Brussels Airport continues to record strong growth in passenger numbers and cargo traffic in March

April 14, 2015

In March 2015 the number of passengers at Brussels Airport grew significantly to 1.7 million, up 9.3% on March 2014. Cargo volume rose to 43,785 tonnes, up 8.2% on last year. Brussels Airport has had a strong first quarter, with half a million more passengers (+13%) and 11,000 tonnes more cargo traffic (+10%) compared with the first quarter of 2014.


In March Brussels Airport registered 1,711,849 passengers – a 9.3% increase on March last year. Growth was recorded in all segments, but the low-cost airlines, Brussels Airlines and long-haul flights saw the biggest rises.

The number of local passengers departing from Brussels Airport was up 6.1%. This is remarkable given the fact that the midterm holidays fell in February this year so don't appear in the March figures, but do appear in those for March 2014.

The number of transfer passengers also grew strongly in March 2015, up almost 35%. This excellent performance is due to the broader offer of connecting flights, and Brussels Airlines expanding its capacity.

In the first quarter of this year, Brussels Airport welcomed 4,502,074 passengers – 529,581 more than in the first quarter of last year. The summer season started at Brussels Airport at the end of March. Several new routes have been added, including to St Petersburg (Brussels Airlines) and Verona (Ryanair).

Cargo traffic

Cargo traffic at Brussels Airport grew strongly again in March, up 8.2% on March 2014. Growth was spread across all segments: full-freighter, cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft and express transport.

In the first quarter of 2015, a total of 120,117 tonnes of cargo were transported, up 9.7% on the first quarter of last year. The significant growth in the full-freighter segment is striking compared with other European airports which, on average, saw decreases in this segment. In addition, express services achieved substantial growth, with DHL notching up stable double-digit volume growth in recent years.

Brussels Airport has put itself on the international map thanks to years of strategic investment in cargo traffic, with a specialisation in complex logistical processes such as transporting temperature-sensitive products and pharmaceuticals. This is enabling Brussels Airport to strengthen Belgium's role as a logistics hub.


The number of movements in March 2015 rose by 5.1%. On average there were 105 passengers on each flight. This is an improvement on March last year, when on average 101 passengers were carried on each flight.

In the first quarter of 2015, the load factor grew by 4% compared with the first quarter of 2014.

You can find more detailed information in the table below.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Forte croissance du nombre de passagers et du volume de fret à Brussels Airport se poursuit en mars

14 avril 2015

Brussels Airport a connu en mars 2015 une hausse non négligeable de 9,3 % pour atteindre plus de 1,7 million de passagers par rapport à mars 2014. Le volume de fret a augmenté de 8,2 % par rapport à l’an dernier, pour atteindre 43.785 tonnes. Brussels Airport vient de connaître un premier trimestre intense, avec un demi-million de passagers en plus (+13%) et 11.000 tonnes de fret transporté en plus (+10%) par rapport au premier trimestre 2014.

Passagers

Au mois de mars, Brussels Airport a accueilli 1.711.849 passagers, soit 9,3 pour cent de plus qu’en mars 2014. Cette croissance s’observe dans tous les segments. Toutefois, elle est plus marquée pour les vols de compagnies low cost et de Brussels Airlines et les vols long-courriers.

Le nombre de passagers au départ pour une destination locale a connu une hausse de 6,1 pour cent. C’est d’autant plus remarquable du fait que les vacances de carnaval sont tombées en février cette année et ne figurent donc pas dans les chiffres de mars, à l’inverse de ce qui s’était passé en mars 2014.

Le nombre de passagers en transit a connu une forte croissance de presque 35 % en mars 2015. Cette croissance s’explique notamment par l’offre élargie de vols en correspondance et par l’accroissement de capacité de Brussels Airlines.

Pour l’ensemble du premier trimestre, Brussels Airport a accueilli 4.502.074 passagers, soit 529.581 de plus qu’au premier trimestre 2014. Fin mars, Brussels Airport a lancé son horaire estival de vols. Plusieurs nouvelles routes ont été inaugurées, notamment vers Saint-Pétersbourg (Brussels Airlines) et Vérone (Ryanair).

Transport de fret

Le transport de fret à Brussels Airport a connu une nouvelle fois au mois de mars une forte croissance de 8,2 pour cent par rapport à mars 2014. Cette croissance a été marquée dans tous les segments, que ce soit pour le trafic tout-cargo, le transport à bord d’avions passagers ou le transport express.

Le premier trimestre 2015 a totalisé 120.117 tonnes de fret transporté, soit une hausse de 9,7 pour cent comparativement au premier trimestre 2014. Il faut souligner la forte croissance des vols exclusivement de fret par rapport à d’autres aéroports européens qui enregistrement en moyenne une croissance négative dans ce segment. La croissance des services express est elle aussi remarquable, grâce à DHL qui a enregistré ces dernières années une croissance stable à deux chiffres sans interruption en termes de volumes dans notre aéroport.

Brussels Airport a pu s’imposer à l’échelle internationale grâce à de nombreuses années d’investissements stratégiques dans le transport de fret et en se spécialisant dans des procédures logistiques complexes, comme le transport de produits thermosensibles ou celui de produits pharmaceutiques. Brussels Airport renforce aussi le rôle de carrefour logistique que joue la Belgique.

Vols

Le nombre de vols a augmenté de 5,1 pour cent en mars 2015. Un vol a transporté en moyenne 105 passagers. Il s’agit là d’une occupation plus importante qu’en mars 2014, où un vol transportait en moyenne 101 passagers.

Pour le premier trimestre 2015, le taux d’occupation a augmenté de 4 % par rapport au premier trimestre 2014.

Vous trouverez des informations plus détaillées dans le tableau ci-dessous.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company