Brussels Airport starts first stage of works on runway 25 left

May 22, 2015

Wednesday 27 May will see the start of the renovation works to runway 25L/07R at Brussels Airport. The runway and all pertaining infrastructure are to be replaced in full. Every 30 years, runways are to be comprehensively renovated to ensure the continued safety of all flight movements.

What is happening during the first stage?
On Wednesday 27 May, the first stage of the operations will get under way: this will see the asphalt scraped away, the runway shoulders demolished and the sewers and water drainage system being dismantled.

The first day will see the preliminary work being performed, which includes clearing the runway, removal of the lighting fixtures and putting up the job site fencing. The actual operations are set to commence on Thursday 28 May. These will include stripping the asphalt, breaking up the drainage culverts and the shoulders, removing the cabling and renovating the collectors. Following on from this, the shoulders are to be newly laid, with new asphalt layers being put in and fresh cabling being laid to power the runway lights.

Impact mitigation for local residents
In order to minimise the nuisance for nearby residents during the works, various measures have been put in place. Work will continue around the clock to have the operation completed as swiftly as possible. In addition, the work will be undertaken in stages to avoid having to close down the common sections with the take-off and landing runway 01/19 for any great length of time.

Brussels Airport also particularly makes sure that transport to the airport is made to occur as efficiently as possible. Job site traffic to the airport is set to use the motorways and regional roads. The number of journeys is kept down through the optimum organisation of the transport runs and restricting the number of ‘empty’ runs.

The airport has opted to create just one single site access, located at Namenstraat in Nossegem. For safety reasons, a parking ban will be in place in Namenstraat for the duration of the works, with extra sets of traffic lights being set up at the junction with Mechelsesteenweg.

The way in which the runway is to be used during the works has been established by the  Directorate General for Civil Aviation in joint consultation with Belgocontrol, in accordance with the statutory provisions of the dispersion plan. In doing so, due consideration has gone out to a string of factors, such as runway and taxiway availability, the weather conditions and the airport traffic intensity. Belgocontrol will strictly implement these instructions, air traffic safety being the top concern.

The actual runway use can be consulted in real time at the website

Ongoing communications on the works
Brussels Airport is making every effort to inform nearby residents of the works. The airport has devoted a special feature on the upcoming works in its neighbourhood magazine ‘Connect’. The magazine is circulated at 620,000 copies around the wider surrounding area. Moreover, local residents who live in the immediate vicinity will be informed of the impact of the works to their local area by personal letter.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport entame la première phase des travaux sur la piste 25 gauche

22 mai 2015

Ce mercredi 27 mai les travaux de rénovation de la piste 25L/07R démarreront à Brussels Airport. La piste de décollage et d’atterrissage ainsi que toute l’infrastructure qui l’entoure vont être totalement modernisées. Tous les 30 ans, il faut en effet renouveler de fond en comble les pistes de décollage et d’atterrissage pour continuer à assurer la sécurité de tous les mouvements aériens.

Que se passera-t-il pendant cette première phase ?
La première phase des travaux qui débute le mercredi 27 mai verra l’asphalte grattée, les bas-côtés asphaltés le long de la piste retirés et les égouttages ainsi que le système d’évacuation des eaux démolis.

Le premier jour, ce sont surtout des travaux préparatoires qui vont être réalisés, par exemple libération de la piste, enlèvement de l’éclairage et placement de palissades de chantier. Le jeudi 28 mai, les travaux à proprement parler pourront débuter avec, notamment l’enlèvement de l’asphalte, le démontage du système d’évacuation des eaux et des bas-côtés, la suppression du câblage ainsi que la rénovation des collecteurs d’eaux. Par la suite, de nouveaux bas-côtés asphaltés seront construits, de nouvelles couches d’asphalte placées et le câblage nécessaire pour la signalisation installé.

Mesures visant à limiter l’impact pour les riverains
Pour limiter au maximum les nuisances pour les riverains pendant les travaux, différentes mesures vont être mises en place. Le chantier sera en activité 24h/24 afin de pouvoir être achevé dans les plus brefs délais. Par ailleurs, le travail est organisé en phases pour limiter le plus possible la fermeture des parties communes avec la piste de décollage et d’atterrissage 01/09.

Brussels Airport veut s’assurer que le transport vers l’aéroport soit le plus fluide possible. La circulation vers l’aéroport induite par le chantier empruntera au maximum les autoroutes et voiries régionales. Le nombre de trajets sera limité grâce à une organisation optimale des transports et en réduisant le nombre de trajets « à vide ».

L’aéroport a d’ailleurs décidé de n’ouvrir qu’un seul accès au chantier, à savoir sur la Namenstraat à Nossegem. Pour des raisons de sécurité, il sera interdit de se garer dans cette rue pendant la durée des travaux et des feux de signalisation supplémentaires seront placés au carrefour avec la Mechelsesteenweg.

L’utilisation de la piste pendant les travaux restent de la compétence de la DGTA, en concertation avec Belgocontrol et en vertu des dispositions légales du plan de dispersion en vigueur. À cet égard, différents facteurs ont été pris en compte, comme la disponibilité des pistes et des voies de circulation, les conditions météorologiques ainsi que l’intensité du trafic aéroportuaire. Belgocontrol suivra ces instructions à la lettre. La priorité en la matière est donnée à la sûreté du trafic aérien. Il est possible de connaître l’utilisation des pistes en temps réel sur le site web www.batc.be.

Communication permanente à propos des travaux
Brussels Airport met tout en œuvre pour informer les riverains de l’évolution des travaux. L’aéroport a consacré un dossier sur ce chantier dans le magazine de proximité « connect ». Ce magazine est distribué à 620.000 exemplaires dans un large secteur autour de la zone des travaux. Par ailleurs, les riverains situés dans l’environnement direct de l’aéroport seront informés par courrier de l’impact des travaux dans leur quartier.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company