New investment by DHL

February 12, 2015

Brussels Airport consolidates its position as logistics hub

Over the last 10 years, Brucargo – the cargo site of Brussels Airport – has developed into an essential lifeline for logistics in Belgium, making Brussels Airport the second logistics centre in Belgium after the port of Antwerp and consolidating its position as European hub for cargo transport by air and by road. Brussels Airport and its partners invest a total amount of 150 million euros in the DHL project.

Investments in air cargo transport have a direct impact on the trade balance and employment in our country.

We are happy to see a partner like DHL consolidate their presence at Brussels Airport for the long term through the development of new activities. This once more confirms the importance of Brussels Airport for the air and road transport in Belgium. Moreover it has an immediate positive effect on employment in our country. In 2012, we announced important investments by Brussels Airport and its partners for the period 2012-2017 with a view to consolidating Brussels Airport’s role in cargo transport; a goal which we already achieved and which is even exceeded.”, says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company.

DHL, which combines air transport and road transport, invests 114 million euros in this important project and serves an increasing number of direct destinations. The future activities of DHL resulting from this new development, will be carried out during the day and will have no impact on the number of night flights. They will be operated with a modern fleet and high-tech warehousing and infrastructure.

"The new hub consolidates Brussels´ important position in the European and worldwide network and reinforces Belgium’s trade links with the rest of the world", says Koen Gouweloose, Managing Director Hubs & Gateways Benelux & France at DHL. “For our customers - both companies and private individuals - more possibilities from the hub in Brussels also means greater flexibility, later pick-up times and improved service”, observes Danny Van Himste, Managing Director DHL Express Belux.

In 2012, the airport announced investments in Brucargo for an amount of 200 million euros over the period 2012- 2017. This goal is amply achieved due to the efforts made by the airport and its partners and the development of all modes of air cargo transport: full freighter, express services and belly cargo (freight on board passenger aircraft). These segments reinforce one another and are essential for securing a strong and sustainable position in cargo transport.

With 454,000 tonnes of cargo carried a year, Brussels Airport is the second logistics player in Belgium after the port of Antwerp, providing a direct employment of 4,500 jobs and an indirect employment of 7,500 jobs.

The new routes served by Qatar Airways and the arrival of Ethiopian Cargo demonstrate the importance of Brussels Airport as central hub in Europe for the global air cargo industry.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Nouvel investissement de DHL

12 février 2015

Brussels Airport renforce son rôle de plaque tournante logistique

Au cours des dix dernières années, Brucargo, la plateforme logistique de Brussels Airport, s’est muée en véritable artère vitale pour l’activité cargo en Belgique faisant de Brussels Airport la deuxième plateforme logistique de Belgique après le port d’Anvers et confortant la position de l’aéroport en tant que hub européen pour le transport de fret aérien et routier. C’est au total un montant de €150 millions d’euros qui est investi dans le projet DHL par Brussels Airport et ses différents partenaires.

Les investissements dans le transport du fret aérien ont des répercussions directes sur la balance commerciale et l’emploi dans notre pays.

Nous sommes heureux de voir un partenaire comme DHL consolider sur le long terme sa position à Brussels Airport par le déploiement de ses activités. Cela confirme une fois de plus l’importance du rôle joué par Brussels Airport pour le transport aérien et le transport routier en Belgique avec un impact positif direct sur le nombre d’emplois. En 2012, nous avions annoncé d’importants investissements par Brussels Airport et ses partenaires sur la période 2012 - 2017 afin de consolider le rôle de Brussels Airport dans le transport de marchandise, l’objectif est déjà atteint et même dépassé », déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company.

DHL qui combine transport par voie aérienne et par voie terrestre investit €114 millions d’euros dans ce projet d’envergure et offre des liaisons directes toujours plus nombreuses. Les futures activités de DHL, assurées par ce nouveau développement, seront menées de jour et resteront donc sans effet sur le nombre de vols de nuit. Elles seront garanties par une flotte moderne, des installations d’entreposage et des infrastructures à haute technologie.

Ce nouveau hub contribue à renforcer le positionnement de Bruxelles au sein du réseau européen et mondial, et multiplie les liaisons commerciales belges avec le reste du monde", explique Koen Gouweloose, Managing Director Hubs & Gateways Benelux & France chez DHL. “Pour nos clients, particuliers comme entreprises, le potentiel élargi du hub de Bruxelles est synonyme d’une flexibilité accrue, d’un délai d’enlèvement prolongé et d’un meilleur service ", poursuit Danny Van Himste, Managing Director DHL Express Belux.

En 2012, l’aéroport annonçait un montant d’investissements de €200 millions d’euros sur la période 2012- 2017 pour la zone Brucargo. Ce montant est largement atteint grâce aux efforts réalisés par l’aéroport et ses partenaires et grâce au développement des différents modes de transport de fret : tout cargo, services express et cargo mixte (à bord d’avions passagers) et transport routier. Ces différents segments, qui se renforcent mutuellement, sont indispensables à un positionnement solide et durable pour le transport de marchandises.

Avec 454.000 tonnes de fret par an, Brussels Airport est le deuxième acteur logistique en Belgique après le port d’Anvers, et assure ainsi plus de 4.500 emplois directs et 7.500 jobs indirects.

Les récentes liaisons nouvelles de Qatar Airways et l’arrivée d’Ethiopian Cargo illustrent également l’importance de Brussels Airport en tant que hub européen central sur la scène mondiale du fret aérien.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company