Brussels Airport continues to record strong growth in passenger and cargo traffic

March 9, 2015

Midterm break gives extra boost to February results

Brussels Airport welcomed over 1.4 million passengers in February 2015. The airport continues to show steady growth. February was given an extra boost due to the large number of holidaymakers during the midterm break. Cargo traffic at Brussels Airport again grew significantly: up 11.7% on February 2014. A notable fact is the very strong growth that was recorded in the full-freighter segment.

Passengers
In February 2015 the number of passengers at Brussels Airport increased to 1,411,776, up 18.4% on February last year. The most significant growth is accounted for by the low-cost airlines, the long-haul flights and Brussels Airlines.

Growth is partly explained by the larger number of local passengers departing from Brussels Airport (+17.7%), in particular during the midterm holidays which this year fell in February instead of March as was the case last year. But the number of transfer passengers too grew strongly compared to February 2014 (+18.5%).

Cargo
Cargo traffic at Brussels Airport continues to do very well with a growth of 11.7% on February 2014. A very strong result compared to other European airports where cargo traffic on average decreased by 1.1%. This result is the more remarkable because the Chinese New Year fell in February and that this time of the year traditionally is a quiet period in global cargo transport.

Growth was recorded in all cargo segments, with very strong growth in the full-freighter segment (+19.2%) compared to February last year due to the new routes and carriers that started operating from Brussels Airport, including Qatar Cargo and Ethiopian Cargo. They moreover use the most modern cargo aircraft:  A330F (Qatar) and B777F (Ethiopian). These aircraft are much quieter than their predecessors.


Movements
Compared to February last year, the number of movements grew by 10% to 16,659 flights in February 2015. This is a smaller increase than that in passenger numbers of cargo volume. The most significant increase was recorded in the number of passenger flights (+10.6%). The number of cargo flights grew by 6.2% and the number of non-commercial flights by 9.0%.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport enregistre à nouveau une forte progression de ses passagers et du fret

9 mars 2015

Les vacances de Carnaval boostent les résultats du mois de février

En février 2015, Brussels Airport a accueilli plus de 1,4 million de passagers. L’aéroport enregistre une croissance continue du trafic. Une croissance qui a d’avantage accéléré suite au grand nombre de vacanciers pendant les vacances de Carnaval. Le trafic cargo affiche à nouveau une augmentation significative de 11,7% par rapport à février 2014. La très forte croissance du segment tout-cargo est particulièrement impressionnante.

Passagers
Par rapport à février 2014, le nombre de passagers à Brussels Airport a augmenté de 18,4% pour atteindre 1.411.776 passagers en février 2015. La croissance la plus significative a été enregistrée au niveau des compagnies low cost, des vols long-courriers, et des vols Brussels Airlines.

Cette progression s’explique en partie par le plus grand nombre de passagers locaux au départ de Bruxelles (+17,7%) notamment pendant les vacances de Carnaval qui, cette année, tombaient en février au lieu de mars comme l’an dernier. Le nombre de passagers en transfert a également connu une grande croissance par rapport à février 2014 (+18,5%).

Fret
Le transport de fret à Brussels Airport affiche une belle évolution de 11,7% par rapport à février 2014. Un résultat exceptionnel comparé à celui des autres aéroports européens qui enregistrent en moyenne un recul de 1,1%. Ce résultat est d’autant plus remarquable que le Nouvel An chinois tombait en février et que cette période est traditionnellement une période calme pour le transport cargo mondial.

Comparé à février 2014, tous les segments du transport de fret ont affiché une augmentation, avec en particulier une très forte croissance du trafic tout-cargo (+19,2%). Et ce, grâce aux nouvelles liaisons et compagnies cargo telles que Qatar Cargo et Ethiopian Cargo. De plus, celles-ci opèrent avec des appareils cargo les plus modernes, A330F (Qatar) et B777F (Ethiopian), des appareils nettement plus silencieux que leurs prédécesseurs.

Vols
Comparé à février l’année passée, le nombre de vols a progressé de 10,2% pour atteindre 16.659 vols en février 2015, une croissance qui est toutefois proportionnellement inférieure à celle du nombre de passagers ou au volume du cargo. La croissance la plus significative a été enregistrée dans le segment des vols passagers (+10,6%). Les vols cargo ont quant à eux augmenté de +6,2% et les vols non-commerciaux de +9,0%.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company