Belgium-Japan: Direct route as from autumn 2015

June 1, 2015

All Nippon Airways (ANA) today announced the start of a new route between the Belgian and European capital and the worlds’ third largest economy as from autumn 2015.

The arrival of All Nippon Airways (ANA) strengthens the position of Brussels Airport in the Star Alliance network of which Brussels Airlines is a member.
What better way to celebrate the 150th anniversary in 2016 of diplomatic relations between the two countries.

The first route between Brussels Airport and Tokyo since 2001 will be ensured by Japan’s largest airline.

This announcement by ANA is the result of a long process. The support of the Federal and Regional Belgian authorities was essential for this achievement. The Belgian Economic Mission to Japan in 2012, led by HRH Prince Philippe, also played a major role. This connection provides an opportunity to strengthen of economic relations between our two countries. This direct route also brings with it the creation of hundreds of direct and indirect jobs at Brussels Airport and is an incentive for investments and tourism, "says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company.

This choice by ANA is logical. The economic links between the two countries date back to a long time as is shown by the presence of numerous Japanese companies in Belgium and the large Japanese community in our country.  Moreover, as the capital of Europe, Brussels is a vital link internationally. Tourism too is an important factor.

The arrival of All Nippon Airways reinforces the role of Brussels Airport in the Star Alliance network. ANA is now able to provide excellent onward connections through to the large network of Brussels Airlines and this not only in Europe but also to Africa where Japanese investments are on the up.

With the arrival of ANA, Brussels Airport now has 15 long haul airlines that together operate over 26 daily flights to the United States, Canada, The Caribbean, Sub-Saharan Africa, the Gulf, India, China and Thailand.

 

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Belgique-Japon : Liaison directe prévue pour l’automne 2015

1 juin 2015

All Nippon Airways (ANA) a annoncé aujourd’hui, le démarrage d’une liaison directe entre la capitale belge et européenne et la capitale de la troisième plus grande économie mondiale et ce, dès l’automne 2015.

L’arrivée d’All Nippon Airways renforce le rôle de Brussels Airport dans le réseau mondial Star Alliance auquel appartient également Brussels Airlines.

Une façon optimale de célébrer, en 2016, le 150ème anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre ces deux pays.

La première liaison directe entre Brussels Airport et Tokyo depuis 2001 sera assurée par la plus grande compagnie aérienne japonaise.

‘‘Cette annonce par ANA est le résultat d’un long parcours de négociations. Le soutien des autorités fédérales et régionales fut essentiel mais aussi la Mission économique belge au Japon en 2012 présidée alors par SAR le Prince Philippe. Cette liaison ouvre la porte au renforcement des relations économiques entre les deux pays. Ce vol direct induit également des centaines de nouveaux emplois directs et indirects à l’aéroport et est un incitant pour les investissements et le tourisme ", déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company.

Ce choix par ANA relève d’une logique évidente. En effet, les liens économiques entre les deux pays se traduisent par la présence de nombreuses entreprises japonaises en Belgique et par une importante communauté japonaise dans notre pays. Par ailleurs, Bruxelles, en tant que capitale européenne, est un acteur international de premier plan. Enfin, le tourisme est un facteur déterminant.

L’arrivée d’All Nippon Airways renforce le rôle de Brussels Airport dans le réseau Star Alliance. ANA peut également offrir une excellente connexion vers le réseau élargi de Brussels Airlines et cela non seulement au sein de l’Europe mais aussi vers l’Afrique où les investissements japonais sont croissants.

Brussels Airport compte désormais, avec l’arrivée d’ANA, 15 compagnies aériennes offrant des liaisons longues distances et au total 26 vols quotidiens vers les Etats-Unis, le Canada, le Mexique, les Caraïbes, l’Afrique subsaharienne, la région du Golfe, l’Inde, la Chine et la Thaïlande.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company