Magical Christmas atmosphere at Brussels Airport for thousands of holiday travellers

December 16, 2014

The start of the Christmas holidays promises to be extremely busy. On Friday 19 December no less than 36,000 passengers will depart from Brussels Airport. Including the arriving passengers about 64,000 passengers will pass through the airport that day.  The whole week will be busy with 29,000 to 32,000 departing passengers per day.

The Christmas decorations in the terminal make for pleasant atmosphere. Moreover, every Friday in December a quintet will boost the Christmas mood by playing live music in the departures hall. The Christmas holidays are one of the most popular periods for travel, both to sun and snow destinations. Which is why Brussels Airport has listed a few tips for a carefree start of the holidays.

An overview of the number of passengers departing from Brussels Airport in the Christmas period:

  • Wednesday 17 December: 31,000
  • Thursday 18 December: 32,000
  • Friday 19 December: 36,000
  • Saturday 20 December: 29,000
  • Sunday 21 December: 32,000
  • Monday 22 December: 30,000


5 tips for a carefree start of your holiday

  1. To the airport
    On busy departure days, traffic on the access roads to the airport may be very dense. Leave for the airport well ahead of your departure time and consider taking public transport.
  2. Dropping off passengers
    The "Kiss & Fly" passenger drop-off area in front of the departures hall is likely to be very busy. We remind you that parking is strictly forbidden in this area.
  3. Parking
    Are you driving to the airport yourself? Book your parking space in advance.
  4. Check-in
    Gain time by checking in online. You can generally do so as of 24 hours prior to your scheduled departure time. Did you check in online? Leave your baggage at your airline's baggage drop-off desk. Do not forget to take your passport or identity card. Children under the age of 12 need to be in possession of a kids-ID or passport to be allowed to travel by plane.
  5. Smoothly through security
    Do not carry any items in your hand baggage that can be used as a weapon such as knives or scissors. These are prohibited from the aircraft cabin and will be confiscated.
    Put any liquids, creams and gels in your check-in baggage. If you do carry liquids or gels in your hand baggage, please remember that they should be held in containers with a capacity of maximum 100 ml and that they have to be presented for screening in a re-sealable, transparent plastic bag. The total quantity of liquids may not exceed 1 litre.  Exception: liquid medicines (with a doctor's certificate) and baby food. 

    Remove your laptop or tablet from its travel case for separate screening. Place your loose coins, keys, mobile phone, watch and belt in a tray.

    Take as little hand baggage as possible, this will considerably speed up your passage through security.
<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Noël féerique pour des milliers de voyageurs en partance de Brussels Airport

16 décembre 2014

Le début des vacances de Noël sera marqué par l'affluence des passagers à Brussels Airport. Le vendredi 19 décembre, quelque 36.000 passagers s'envoleront de Brussels Airport. Si l'on y ajoute les passagers à l'arrivée, l'aéroport verra transiter ce jour-là 64.000 passagers. Cette semaine s'annonce donc particulièrement chargée, avec de 29.000 à 32.000 passagers en partance chaque jour.

Dans un terminal orné de décorations de Noël, l'ambiance sera néanmoins festive. Tous les vendredis de décembre, un quintette se chargera de faire planer l'esprit de Noël dans le hall des départs. Chaque année, les vacances de Noël sont propices aux escapades, vers le soleil ou la neige. Brussels Airport vous dispense quelques conseils, pour que chacun puisse partir en vacances sans encombre et sans stress.

Petite idée du nombre de passagers en partance de Brussels Airport pendant la période de Noël :

  • Mercredi 17 décembre : 31.000
  • Jeudi 18 décembre : 32.000
  • Vendredi 19 décembre : 36.000
  • Samedi 20 décembre : 29.000
  • Dimanche 21 décembre : 32.000
  • Lundi 22 décembre : 30.000

5 conseils pour partir l'esprit léger  

  1. Pour rallier l'aéroport
    Les jours d'affluence, les voies d'accès à l'aéroport sont vite saturées. Nous recommandons de faire en sorte d'arriver à l'heure, en privilégiant les transports publics.
  2. Déposer des passagers
    La zone Kiss & Fly, la zone de départ devant le terminal, promet d'être prise d'assaut, vu le nombre de passagers en partance. Le stationnement y est interdit. Il est seulement permis de déposer des voyageurs.
  3. Stationnement
    Réserver sa place de stationnement est un bon conseil pour les personnes venant en voiture.
  4. Enregistrement
    Pour gagner du temps, il est préférable de privilégier l'enregistrement sur Internet. C'est possible 24 heures avant le départ du vol ou selon les consignes de la compagnie aérienne. Les bagages pourront être déposés au comptoir de la compagnie aérienne prévu à cet effet. Les cartes d'identité et votre passeport même pour les enfants de moins de 12 ans (Kids-ID ou passeport) sont nécessaires pour pouvoir voyager en avion.
  5. Passage sans encombre au contrôle de sûreté
    S'abstenir d'emporter dans le bagage à main des objets qui pourraient servir d'armes, comme les couteaux et les ciseaux. Placer les liquides et les crèmes dans les bagages en soute enregistrés. Sont autorisés les  flacons ou tubes d'une contenance maximale de 100 ml, glissés dans une pochette en plastique transparent refermable. Ne pas emporter plus d'un litre de liquides. Exceptions : les médicaments liquides accompagnés d'un certificat médical et les aliments pour bébé.

    Présenter les ordinateurs portables et les tablettes séparément au contrôle de sûreté. Déposer les  pièces de monnaie, clés, portefeuille, téléphone mobile, montre et ceinture dans un bac séparé.

    Enfin, limiter les bagages à main pour faciliter le passage au contrôle de sûreté.
<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company