ce nouveau bâtiment du protocole, Brussels Airport est en mesure de rencontrer davantage encore les demandes spécifiques des hôtes protocolaires et de rendre leur séjour au sein de l’aéroport aussi agréable et utile que possible.

"Le protocole est le premier espace à recevoir ces visiteurs à leur arrivée en Belgique et, à ce titre, se doit de leur réserver un accueil approprié, à la mesure de la réputation internationale d’hospitalité de la Belgique », explique Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

Le bâtiment protocolaire se compose d’un espace royal, de différents salons, de salles de réunion et de salles de détente. Il est en outre doté de sa propre plate-forme de screening et de contrôle des passeports. Tous les espaces et services sont regroupés sur un seul et même étage, ce qui favorise une exploitation plus efficace des lieux et permet d’accueillir les hôtes dans des salons spacieux et confortables. Les salons privés sont judicieusement modulables afin de pouvoir adapter l’espace à la taille des délégations. Les équipements technologiques en place permettent aux hôtes qui le souhaitent de continuer à travailler à leur gré.

Au sein de ce nouveau bâtiment protocolaire, les hôtes ont accès à différents salons et salles de réunion, à un service de restauration et disposent en outre d’un espace de parking réservé. Outre le screening des bagages et bagages à main, le check-in et le contrôle des passeports s’effectuent également dans ce bâtiment, et des limousines déposent ensuite les hôtes à leur avion.

Ces dernières années, les hôtes protocolaires sont de plus en plus nombreux à faire appel aux services du protocole. Le service du protocole de Brussels Airport est l’un des plus fréquenté au monde de par la multiplicité des institutions internationales et du rayonnement de Bruxelles en tant que capitale de l’Europe. L’extension et l’optimalisation du bâtiment étaient des choix logiques afin d’offrir un service de haute qualité aux hôtes protocolaires. Dès lors, il a été décidé d’installer les services du protocole dans un autre bâtiment plus spacieux et mieux équipé.

A l’automne, Brussels Airport envisage de proposer également le premium service du protocole à des passagers autres que les hôtes protocolaires conventionnels, à l’instar de ce qui se fait dans nombre d’autres aéroports.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company