Brussels Airport: third record month in a row and excellent passenger figures in first semester

July 4, 2014

In June Brussels Airport welcomed 2,083,096 passengers. Never before, the month of June exceeded 2 million departing passengers. Over the first half of the year, Brussels Airport records an 11.8% growth in passenger numbers compared to last year, driven mainly by the increased offer. The number of aircraft movements increased at a slower pace than the number of passengers due to an improved average passenger payload per flight.

Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company: “The excellent figures of the past few months demonstrate that Brussels Airport remains the airport of choice of an increasing number of passengers. The many new destinations and the fact that a growing number of Belgians and passengers from neighbouring countries are in a mood to travel confirm Brussels Airport’s roll as barometer of the national economy.”

Passengers
With over 2 million passengers, June 2014 is the third record month in a row for Brussels Airport. The previous record of the year 2000 is once again broken, despite the industrial actions at Belgocontrol at the start of the holiday rush. Compared to last year, the number of passengers grew by 278,840 passengers, an increase by 15.5%.

Growth is recorded in all passenger segments, both local departing passengers (+13.1%) and transfer passengers (+17.5%).

Cargo
In June, the cargo volume flown through Brussels airport increased by 2.9% totalling to 37.262 tonnes; a growth that is less prominent than in the past few months. Around the world, the transport of cargo carried by full-freighters is still very much under pressure, whereas belly cargo volumes (cargo carried on board of passenger flights) are growing at a solid pace. This is no different at Brussels Airport with belly cargo up by 7.4%.

Integrator traffic too is doing well with an increase of 30.2%. Full-freighter volumes however show a decrease (-25.6%). The fact that different transportation modes are provided at BRUcargo constitutes one of its major assets and is essential for logistics companies to establish themselves firmly at the cargo airport and in Belgium.

Aircraft movements
Growth in aircraft movements (+8.4%) remains far below that of the passenger numbers. This is explained by the remarkable increase in the average number of passengers per passenger flight: 112 in June 2014 compared to 106 in June 2013. It also implies that the airport capacity is used more efficiently through the use of larger aircraft and an improved passenger payload. The average passenger payload increased from 73 to 75.5%.


First semester

For the whole of the first semester, Brussels Airport recorded a growth in passenger numbers of 11.8%. Growth has accelerated since the start of the summer season in April, driven by the opening of numerous new routes, including typical short-haul summer destinations and several long-haul destinations including the route to Washington and the new destination Charlotte (American Airlines) as well as by the additional capacity to African destinations (both Brussels Airlines). The use of larger aircraft by several airlines, including Jet Airways, THAI, Air Canada and United Airlines also contributes to the growth.

The number of low cost passengers has even doubled due to the strong growth Air Arabia Maroc, easyJet and Vueling and newcomer Ryanair (+100.1%).

The leisure segment on the contrary recorded negative growth on pcp. This is primarily due to the unstable political situation in Egypt, which normally is the most popular destination in winter and spring. The new routes of Jetairfly to Miami and Tel Aviv and of Thomas Cook to Split and Ajaccio, combined with the extra capacity on other markets including Spain, Italy, Portugal and Greece, compensated the drop in passenger traffic to Egypt as from the start of the summer season.

From January until June 2014 included, cargo grew by 6.0% to 223,310 tonnes of cargo carried. The drop in the full-cargo segment (-20.8%) is compensated by the growth in integrator traffic (+31.1%) and belly cargo (+11.5%), yet another positive sign for our economy.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : 3e mois record successif et excellent premier semestre en nombre de passagers

4 juillet 2014

En juin, Brussels Airport a accueilli 2.083.096 passagers. Jamais encore on n’avait franchi le cap des deux millions de voyageurs au départ au mois de juin, qui s’affirme d’emblée comme le troisième mois record successif. Suite notamment à une offre élargie, le premier semestre affiche une hausse de quelque 11,8 pour cent par rapport à l’an dernier. Vu le nombre accru de passagers par vol, l’augmentation du nombre de mouvements est inférieure à la progression du nombre de passagers.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company, commente ces résultats en ces termes  : “Les excellents chiffres des derniers mois le montrent, Brussels Airport reste l’aéroport préféré d’un nombre croissant de passagers. La multiplication des nouvelles destinations et l’humeur voyageuse toujours plus grande des Belges et des passagers provenant de nos pays voisins confirment le rôle de Brussels Airport en tant que baromètre de l’économie dans notre pays.”

Passagers
Avec plus de 2 millions de passagers en juin 2014, Brussels Airport signe ainsi son troisième mois record successif. Le record de l’an 2000 est à nouveau battu malgré l’action syndicale chez Belgocontrol au début des départs en vacances. Par rapport au mois de juin de l’an dernier, la hausse se chiffre à 278.840 passagers, soit 15,5%.

La croissance se manifeste dans tous les segments de passagers, à l’échelon des départs locaux (+13,1%) comme des passagers en transit (+17,5%).


Fret
Le mois de juin enregistre également une augmentation du volume de fret via Brussels Airport. La progression, soit 2,9% à 37.262 tonnes, reste toutefois en deçà de la croissance enregistrée les mois précédents. En matière de fret, la tendance mondiale est à la compression du tout cargo au bénéfice des appareils passagers (belly cargo), ce que reflètent également les chiffres de Bruxelles.

Le transport de fret à bord d’appareils passagers progresse de 7,4%. Le trafic intégrateur se montre lui aussi performant, avec une hausse de 30,2%. Les volumes tout cargo s’affichent en recul (-25,6%). L’offre de ces différents modes de transport représente l’un des points forts de BRUcargo et est indispensable en vue d’un ancrage des entreprises logistiques à l’aéroport de fret et en Belgique.

Mouvements
La hausse au niveau des mouvements, à savoir 8,4%, s’avère moins marquée. Ceci s’explique par la forte augmentation du nombre moyen de voyageurs par vol de passagers : 112 en juin 2014 contre 106 en juin de l’an dernier. Concrètement, cette évolution traduit une utilisation plus efficace de l’aéroport par la mise en œuvre d’avions de plus grande taille et un taux d‘occupation plus important. Le taux d’occupation moyen des avions a ainsi progressé de 73 à 75,5%.

Premier semestre

Pour l’ensemble du premier semestre, Brussels Airport a enregistré une croissance de 11,8% du nombre total de passagers. Cette croissance s’est accélérée depuis le début de la saison d’été et grâce aussi aux multiples nouvelles liaisons, dont diverses destinations estivales court courrier typiques et quelques nouvelles destinations long courrier, comme Washington, ainsi que la capacité accrue sur les destinations africaines (Brussels Airlines dans les deux cas), et par exemple aussi la nouvelle liaison sur Charlotte (American Airlines). La mise en service de plus gros appareils, notamment par Jet Airways, THAI, Air Canada et United Airlines, a également contribué à cette croissance.

Le nombre de passagers low cost a carrément doublé (+100,1%) grâce à la forte croissance d’Air Arabia Maroc, easyJet, Vueling et au nouveau venu Ryanair.

Le segment des compagnies aériennes loisir s’affiche par contre en baisse, due principalement à l’instabilité politique en Egypte, qui est en temps normal la destination la plus populaire en hiver et au printemps. Les nouvelles liaisons de Jetairfly sur Miami et Tel Aviv, et de Thomas Cook sur Split et Ajaccio, conjuguées à la capacité accrue sur d’autres marchés tels que l’Espagne, l’Italie, le Portugal et la Grèce, contribuent à compenser depuis le début de la saison d’été le recul du trafic à destination de l’Egypte.

De janvier à juin 2014, le cargo enregistre une hausse de 6,0% à 223.310 tonnes de fret transporté. Le recul observé dans le segment tout cargo (-20,8%) est compensé par la progression du trafic intégrateur (+31,1%) et le fret à bord d’appareils passagers (+11,5%). C’est là un nouveau signal positif pour notre économie.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company