Third record quarter for Brussels Airport

October 9, 2014

Brussels Airport recorded exceptional figures for September with over 2.23 million passengers, i.e. an increase of 17.7% over September 2013. The increase covers both the domestic market and transfers. The third quarter of 2014 saw 17% growth compared with the same period last year, accelerating the growth already sustained from the second quarter (+16.1%).

Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport Company: "The traffic figures recorded in September indicate a strong, on-going upwards trend and confirm the exceptional results recorded during the summer months. The huge growth in transfer passengers confirms the increasing role played by Brussels Airport as the Western Europe Star Alliance hub.  It is also an important economic indicator, showing that Brussels Airport remains an essential player for the link between Belgium and the rest of the world".

The rise in passenger numbers seen in recent months is continuing with an especially successful September and with 335,000 additional passengers over last year. Transfer passenger numbers have shown particularly strong growth (+33%), which confirms the role played by Brussels Airport as an international transfer platform, both for European destinations and between Europe and the other continents. This increase is a result of activities by Brussels Airlines, low-cost and long-haul airlines that benefit among other things from the launch of an Emirates daily direct Brussels-Dubai flight on 5 September. Apart from Dubai, Brussels Airport has gained a second new destination in September - Warsaw, operated by Brussels Airlines.

The cargo volume carried increased considerably during September, by 10% compared with last September. Cargo carried on both passenger aircraft and cargo aircraft has increased. In the cargo aircraft transport segment, the integrator traffic (DHL) continues to build on the surge it witnessed last year. This boom is mainly due to the significant increase in online trade.

Traffic growth goes hand in hand with a more modest increase of 8.2% in the number of flights. The occupation rate is up 3 points to 78.2%. The average number of passengers per flight has risen from 108 in September 2013 to 116 in September 2014, an increase of 7.4%.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Troisième trimestre record pour Brussels Airport

9 octobre 2014

Brussels Airport affiche un mois de septembre exceptionnel avec plus de 2,23 millions de passagers, soit une croissance de 17,7% comparé à septembre 2013. L’augmentation s’observe tant au niveau du marché local qu’au niveau des transferts. Le troisième trimestre 2014 a connu une croissance de 17,0% par rapport à la même période l’année dernière, accélérant la croissance déjà soutenue du deuxième trimestre (+16,1%).

Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport Company : « Les chiffres du trafic enregistrés au mois de septembre indiquent une tendance forte et continue à la hausse et confirment les résultats exceptionnels enregistrés au cours des mois d’été. L’importante croissance des passagers en transfert confirme le rôle croissant que Brussels Airport joue en tant que hub de Star Alliance en Europe de l’ouest.  C’est aussi un indicateur économique important montrant que Brussels Airport reste un acteur essentiel pour la liaison entre la Belgique et le reste du monde».

Passagers
La progression du nombre de passagers qui s’est observée au cours des derniers mois se poursuit avec un mois de septembre particulièrement fructueux et avec 335.000 passagers supplémentaires par rapport à l’an dernier. La croissance  est particulièrement élevée pour les passagers en transfert (+33%), ce qui confirme le rôle que joue Brussels Airport en tant que plateforme internationale de transfert aussi bien pour des destinations européennes, qu’entre l’Europe et les autres continents. Cette progression résulte des activités de Brussels Airlines, des compagnies low cost et des compagnies long courrier qui bénéficient entre autres du lancement d’un vol journalier direct Bruxelles - Dubaï par Emirates le 5 septembre dernier. Outre, Dubaï, Brussels Airport compte une seconde nouvelle destination depuis septembre : Varsovie, opérée par Brussels Airlines.

Fret
La quantité de fret transporté a connue une forte croissance au cours du mois de septembre avec une augmentation de 10% comparé à septembre de l’an dernier. Tant le transport à bord des avions de passagers que par avion cargo ont enregistré une hausse. Dans le segment du transport par avion cargo, le trafic de fret aérien intégrateur (DHL)  continue sa forte progression entamée l’an dernier. Cet essor est principalement dû à l’augmentation significative du commerce en ligne.

Vols
La progression du trafic va de pair avec une progression plus modérée du nombre de vols de 8,2%. Le taux d’occupation passe à 78,2% (+ 3 points). Le nombre moyen de passagers par vol passe donc de 108 en septembre 2013 à 116 en septembre 2014, soit une augmentation de 7,4%.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company