Beacons at Brussels Airport provide passengers with tailored, location-based info via app

June 2, 2015

Brussels Airport has put in place 90 beacons airport-wide that now enable passengers to directly receive information and messages that are relevant to them on their smartphone.

Examples include welcome messages, operational messages after security screening or promotional offers and vouchers at the shop passengers have popped into. In doing so, Brussels Airport is looking to facilitate and enhance its communication with its passengers.

Beacons are tiny transmitters that relay information to visitors' smartphones courtesy of Bluetooth Low Energy technology, which prevents the smartphone's battery from being unduly taxed. 90 beacons have been fitted throughout the airport, including at the entrance doors, the check-in desks, at security screening, in the shops and the piers.

Each beacon transmits a unique signal that activates the Brussels Airport app for it to display a location-specific message on the passenger’s smartphone.

This way passengers who have passed security can be reminded to check if they have not left anything behind in the trays or at the screening lane or be sent a discount voucher if they’re browsing around in a shop.

With these beacons, Brussels Airport is keen to offer passengers a new and personalised communication channel, making the time they spend at the airport more pleasant by providing accurate and pertinent information at the right location and in the right context.

Transmitting information with respect for privacy
Passengers get to decide for themselves whether or not they want to receive messages from the beacons through the app. Anyone who has installed the Brussels Airport app will be asked if they want to receive messages on their next visit. The app will send out only targeted messages on each visit.

Brussels Airport app is a great success
The “Brussels Airport” app was launched in June 2012 and has been downloaded over 155,000 times since then, with 4,000 to 6,000 new app users joining each month.

Half of them download the iOS app with the other half going for the Android app. Each day, the app is used by some 500 people, usually to look up information about their flight, waiting times, information about the airport shops or the airport's services.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport utilise microlocalisation pour offrir des informations sur mesure aux passagers

2 juin 2015

Grâce aux 90 balises de microlocalisation que Brussels Airport a installées dans l'aéroport, les voyageurs peuvent désormais recevoir des renseignements et messages d'intérêt personnel directement sur leur smartphone.

Il peut s'agir d'un message de bienvenue, de messages opérationnels après le screening ou encore de l'annonce de bons à valoir ou de promotions à saisir dans la boutique où ils se trouvent. Brussels Airport entend ainsi faciliter et renforcer la communication avec ses passagers.

Les balises ou « Beacons » dont il est question sont de petits émetteurs capables d'envoyer des informations vers le smartphone des visiteurs grâce à la technologie Bluetooth Low Energy, qui présente pour avantage de ne pas solliciter la batterie dudit smartphone. Au total, 90 balises de ce type sont installées dans tout l'aéroport, notamment au niveau des entrées, des comptoirs d'enregistrement (check-in), du contrôle de sécurité (screening), des boutiques et des jetées.

Chaque balise émet un signal unique, qui active l'application mobile de Brussels Airport et permet l'affichage d'un message microlocalisé sur l'écran de l'appareil. Il est ainsi possible, à titre d'exemple, de rappeler aux passagers venant de franchir le contrôle de sécurité de bien contrôler qu'ils n'ont rien laissé dans les bacs ou dans le couloir de screening. Ou lorsqu'ils se trouvent dans une boutique, d'indiquer aux voyageurs qu'ils peuvent y bénéficier d'un bon de réduction.

Avec ces balises, Brussels Airport souhaite offrir aux passagers un canal de communication innovant et personnalisé, et améliorer leur séjour à l'aéroport en leur fournissant des informations correctes et pertinentes au bon endroit et dans le bon contexte.

Une transmission d'informations respectueuse de la vie privée
Le voyageur peut lui-même choisir s'il souhaite ou non recevoir des messages des balises via l'application mobile. Les personnes qui ont installé l'application Brussels Airport se voient toujours demander, lors d'une visite ultérieure, si elles désirent recevoir des messages. Et dans l'affirmative, l'application ne leur adresse alors que des messages ciblés en rapport avec la visite en cours.

L'application Brussels Airport connaît un grand succès
Lancée en juin 2012, l'application “Brussels Airport” a depuis lors été téléchargée plus de 155 000 fois, et chaque mois, de 4 000 à 6 000 nouveaux utilisateurs viennent s'ajouter.

La moitié télécharge l'application en version iOS, tandis que l'autre moitié l'installe sur un appareil fonctionnant avec Android.

Chaque jour, quelque 500 personnes utilisent l'application, le plus souvent pour trouver des renseignements sur leur vol, les temps d'attente, ou encore des informations sur les boutiques ou les services disponibles à l'aéroport.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company