Belgium and Brussels Airport selected to participate in US Preclearance program

May 29, 2015

Brussels Airport has been selected by the United States to enter into the first stage of operational negotiations to implement the US immigration inspection program at Brussels Airport for US-bound passengers.

It should be possible to carry out US immigration inspections at Brussels Airport in 2 to 3 years’ time, once the negotiations between the different authorities have been finalised. Border preclearance at our airport will facilitate the immigration procedure for travellers to the United States. This announcement by the American authorities is a recognition of the quality of the infrastructure at Brussels Airport and of the high level of security of our operations”, Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport, explains.

In November 2014 the US Department of Homeland Security announced plans to expand its Preclearance program at foreign airports. This implies that passengers can undertake all US immigration and customs inspections at the airport of departure. Currently, this procedure applies in Ireland in Europe, on Aruba, Bermuda and the Bahamas, in Canada and in the United Arab Emirates.

After a thorough investigation, the United States announced that Belgium is one of 7 European countries that are selected to enter into negotiations with the purpose of carrying out immigration inspections for US-bound passengers at their airports. 

Brussels Airport was informed today about its being one of 10 new airports where these immigration inspections could be carried out.

That Brussels Airport is allowed to participate in the negotiations shows the important position of Brussels Airport in international aviation.

In the following months Brussels Airport will examine the feasibility of carrying out the program. This implies, among other things, an adequate infrastructure with a focus on process optimisation, and improvements to the facilities to provide optimal comfort to passengers travelling to the United States.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

La Belgique et Brussels Airport invités par les USA à participer au programme de pré-dédouanement

29 mai 2015

Brussels Airport a été sélectionné par les Etats-Unis pour entamer la première phase des négociations opérationnelles afin de mettre en place un programme de pré-dédouanement aérien pour les voyageurs vers les Etats-Unis.

« Les procédures de contrôle d’immigration américaines pourraient être effectuées à Brussels Airport dans les 2 à 3 ans une fois les négociations avec les autorités gouvernementales achevées. Elles permettront de faciliter les opérations de contrôles pour les voyageurs en route vers les Etats-Unis. Cette annonce par les autorités américaines est la reconnaissance de la qualité des infrastructures de Brussels Airport et du haut niveau de sécurité de nos opérations », déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

En novembre 2014, le US Departement of Homeland Security a lancé un élargissement de son programme de pré-dédouanement (Preclearance ). Le pré-dédouanement permet l’exécution des contrôles douaniers américains dans l’aéroport d’origine. Cette procédure existe à l’heure actuelle uniquement en Irlande pour l’Europe, à Aruba, aux Bermudes, aux Bahamas, au Canada et dans les Etats Arabes Unis.

Après une étude approfondie, les Etats-Unis viennent d’annoncer que la Belgique fait partie des 7 pays européens sélectionnés pour entamer les négociations afin de mettre en place des opérations de pré-dédouanement dans leurs aéroports.
Brussels Airport a été informé aujourd’hui faire partie des 10 aéroports concernés par de possibles opérations de pré-dédouanement dans le futur.

Le fait de pouvoir entrer dans cette phase de négociation intergouvernementale souligne l’importance du rôle de Brussels Airport dans le trafic aérien international.

Dans les prochains mois, Brussels Airport poursuivra les études de faisabilité pour la mise en place de ce programme. Celui-ci implique une infrastructure adéquate, avec en point de mire l’optimalisation des processus, l’adaptation des facilités et l’offre d’un confort optimal des passagers en route vers les Etats-Unis.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company