Brussels Airport wins World Air Cargo Award for second year running

May 7, 2015

Brussels Airport has taken home the World Air Cargo Award for Best Airport, the most prestigious award in the aviation industry, for the second consecutive year. Brussels Airport was singled out for praise on account of the strong development of its Brucargo cargo division, the excellent quality of service it delivers to its partners and companies and its efficient organisation.

The air freight operations at Brucargo are an important part of Brussels Airport. Each year, Brussels Airport, the air freight companies and the logistics partners invest tens of millions of euros to develop new operations and create jobs.

These ongoing investments were internationally recognised for the second year running with the World Cargo Award for Best Airport. "It is a tremendous honour to be given this, the most prestigious award in the international aviation industry, two times running. The award recognises the effort put in by the thousands of people who work at Brucargo. It is also proof that our strategy to specialise and invest in the transport of temperature-sensitive goods - even in times of economic insecurity - is the right choice", Brussels Airport CEO Arnaud Feist commented.

The World Cargo Award for Best Airport rewards the most deserving airport that delivers exceptional services to businesses, partners and (air freight) companies. Points are also awarded for the airport's efficiency and the development of the airport's cargo activities. The awards are staged by Air Cargo Week, a prestigious journal dedicated to air freight transport. Anybody who works in the air freight industry can cast their vote.

Brussels Airport stands out worldwide courtesy of its specialist cargo infrastructure for the transport and handling of goods that require uninterrupted cold chain logistics and of pharmaceutical and biotechnological products in particular. Brussels Airport was the first airport in the world to see its cargo community members awarded the CEIV Pharma certificate by IATA on the merit of their joint approach.

Brussels Airport has also invested in a community platform at Brucargo, an open cloud-based system that enables companies operating at Brucargo to exchange data and work together more efficiently. All imaginable IT systems can be connected to the cloud, allowing companies to continue to run their own applications and dedicated software.

Last year saw Brussels Airport transport 454,000 tonnes of freight by air and 272,000 tonnes by road. Brucargo is home to 16 cargo companies, which together serve 62 destinations across the globe. Around 4,500 people work at Brucargo, Brussels Airport's cargo area.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport remporte le World Air Cargo Award pour la deuxième année consécutive

7 mai 2015

Brussels Airport s'est vu décerner le World Air Cargo Award du meilleur aéroport, le prix le plus prestigieux du secteur aéroportuaire. Brussels Airport est récompensé pour le développement significatif de la zone cargo Brucargo, pour le service d'excellence qu'il offre à ses partenaires et entreprises et pour l'efficacité de son organisation.

Les activités cargo de Brucargo constituent une part importante de l'activité de Brussels Airport. Chaque année, Brussels Airport, les compagnies cargo et les partenaires logistiques investissent des dizaines de millions d'euros pour permettre de nouvelles activités et créer des emplois.

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, cet investissement continu est reconnu et récompensé à l'échelle internationale par le World Air Cargo Award du meilleur aéroport. " C'est un immense honneur de recevoir ce prestigieux prix du secteur aéroportuaire international pour la deuxième année consécutive. Ce prix reconnaît le travail des milliers de personnes actives à Brucargo. Il prouve aussi que notre stratégie qui consiste à se spécialiser et à investir dans le transport de marchandises thermosensibles est le bon choix, y compris en ces temps d'insécurité économique ", explique Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

Le World Air Cargo Award du meilleur aéroport récompense l'aéroport qui s'est montré le plus méritoire et qui offre le service le plus exceptionnel aux entreprises, partenaires et compagnies (cargo). L'efficacité de l'aéroport et le développement des activités cargo sont également pris en compte. Les World Air Cargo Awards sont organisés par Air Cargo Week, un journal renommé sur le transport de fret aérien. Toutes les personnes qui travaillent dans le secteur aéroportuaire peuvent voter.

Brussels Airport se distingue au niveau mondial grâce à son infrastructure cargo spécialisée dans le transport et la manutention de produits nécessitant le maintien de la chaîne du froid, et en particulier de produits pharmaceutiques et biotechnologiques. Brussels Airport a été le premier aéroport au monde dont les intervenants de la communauté cargo ont reçu la certification CEIV Pharma grâce à leur approche conjointe.

À Brucargo, Brussels Airport a également investi dans une plateforme digitale communautaire, un système ouvert dans le cloud qui permet aux entreprises de Brucargo d'échanger des données et de collaborer ainsi plus efficacement. Tous les systèmes informatiques possibles peuvent être connectés au cloud pour que les entreprises puissent conserver leurs propres applications et logiciels.

L'an passé, Brussels Airport a transporté 454 000 tonnes de fret par avion et 272 000 tonnes par la route. 16 compagnies aériennes cargo sont actives à Brussels Airport. Ensemble, elles proposent 62 destinations dans le monde entier. Quelque 4 500 personnes travaillent à Brucargo, la zone cargo de Brussels Airport.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company