Brussels Airport just short of 19 million passengers mark

November 13, 2014

With almost 2 million passengers flying through Brussels Airport in October 2014, the airport just falls short of the 19 million passengers mark with 18,839,139 passengers registered since the start of 2014. This trend is driven by the expansion of the low-cost companies as is the case elsewhere in Europe with growth reinforced by the positive results of Brussels Airlines and the long haul segment.

Passengers
The number of passengers continued to grow registering a 19.3% increase in October. Growth is attributed to the significant progress made by Brussels Airlines and the low-cost companies. Network expansion with the arrival at Brussels Airport of Emirates in September reinforces this positive trend.  Progress is registered both in the O&D segment (originating and destination passengers) driven by the expanded offer of destinations and in the transfer segment (+31.1% on October 2013). This confirms Brussels Airport’s position as international Star Alliance hub.

Cargo
Cargo too continues to grow registering a 7.5% increase on October 2013. This result surpasses the average global cargo growth rate (+ 5.2% in September 2014 vs September 2013) and stands out in Europe where air cargo transport is stagnating.
Belly cargo carried on board of passenger aircraft grew significantly in October (+ 15.3%) whereas full freighter cargo was up 4.1%. In the latter segment, growth is driven mainly by integrator traffic.

Movements
The number of aircraft movements is up 9.2% on October 2013. The average number of passengers on board grew to 109 passengers per flight in October 2014 (+ 8.2% on October 2013 and + 37.9% compared to October 2000). This is explained by the use of larger aircraft and an improved passenger payload.

Network
October saw the opening of new routes to Riga (Brussels Airlines) and Dublin (Ryanair).


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport sur le point de franchir le cap des 19 millions de passagers

13 novembre 2014

Avec près de 2 millions de passagers ayant voyagé par Brussels Airport en octobre 2014, l’aéroport atteint le résultat exceptionnel de 18.839.139 passagers depuis le début de l’année 2014. L’expansion des compagnies low-cost participe à ce dynamisme comme partout en Europe, et les résultats positifs de Brussels Airlines et du trafic longue distance viennent renforcer plus encore cette progression.

Passagers
Le nombre de passagers poursuit sa croissance en octobre affichant une augmentation de 19,3%, croissance qui s’explique par la progression significative de Brussels Airlines et des compagnies low-cost. L’extension du réseau avec l’arrivée de la compagnie Emirates à Brussels Airport en septembre renforce cette évolution positive. Cette progression s’observe sur le marché local (de point à point) boosté par l’offre élargie de nouvelles destinations et également sur le marché des transferts (+31,1% comparé à octobre 2013). Ceci confirme la position de Brussels Airport en tant que hub sur le réseau international de Star Alliance.

Cargo
Le transport cargo poursuit sa croissance avec 7,5% comparé à octobre 2013. Ce résultat surpasse les chiffres enregistrés par le transport cargo au niveau mondial (+ 5,2% en septembre 2014 vs septembre 2013) et se démarque de la stagnation de la croissance du transport aérien en Europe.
Le fret transporté à bord des avions de passagers progresse considérablement, à raison de 15,3% et le transport à bord d’avions cargo croît de 4,1%. Dans ce dernier segment, c’est principalement le fret à bord des intégrateurs qui justifie cette croissance.  

Vols
Le nombre de vols augmente de 9,2% comparé à octobre 2013. Le nombre de passagers par vol continue, quant à lui, à progresser avec 109 passagers à bord en octobre 2014  (+ 8,2% par rapport à octobre 2013 et + 37,9%  par rapport à octobre 2000) en raison de l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands et d’un meilleur taux d’occupation.

Réseau
Le mois d’octobre a vu le lancement de nouvelles destinations notamment par Brussels Airlines vers Riga et par Ryanair vers Dublin.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company