Brussels Airport: traffic continues to break records in May

June 13, 2014

In May, Brussels Airport handled 1,997,697 passengers. With a total of nearly 2 million passengers, this is the second record-breaking month in a row for Brussels Airport. Such figures had not been seen since the historic record year 2000. Air cargo traffic too is performing well with a 7.4% increase on May 2013.

Arnaud Feist, CEO van Brussels Airport Company: “The strong growth in passenger and cargo traffic of the previous months is again confirmed in May. This illustrates the important synergies that exist between the passenger and cargo segments. Moreover growth is recorded in all passenger segments, in short-haul as well as long-haul, in O&D as well as transfer traffic.”

Passengers
With nearly 2 million passengers handled, May 2014 is the second all-time record-breaking month in a row for Brussels Airport. The historical record of the year 2000 is broken once again. The number of passengers grew by 278,000 passengers, an increase of 16.2% on May 2013.

Growth is recorded in all passenger segments, with originating passengers up 16.4% and transfer passengers up 18.5%. Moreover, both long-haul and intra-European traffic are showing growth. The most noticeable fact is the strong growth of short-stay leisure traffic, the city breaks.

Cargo
Cargo volumes at Brucargo too continue to grow. With 37,752 tonnes handled in May 2014, the cargo volume grew by 7.4% compared to last year. The recovery that began in October 2013 continues. Integrator traffic, e-commerce, the transportation of pharmaceuticals and perishables, in particular, are on the up.

BRUcargo handles and consolidates numerous cargo flows in Belgium. Part of the cargo is flown from Brussels Airport and part is trucked to other airports in neighbouring countries from where the cargo is flown to its final destination. Considering these two cargo flows put together as well as the economic value added and the number of jobs provided, Brussels Airport strengthens its position as the major cargo airport in Belgium.

Movements
With 21,361 flights, the number of movements recorded in May 2014 grew by 8.7% on May last year. Passenger flights increased by 9.9%, cargo flights by 4.7%.

Growth in the number of flights is considerably lower than growth in passenger numbers due to the increase of the average number of passengers per passenger flight (+5% compared to May 2013) and an improved average passenger load factor.

An increasing number of airlines use new-generation aircraft. After Qatar Airways and Jetairfly, Ethiopian Airlines is the third carrier at Brussels Airport to use a Boeing 787 (Dreamliner), which produces less noise and emits less carbon dioxide.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport enregistre à nouveau des chiffres records pour mai 2014

13 juin 2014

1.997.697 passagers ont transité par Brussels Airport en mai 2014. Avec ce total avoisinant les deux millions, c’est le deuxième mois consécutif où l’aéroport affiche un record. De tels résultats avaient alors été atteints en 2000. BRUcargo affiche de bons résultats également avec une croissance de 7,4% comparé à mai 2013.

Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company: « La forte croissance du trafic passagers et du cargo des mois précédents s’observe à nouveau en mai. Ceci illustre l’importante synergie existant entre le segment passagers et le segment cargo. De plus, ce sont tous les segments passagers qui progressent, aussi bien les courts que les longs courriers, le transport local ou les transferts ».

Passagers
Mai 2014 est le deuxième mois record consécutif pour Brussels Airport avec près de 2 millions de passagers. Le record de l’année 2000 est dès lors franchi. Nous observons 278.000 passagers de plus par rapport à mai de l’année passée, soit une hausse 16,2%.
C’est l’ensemble des segments passagers qui affichent une croissance. Le transport local avec +16,4% et le transfert de passagers (+18,5%) mais aussi les vols longues-distances et les vols intra-européens. La forte croissance des voyages de loisirs pour de courtes périodes et les city trips est particulièrement notoire.

Fret
Le transport de fret à Brucargo continue également sa croissance. Avec 37.752 tonnes transportées, le transport cargo a connu une augmentation de 7,4% par rapport à mai 2013. Cette tendance à la hausse a débuté en octobre 2013. C’est le transport par intégrateur, l’e-commerce, le transport pharmaceutique et de biens périssables qui guident cette tendance à la hausse.

BRUcargo gère et draine un important volume de marchandises. Une partie du fret est transporté par avion via Brussels Airport et une autre partie via la route vers d'autres aéroports des pays limitrophes d’où ils volent vers leur destination finale. Sur base de ces deux flux de marchandises, mais aussi sur base de la valeur économique ajoutée et du nombre d’emplois, Brussels Airport renforce sa position de plus grand aéroport cargo de Belgique.


Vols
Le nombre de vols a connu une croissance de 8,7% par rapport à mai 2013 avec 21.361 vols en mai 2014. Les vols passagers affichent une hausse de 9,9% et le transport de marchandises de 4,7%.

L'augmentation du nombre de vols reste nettement inférieure à la croissance des passagers grâce à l'augmentation du nombre moyen de passagers par vol (+5% par rapport à mai 2013) et à l'occupation moyenne par avion plus élevée.

De plus en plus de compagnies se tournent vers des appareils de nouvelle génération. Après Qatar Airways et Jetairfly, c’est au tour d’Ethiopian Airlines de voler depuis Brussels Airport avec le Boeing 787 (Dreamliner) qui génère beaucoup moins de bruit et d’émissions.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company