Brussels Airport Company hires specialised firm to inspect baggage from Ebola-afflicted region

October 17, 2014

Brussels Airport Company is closely monitoring the situation with regard to Ebola and has been in constant consultation with the Federal Public Health service, Brussels Airlines and the various airport partners concerned.

In spite of the existing guidelines from the Federal Public Health service, anxiety about Ebola among airport staff continues to grow. Brussels Airport Company takes this anxiety very serious. The airport operator already organised several extensive information meetings in collaboration with the Federal Public Health service informing its partners and the unions about Ebola and the risk of transmission for the various disciplines at the airport.

To meet the increasing concerns regarding baggage handling the existing biohazard safety procedures were completed by an additional measure. Brussels Airport Company has hired a specialised firm to inspect baggage from the afflicted region (Freetown in Sierra Leone, Conakry in Guinea and Monrovia in Liberia) for leaks. Unaffected baggage continues its way through the normal baggage handling process. Any leaking baggage is destroyed.

Flyers with detailed information and practical tips were distributed to the airport staff. They are firstly advised to pay special attention to personal hygiene. Brussels Airport Company also urges airport staff to strictly observe the existing biohazard safety procedures and wear the usual personal protective equipment required to carry out the various jobs at the airport.  The airport operator calls on its partners to see to it that all of their members of staff are familiar with these.

Moreover Brussels Airport Company has made available a communication platform that centralises all information about Ebola and biohazard concerns. There’s also a central e-mail address: any questions sent to this address are answered by the Federal Public Health service.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: firme spécialisée triera tous les bagages venant des pays touchés par l’Ebola

17 octobre 2014

Brussels Airport Company suit l’évolution de l’épidémie d’Ebola de près et est en liaison étroite avec le SPF Santé Publique, Brussels Airlines et les parties intervenantes de l’aéroport. Malgré les directives existantes  prévues par le SPF Santé Publique, l’inquiétude auprès du personnel de l’aéroport était grandissante. Brussels Airport Company prend ceci très au sérieux. Elle a organisé, en collaboration avec le SPF Santé Publique, différentes sessions d’information élargies au cours desquelles les partenaires et syndicats ont été informés au sujet du virus et au sujet des risques pour les différents domaines d’activité de l’aéroport.

Pour répondre aux préoccupations relatives aux manipulations de bagages, les procédures existantes pour faire face aux risques biologiques ont été complétées par une mesure additionnelle. Brussels Airport Company a décidé que les bagages en provenance des régions touchées (Freetown au Sierra Leone, Conakry en Guinée et Monrovia au Libéria) seraient inspectés par une société spécialisée afin de rechercher la présence de fuites de liquides. Les bagages intacts suivront le processus normal. Les bagages qui présenteront des fuites seront détruits.

Dans le courant de cette semaine, le personnel de l’aéroport a reçu une brochure d’information et des conseils pratiques dont le respect des règles d’hygiène fait partie. Brussels Airport Company insiste aussi sur le respect des procédures existantes pour les risques biologiques et le port des équipements de protection individuelle d’usage pour l’exercice des différentes fonctions de l’aéroport. Le gestionnaire de l’aéroport appelle aussi ses partenaires à faire connaître ceci à leurs travailleurs.

De plus, Brussels Airport Company met à disposition une plateforme de communication contenant toute l’information relative au virus Ebola et aux autres risques d’ordre biologique. Une adresse mail spéciale a également été créée afin de permettre de centraliser toutes les questions possibles auxquelles il sera répondu par le SPF Santé Publique.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company