21.9 million passengers in 2014: an all-time record year for Brussels Airport

January 13, 2015

2014 was a year of exceptional growth for Brussels Airport. Growth was recorded in all segments: passenger and cargo flights.  Moreover, the airport broke its historical passenger record of 2000. In 2014 Brussels Airport handled 21,933,190 passengers: 2.8 million more than in 2013.

“Never before Brussels Airport welcomed as many passengers as we did in 2014. Growth was recorded in all segments. It is clear that the new approach we have been adopting since a few years is bearing fruit.  The great performance we put down in 2014 could not be achieved without the efforts and commitment of our staff and the collaboration with our partners. And not to be overlooked: the growth of the airport has a considerable positive impact on employment and economic growth in our country”, says Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport.

“Brussels Airport is now looking forward to the next milestone in its history: the opening of the new Connector building in the spring which will allow us to provide our customers with an even better service and experience”, Arnaud Feist continues.

Strong growth in number of passengers: +14.6%
In 2014 Brussels Airport handled a total of 21,933,190 passengers, an increase with 2.8 million passengers compared to 2013 (+ 14.6%). Growth was recorded in all passenger segments, with Brussels Airlines, the low cost carriers and intercontinental traffic in particular performing strongly.

The major landmarks for Brussels Airport in 2014 were the new routes operated by Vueling, the arrival of Ryanair, Brussels Airlines’ new routes and commercial strategy and the arrival of Emirates.

Transfer traffic even grew by more than 20% in 2014 which confirms the increasingly important role of Brussels Airport as Star Alliance hub. Due to the large offer of destinations – a strategy which Brussels Airport has pursued for many years – our airport can fully play its role as central airport with convenient connecting flights to other airports which strengthens its position within the Star Alliance. It also makes our country more attractive for foreign investors and tourists.

December 2014 ended this exceptional year for Brussels Airport with a strong growth of 13.2% compared to the corresponding month in 2013. Growth in December and for the whole of 2014 was slowed down however by the regional and national strike days of 8 and 15 December. Without this impact Brussels Airport would have easily exceeded the 22 million passenger mark.

Higher passenger payloads and a limited increase in the number of flights
The number of flights for the whole of 2014 increased by 6.9% on 2013, a modest growth compared to the 14.6% growth in passengers.
Compared to 2000, we find that the number of flights has decreased by no less than 30%: from 326,050 flights in 2000 to 231,528 flights in 2014. The major trends are that the airlines use larger aircraft than they did in 2000 and that the passenger load factor increased. The average number of passengers per flight increased by over 50% going from 71 persons per flight in 2000 to 108 in 2014.

In December 2014 passenger number grew strongly (+13.2%) with the number of flights increasing only slightly (+3.6%).

Cargo growth at Brussels Airport outperforms rest of Europe
2014 was a year of strong growth for cargo transport at Brussels Airport. With a 5.6% growth Brussels Airport is clearly outperforming most other airports in Europe.

The significant increase in “belly cargo”, i.e. cargo carried on board of passenger flights, goes hand in hand with the growth in passenger numbers. Both segments are reinforcing each other with cargo customers being offered a larger range of destinations served. 

Over the past twelve months, Brussels Airport took several strategic initiatives to stimulate cargo traffic, including the IATA certification for the transport of temperature sensitive pharmaceuticals – a world first – and the significant investments in the Brucargo infrastructure of the past three years.

In the month of December 2014 cargo traffic at Brussels Airport was comparable to 2013 (-0.6%). Due to the impact of the strike days of 8 and 15 December the cargo segment did not show any growth, contrary to the other months of 2014.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Record historique pour Brussels Airport en 2014 avec 21,9 millions de passagers

13 janvier 2015

Brussels Airport a enregistré en 2014 une croissance exceptionnelle dans tous les segments : vols passagers et fret, et dans la foulée, a battu le précédent record de passagers qui datait de 2000. L’an dernier, l’aéroport a accueilli 21.933.190 passagers, soit 2,8 million de plus qu’en 2013.

“Brussels Airport a accueilli un nombre inégalé de passagers en 2014 et tous les segments ont contribué à ce succès. La nouvelle dynamique insufflée depuis quelques années porte manifestement ses fruits. Les beaux résultats de 2014 sont le fruit du travail et de l’enthousiasme de notre personnel, ainsi que de la collaboration avec nos partenaires. On notera aussi que la progression enregistrée par l’aéroport se répercute positivement sur l’emploi et la croissance économique dans notre pays », déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport.

“Brussels Airport attend à présent le prochain jalon au sein de notre histoire : l’ouverture du nouveau bâtiment Connector, au printemps prochain, qui doit nous permettre d’offrir un service et des prestations encore meilleurs à nos clients », poursuit M. Feist.

Forte progression du nombre de passagers : +14,6%
Brussels Airport a enregistré 21.933.190 passagers en 2014, soit 2,8 millions de plus qu’en 2013, ce qui représente une progression de 14,6%. Tous les segments du transport de passagers ont affiché une croissance positive l’an dernier, et notamment Brussels Airlines, les compagnies low cost et les liaisons intercontinentales.

L’an dernier, l’aéroport a recensé en termes de jalons majeurs les nouvelles destinations de Vueling, l’arrivée de Ryanair, les nouvelles liaisons et la nouvelle stratégie commerciale de Brussels Airlines, et l’arrivée d’Emirates.

Le trafic des passagers en transit a même progressé de plus de 20%, ce qui confirme le rôle croissant de Brussels Airport en tant que hub du réseau Star Alliance. L’offre étendue de destinations – inscrite depuis des années dans la stratégie de Brussels Airport – permet à notre aéroport d’assumer pleinement son rôle de plate-forme de transit, ce qui renforce sa position au sein de la Star Alliance. Cette évolution contribue à accroître l’attractivité de notre pays à l’étranger, non seulement pour les investisseurs, mais aussi, pour les touristes.

Décembre 2014 a clôturé une année exceptionnelle pour Brussels Airport avec une hausse de quelque 13,2% du nombre de passagers par rapport à décembre 2013. La croissance enregistrée en décembre et pour l’ensemble de 2014 a toutefois pâti des grèves régionales et nationales des 8 et 15 décembre. En l’absence de ces grèves, le plafond des 22 millions de passagers aurait été dépassé.

Taux de remplissage en hausse et augmentation limitée du nombre de vols
Pour l’ensemble de l’année 2014, le nombre de vols a augmenté de 6,9% par rapport à 2013, soit une progression moins importante que les 14,6% de croissance du nombre de passagers.

Comparativement à 2000, on note une forte diminution de 30% du nombre de vols : de 326.050 vols en 2000 à 231.528 vols en 2014. Parmi les évolutions majeures figurent l’utilisation de plus grands appareils par les compagnies aériennes, et la progression du taux de remplissage des vols passagers. Le nombre moyen de passagers par vol a augmenté de plus de 50%, passant de 71 personnes par vol en 2000 à 108 en 2014.

En décembre 2014, on note une forte augmentation du nombre de passagers (+13,2%), associée à une légère progression du nombre de vols (+3,6%).

Fret : progression supérieure par rapport au reste de l’Europe
2014 s’affiche comme une année de forte croissance pour le transport de fret à Bruxelles. Avec une progression de 5,6%, Brussels Airport affiche des résultats sensiblement meilleurs que la plupart des autres aéroports en Europe.

L’augmentation marquante du “belly transport”, c.-à-d. le fret transporté sur des vols passagers,  s’inscrit dans le droit fil de la hausse du nombre de passagers. Les deux segments se renforcent mutuellement et offrent aux clients fret un éventail plus large de destinations.

En 2014, Brussels Airport a pris une série d’initiatives stratégiques visant à stimuler le transport de fret, comme par exemple la certification IATA pour le transport de produits pharmaceutiques thermosensibles – une première mondiale – et les considérables investissements de ces trois dernières années dans l’infrastructure Brucargo.

En décembre 2014, le trafic de fret à Brussels Airport est resté stable par rapport à décembre 2013 (-0,6%). Suite aux grèves des 8 et 15 décembre, le volume de fret n’a pas augmenté en décembre, contrairement aux autres mois de l’année.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company