Brussels Airport opts for Newrest-Servair joint venture for catering transport

June 5, 2014

Brussels Airport has completed its selection procedure to award the second licence for catering transport. The Newrest-Servair joint venture meets the set criteria and will be granted a licence to operate on the airport tarmac.

The selection procedure was started at the end of 2013 as a consequence of the takeover of Gate Gourmet Belgium by LSG Sky Chefs Belgium. This meant that only one handler was active in catering transport at the airport, and so there was a legal obligation to appoint a second supplier of this service.

The Newrest-Servair joint venture meets the strict requirements and selection criteria for obtaining a licence. This relates to, among other things, knowledge of the procedures for catering transport and risk management during the performance of this activity on the airport site.
Brussels Airport analysed various operational and logistical elements proposed by the joint venture, which will optimise the transport and increase levels of efficiency and safety. Account was also taken of the impact on the environment, as applies to every partnership that Brussels Airport enters into.

The Newrest-Servair joint venture will start its operations at Brussels Airport as soon as possible.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport choisit la joint Venture Newrest-Servair pour le transport des repas de bord

5 juin 2014

Brussels Airport est arrivé au terme de la procédure de sélection de son second gestionnaire de transport de repas à bord. La joint venture Newrest-Servair répond aux conditions et pourra opérer sur le tarmac de l’aéroport.

L’appel d’offre fut lancé fin 2013, suite à la reprise par LSG Sky Chefs Belgium de Gate Gourmet Belgium le 31 octobre 2013. En effet, l’aéroport ne disposait plus que d’un seul gestionnaire de service de transport de catering et il relevait d’impératifs juridiques de désigner un second prestataire pour ce type de services.

La joint venture  Newrest-Servair, répondait aux exigences et aux critères de sélection stricts en matière de connaissance des procédures pour le transport de catering et de gestion des risques lors d’activité sur le domaine aéroportuaire.

Brussels Airport a pris en considération certains aspects opérationnels et logistiques proposés par la joint venture et permettant d’optimaliser le transport, d’accroître la rapidité  et  des critères de sécurité et d’organisation optimales.  La limitation de l’impact sur l’environnement est également une donnée omniprésente dans tous les partenariats de l’entreprise et ceci était également un point fort de la joint venture retenue.

La joint venture Newrest-Servair entamera ses opérations à Brussels Airport dès que possible.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company