Brussels Airport reaches 20 million passengers milestone

December 12, 2014

In November, Brussels Airport recorded an 18.2% growth and is thus heading straight for the year 2000 passenger record. With 20.4 million passengers handled in the first eleven months, the 20 million passengers mark has already been exceeded and the 21.6 million record is within reach. This strong performance is mainly driven by the opening of new routes and by Brussels Airport’s strategic position as Star Alliance hub.

Passengers
Brussels Airport welcomed 1,608,644 passengers in November, up 18.2% on last year (+247,415 passengers). This increase is largely attributed to Brussels Airlines and the low-fare carriers. Growth was mainly recorded in the O&D segment (passengers originating from or having Brussels Airport as their final destination) but the transfer segment too did exceptionally well with a 35.5% increase on November 2013.

From January to November, almost 20.5 million passengers travelled through Brussels Airport, up 14.7% on the corresponding period in 2013. This means that Brussels Airport is well on its way to break the year 2000 record of 21.6 million passengers in December.

Transfer traffic in the same period increased by 20%. This figure confirms Brussels Airport’s position as major hub in the Star Alliance network.

Cargo
Strong growth was also recorded in cargo traffic: up 13.5% on last year. Cargo volumes flown are clearly recovering due to the increasing capacity provided by carriers such as Qatar Airways Cargo and Singapore Airlines Cargo.

In terms of cargo volumes carried, November 2014 even is the best month since June 2012. Belly cargo and integrator traffic continue to perform well. Full freighter traffic is showing positive growth for the first time in a long while due to growing demand and the opening of new routes from Brussels Airport.

Aircraft movements
The number of flights increased by 10.1% on November 2013, and by 7.1% over the first eleven months. The average number of passengers on board grew to 102.4 passengers per flight in November 2014 (+ 6% on November 2013). This is explained by the use of larger aircraft and an improved passenger payload.



<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport franchit le cap des 20 millions de passagers

12 décembre 2014

En novembre 2014, Brussels Airport a enregistré une croissance de 18,2% et se rapproche ainsi du nombre de passagers record de l'an 2000. Avec 20,4 millions de passagers, le cap des 20 millions de passagers est d'ores et déjà dépassé et le record de 21,6 millions est à portée de main. Ce succès repose principalement sur les nouvelles routes et la situation stratégique de Brussels Airport en tant que hub du réseau Star Alliance.

Passagers
Brussels Airport a accueilli 1 608 644 passagers en novembre, soit une croissance de 247 415 passagers (+18,2%) par rapport à novembre 2013. Cette augmentation s'explique surtout par les bons résultats de Brussels Airlines et des compagnies low cost mais ne repose pas seulement sur le marché local (passagers ayant Brussels Airport pour aéroport de départ ou de destination finale). En effet, le marché du transit a également connu une forte hausse durant ce mois avec 35,5% de plus qu'en novembre 2013.

Près de 20,5 millions de passagers sont passés par Brussels Airport au cours des 11 premiers mois de 2014, ce qui représente une augmentation de 14,7% par rapport à 2013. Le record de 21,6 millions de passagers de l'an 2000 sera peut-être battu en décembre.

Le marché du transit a également vu son volume s'accroître de plus de 20% en 2014. Ce chiffre renforce la position de Brussels Airport comme hub essentiel dans le réseau mondial de Star Alliance.

Fret
Le transport de fret à l'aéroport a connu un excellent mois avec une hausse de 13,5% par rapport à l'année dernière. On note un rétablissement manifeste des volumes de fret transportés grâce à la capacité commerciale croissante offerte par des compagnies comme Qatar Airways Cargo et Singapore Airlines Cargo.

En poids absolu de fret, novembre 2014 est même le meilleur mois depuis juin 2012. Le transport de fret à bord d'avions de ligne et d'intégrateurs se maintient à un bon niveau. Les vols exclusivement de fret profitent d'une demande accrue et de plusieurs nouvelles routes au départ de Bruxelles et sont dès lors aussi en expansion pour la première fois depuis longtemps. Ce segment du transport de fret reste cependant soumis à forte pression partout dans le monde.

Vols
Le nombre de vols a augmenté de 10,1% en novembre et de 7,1% sur les 11 premiers mois de 2014. Le nombre de passagers par vol continue, quant à lui, à progresser avec 102,4 passagers à bord en novembre 2014  (+ 6% par rapport à novembre 2013) en raison de l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands et d’un meilleur taux d’occupation.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company