Busiest month ever at Brussels Airport : 2.3 million passengers

August 8, 2014

Brussels Airport handled 2.3 million passengers in July, a historic record! The previous record, which dates back from July 2000, was exceeded by 86,000 passengers, i.e. 4 percent. Remarkable fact: this record was achieved with about 22 percent less passenger flights than in July 2000.

Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company: “It is a special moment for Brussels airport to close the month with 2.3 million passengers, the busiest month ever for our airport. Due to the professionalism and passion of the 20,000 collaborators at Brussels Airport, the airport had no difficulties handling the flow of the, on average, 74,000 departing and arriving passengers per day. At the security screening up to 1300 passengers per half hour were processed on peak hours, with an average queuing time for the passengers of a mere 5 minutes.”

In July, we once again record a two-digit growth: the number of passengers increased by 14.8% on July 2013. This corresponds with 300,000 extra passengers. In this summer month growth was mainly driven by local traffic, which was up 17% on last year. With a growth of 7.1%, transfer traffic too performed strongly. The end of the FIFA World Cup and the Ramadan, as well as the poor weather in mid July, urged many of our countrymen to take a holiday abroad, which resulted in additional growth in the second half of the month. 

All passenger segments contribute to the growth. A large share of the passenger growth is accounted for by the low-cost segment.  The remainder is attributed mainly to the strong performance by Brussels Airlines and the very positive growth in intra-European traffic.

Cargo volumes carried from Brussels Airport stabilized in the month of July.  Belly cargo (cargo carried on board of passenger flights) increases by 7.4%, confirming the positive trend started at the end of last year. Full-freighter cargo however remains under pressure worldwide. This is compensated by the continued growth in the integrator segment (DHL). The 32% growth recorded in July is in line with the upward trend it has maintained for the last 19 months.
The number of flights grew by 8.6%. This is mainly attributed to an increase of the number of passenger flights by 9.1%. Due to the use of larger aircraft and an improved passenger payload, the number of passengers per flight increased to 119 passengers per flight (+ 5.2%).

A remarkable fact is that the record set in July 2014 was achieved with no more than 19,533 passenger flights or 22% less flights than in the previous record month of July 2000 when 24,939 passenger flights were carried out with, on average, 90 passengers on board.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Le mois le plus chargé jamais enregistré à Brussels Airport : 2,3 millions de passagers

8 août 2014

Brussels Airport a clôturé le mois de juillet sur un record historique de 2,3 millions de passagers. Le record précédent remonte à juillet 2000 et a été dépassé de 86 000 voyageurs, soit 4 pour cent. À noter : ce record a été réalisé avec quelque 22 pour cent de vols passagers en moins qu’en juillet 2000.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company : « Pour Brussels Airport, clôturer le mois de juillet avec 2,3 millions de voyageurs, soit le mois le plus chargé de l’histoire de notre aéroport, est un moment particulier. Grâce au professionnalisme et à la passion des 20 000 personnes qui travaillent à Brussels Airport, l’aéroport a pu parfaitement gérer l’afflux des 74 000 passagers en moyenne par jour, départs et arrivées compris. Par exemple, aux heures de pointe, jusqu’à 1.300 passagers par demi-heure ont été traités au contrôle de sûreté avec un temps d’attente moyen d’à peine 5 minutes pour les voyageurs. »

Passagers
En juillet, le nombre de passagers augmente à nouveau d’un pourcentage à deux chiffres, à savoir 14,8 %. Cela représente 300 000 passagers de plus qu’en juillet de l’année dernière. En ce mois d’été, la croissance provient surtout du marché local, avec une augmentation de 17,0 %. Le marché des correspondances affiche également une forte hausse de 7,1 %. La fin de la Coupe du Monde de football et du Ramadan ainsi que la météo défavorable de la mi-juillet ont aussi donné des envies de voyage à de nombreux compatriotes, avec en corollaire une croissance supplémentaire au cours de la deuxième quinzaine de juillet.

Tous les segments de voyageurs contribuent à la croissance. Une bonne partie de l’augmentation du nombre de passagers concerne le segment low cost, le reste reposant essentiellement sur les bonnes performances de Brussels Airlines, avec une évolution très positive dans le trafic européen.

Fret
Le volume de fret transporté depuis Brussels Airport s’est stabilisé en juillet. Le fret à bord des avions passagers augmente de 7,4 % et confirme la tendance positive amorcée à la fin de l’année dernière. Le transport à bord d’avions-cargos reste sous pression partout dans le monde. Cette évolution est compensée par la croissance constante du trafic intégrateur (DHL). Avec une progression de 32 % pour le mois de juillet, elle s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la tendance à la hausse qui se poursuit depuis déjà 19 mois.

Vols
Le nombre de vols s’accroît de 8,6 %. Cette hausse s’explique surtout par une hausse de 9,1 % du nombre de vols passagers. L’utilisation de plus gros appareils et un taux d’occupation plus élevé se traduisent par une augmentation de 5,2 % du nombre de passagers par vol, passant à 119 passagers par vol.

Il est à noter que le record de juillet 2014 a été établi avec seulement 19 533 vols passagers, soit 22 % de moins qu’au moment du record précédent de juillet 2000. À l’époque, on avait dénombré 24 939 vols passagers, avec en moyenne 90 passagers à bord.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company