Brussels Airport has had its best summer ever

September 11, 2014

Brussels Airport recorded a total of 2.329 million passengers throughout August 2014, which is an increase of 18.7% compared to August 2013. With more than 4.7 million passengers in July and August combined, summer 2014 ended with a new record for Brussels Airport. These two months exceeded the figures achieved in July 2000 by 6.4%.

Record Summer
Arnaud Feist, CEO of the Brussels Airport Company said: “We have already experienced a record month in July. The figures for August are also remarkable. Our staff have sought to maintain the same quality of service throughout these peak periods. Excellent communication and the fact that our staff are always on hand on the ground has enabled us to offer the 4.7 million travellers easy passage throughout the summer”.

Passengers
August 2014 saw double-digit growth with 18.7% more passengers compared to August 2013. This means 367,000 additional passengers. Belgian companies have recorded a very strong performance. This expansion has been observed in the local market (+17.5%) due to a desire for sunny European destinations to escape the bad weather in Belgium and the increased attraction of low-cost airlines. Some of the most popular destinations for travellers from Brussels Airport were Antalya, Barcelona, Lisbon, Rome and Madrid.
Transfer passengers have also increased (+21.9%) as a result of the Star Alliance hub role played by Brussels Airport in Europe.

Freight
The cargo transport business witnessed a moderate increase (+1.2%) compared to August 2013. The full freighter activity continues to decrease due to the slowdown in economic activity Europe wide as confirmed by IATA. By contrast, integrator traffic (DHL) was on the up (+30%) during the month of August and freight on board passenger aircraft increased by 10.9%.

Flights
The number of flights has increased by 11%. This rise is explained above all by an increase of 11.7% in the number of passenger flights. The load factor of flights has risen to 81.2%, an increase of 3% compared to August 2013. The number of passengers per flight has increased to an average of 124. Compared to 2000, we have seen a drop of 25.5% in the number of movements and an increase of 46% in the number of passengers per flight.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport a connu le meilleur été de son histoire

11 septembre 2014

Brussels Airport enregistre un total de 2,329 millions de passagers au cours du mois d’août 2014, soit une croissance  de 18,7% par rapport à août 2013. Avec plus de 4,7 millions de passagers en juillet et août réunis, l’été 2014 se termine sur un nouveau record pour Brussels Airport. Ces deux mois dépassent de 6,4% les chiffres atteints en 2000.

Été record
Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company : « Nous avions déjà vécu un mois record en juillet. Les chiffres du mois d’août sont également remarquables. Nos équipes ont veillé à maintenir la même qualité de service durant toutes les périodes d’affluence. Une gestion optimale de la communication et l’omniprésence de nos équipes sur le terrain ont permis d’offrir un passage sans difficulté aux 4,7 millions de voyageurs durant tout l’été».

Passagers
Le mois d’août 2014 a connu une nouvelle croissance à deux chiffres avec 18,7% de passagers de plus comparé à août 2013. Il s’agit de 367.000 passagers supplémentaires.  Les compagnies belges ont enregistré une très forte croissance. Cette progression s’observe au niveau du marché local (+17,5%) en raison d’un engouement pour les destinations européennes ensoleillées alors que sévissait le mauvais temps en Belgique et de l’attrait renforcé pour les compagnies low cost. Parmi les destinations les plus prisées par les voyageurs depuis Brussels Airport, citons Antalya, Barcelone, Lisbonne, Rome et Madrid.
Les passagers en transferts ont également fortement progressé (+21,9%) démontrant la montée en puissance de Brussels Airport comme hub de Star Alliance.

Fret
L’activité de transport cargo a connu une croissance modérée (+1,2%) comparé à août 2013. L’activité ‘Full Freighter’ a poursuivi sa baisse (-30%) suite au ralentissement de l’activité économique à l’échelle européenne comme confirmé par IATA. En revanche, le trafic intégrateur (DHL) continue sa forte croissance (+30%) et le fret à bord des avions passagers a encore progressé de 10,9%.

Vols
Le nombre de vols progresse de 11 %. Cette hausse s’explique surtout par une augmentation de 11,7 % du nombre de vols passagers. Le taux d’occupation des vols passe à 81,2%, soit une progression de 3% par rapport à août 2013. Le nombre de passagers par vol s’élève à une moyenne de 124. Par rapport à l’année 2000, nous observons une diminution de 25,5% du nombre de mouvements et une augmentation de 46% du nombre de passagers par vol.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company