Brussels Airport expects record passenger numbers during Easter holiday rush

March 24, 2014

Tips for a carefree holiday

Brussels Airport expects an exceptionally busy Easter holiday rush.  The first weekend of the Easter holidays promises to be busy and the same goes for the working days preceding it.
The airport authority has listed a few tips for a carefree start of your plane trip.

These are the expected numbers of departing* passengers for the busiest days:
Wednesday 2 April: 33,500
Thursday 3 April: 34,500
Friday 4 April: 38,000
Saturday 5 April: 33,500
Sunday 6 April: 39,000
Monday 7 April: 37,000
Tuesday 8 April: 32,600
The number of arriving passengers is usually comparable to the number of departing passengers. 
At the end of the month of April, in the run-up to the 1 May holiday, we expect another few peak days. The planning for both Friday 25 April and Sunday 27 April already shows 38,000 departing passengers.

The airport disposes of an advanced planning tool to forecast the number of departing passengers. The tool uses the number of known flight bookings and weighs it against historical data and a set of variables.  It is important that the forecast should be as precise as possible as it helps our various partners and services to draw up a detailed staff planning, from the staff in the coffee bars to the agents at the security screening. 

Although the airport capacity is calculated to handle large passenger numbers, it can be very busy at peak hours.  Passengers are advised to come to the airport well ahead of their scheduled departure time, especially when they are leaving in the morning. The EU recommends passengers to arrive at check-in three hours in advance of their departure time for intercontinental flights, two hours in advance for intra-European flights. 
Brussels Airport would like to remind passengers of the security rules regarding liquids and gels.  Liquids are only allowed into the cabin under very strict conditions. Detailed information is available on the Brussels Airport website.
Bottled or canned drinks may be carried in the hold baggage, but are not allowed into the hand baggage.  Personal care products in containers of more than 100 ml (sun creams, shampoo, toothpaste shaving cream…) are often overlooked by passengers when they are packing their hand baggage for a short holiday. During previous holidays on average 400 to 500 liters of products that are not allowed into the cabin had to be confiscated.

Exceptions apply to liquid medicines and baby food, as well as to liquids purchased in the tax-free shops at the airport.  Europe recently eased the rules for passengers travelling to a European airport from outside the European Union, but for passengers departing from our country the same restrictions apply as before.

The airport authority also listed a few practical tips for the holiday rush:

  • Check the expiry date of your passport and visa
  • Remember that children too need to have an identity card or passport
  • Check the weight and volume of your hold and cabin baggage. Keep to the baggage restrictions mentioned on your ticket.
  • Watch out for pickpockets in busy places such as airports, trains stations and markets.
  • Take special care when travelling with children: walkalators, escalators and trolleys are not intended to be used as toys
  • Major construction works at the airport may cause some nuisance. Brussels Airport apologises for the inconvenience.
  • Over the past few months, part of the airport was given a thorough makeover. Check the offer of the new restaurants and bars!
  • Since early March passengers can call in the help of the Airport Crew. A team of 20 specialised colleagues will help them find their way around the terminal and guide them to get through security faster (remove laptops from their case, rules regarding 'liquids and gels' …).
  • The passenger pick-up and drop-off area is located in front of the departures hall.  Cars may not be left unattended, not even for a few minutes. Drivers who wish to accompany the people they drop off in the terminal are requested to park in one of the car parks opposite the terminal.

The airport website gives an overview of the parking rates that apply in the different car parks and provides an online booking tool. Early booking is recommended especially for the cheaper parking formulas. The discount car park at Brucargo is already receiving bookings for the summer vacation.

The start of the Easter period will not go unnoticed. Extensive Easter decorations and a large offer of chocolate articles and activities in cooperation with the major chocolate confectioners stress the fact that nowhere in the world more chocolate is sold under one roof than at Brussels Airport.  Especially during the Easter and Christmas periods, chocolate sales are breaking records.

During the Easter holidays, sunny destinations and city trips are particularly popular.  For details and trends we gladly refer to the press services of the airlines in question, including Brussels Airlines, JetairFly and Thomas Cook Airline

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport s'attend à une affluence record pour l'exode pascal

24 mars 2014

Quelques conseils pour des vacances sans soucis

Brussels Airport s'attend à une affluence exceptionnelle à l'occasion de l'exode pascal. Le premier week-end des vacances, mais aussi les jours qui le précèdent seront fort chargés. Voici quelques conseils de l'aéroport pour débuter sans soucis les vacances en avion.
 
Le nombre de passagers attendus au départ, pour les jours les plus fréquentés des prochaines vacances, est le suivant:
 
Mercredi 2 avril : 33.500
Jeudi 3 avril : 34.500
Vendredi 4 avril : 38.000
Samedi 5 avril : 33.500
Dimanche 6 avril : 39.000
Lundi 7 avril : 37.000
Mardi 8 avril : 32.600
 
Ces données concernent les passagers partant. Le nombre de passagers arrivant est généralement comparable. 
 
Fin avril également, on prévoit quelques jours de forte fréquentation à l'occasion des vacances du 1 mai. Le planning pour le vendredi 25 avril et le dimanche 27 avril indique déjà une prévision de plus de 38.000 passagers au départ.

L'aéroport dispose d'un système pointu de planification qui permet d'estimer le nombre de passagers partant. Les données prévisionnelles des grands organismes de réservation de voyage sont pondérées à l'aide de données historiques et de nombreuses autres variables. Une prévision la plus précise possible constitue une aide précieuse au planning du personnel des différents services et entreprises, allant du contrôle de sûreté aux coffee shops.

La capacité de l'aéroport permet d'accueillir de grands nombres de passagers, ce qui n'empêche toutefois pas une très forte affluence aux heures de pointe.  Aux passagers dont le départ se situe en matinée, il est particulièrement conseillé d'arriver bien à temps à l'aéroport. Les recommandations européennes prévoient en la matière un délai de trois heures avant le départ pour un vol intercontinental et de deux heures pour un vol européen.
 
Brussels Airport rappelle l'existence de règles de sûreté concernant les liquides et les gels. Ceux-ci ne sont admis dans la cabine de l'avion qu'à des conditions très restrictives. Une information détaillée est disponible sur le site web de Brussels Airport.
 
Les boissons en bouteille ou en cannette peuvent être transportées dans les bagages de soute mais n'ont pas leur place dans les bagages à main. En bouclant sa valise, le passager partant pour de courtes vacances perd souvent de vue les restrictions pesant également sur les produits de toilette (tels crème solaire, shampooing, dentifrice, mousse à raser, …) d'un volume de plus de 100ml par emballage. Au cours des périodes de vacances précédentes, le contrôle de sûreté a dû saisir quotidiennement en moyenne 400 à 500 litres de produits qui ne pouvaient pas être emportés dans la cabine de l'avion.

Des exceptions sont d'application pour les médicaments liquides et l'alimentation pour bébés, ainsi que pour les produits achetés dans les magasins hors taxe de l'aéroport.

L'Union Européenne a assoupli récemment la réglementation visant les passagers voyageant depuis un pays hors Europe à destination d'un pays de l'Union, mais les passagers au départ de la Belgique restent soumis à des restrictions qui, dans les grandes lignes, restent identiques à celles en vigueur au cours des dernières années.

L'aéroport rappelle quelques conseils pratiques pour le départ en vacances:

  • Vérifier la date de validité des passeports et visas
  • Les enfants également doivent disposer d'une carte d'identité
  • Pensez aux limites de poids et de volume de vos bagages de soute et de cabine.
  • Tenez-vous aux recommandations mentionnées sur le billet d'avion.
  • Méfiez-vous des pickpockets pendant vos vacances dans tous les lieux à haute fréquentation, tels les aéroports, les gares, ou les marchés.
  • Surveillez vos petits passagers: les tapis roulants, les escalators et les chariots à bagages ne sont pas des jouets.
  • Les importants travaux de construction, en cours actuellement à l'aéroport, peuvent causer des désagréments. Brussels Airport vous pire de l'en excuser.
  • Au cours des derniers mois, une partie de l'aéroport a fait l'objet de profondes modifications. Découvrez l'offre de nouveaux restaurants et bars!
  • Depuis le début du mois de mars, les passagers peuvent s'adresser aux membres de Airport Crew, une équipe de 20 collègues spécialisés disponibles pour des informations dans le hall de départ et en d'autres lieux du terminal, et pour faciliter le passage au contrôle de sûreté (règles concernant les liquides et les gels, obligation de sortir son laptop de son sac, …).
  • Les automobilistes peuvent déposer ou prendre en charge leurs passagers devant le terminal au niveau 'départs', à la condition qu'ils n'abandonnent leur véhicule à aucun moment. Les passagers qui souhaitent quitter leur véhicule ont tout loisir de garer le garer dans un des nombreux parkings en face du terminal.


Le site web de l'aéroport donne un aperçu des tarifs des différents parkings et permet de réserver un emplacement. Pour les formules les plus avantageuses, il est conseillé de réserver bien à l'avance. Ainsi, les réservations pour les vacances d'été au discount parking de Brucargo sont déjà nombreuses. 

Les passagers auront déjà pu remarquer que Pâques approche à grands pas. La décoration sur le thème pascal, l'offre étendue d'articles en chocolat et les activités organisées avec la collaboration des grands producteurs de chocolat belges soulignent le fait que nulle part ailleurs au monde on vend autant de chocolat sous un même toit qu'à Brussels Airport. Pendant les périodes de Pâques et de fin d'année, tout particulièrement, des quantités record sont achetées dans les boutiques.  

Pendant la période pascale les destinations ensoleillées et les citytrips ont beaucoup de succès.  Pour plus de précisions et de tendances, nous vous renvoyons vers les services de presse des compagnies aériennes concernées, telles Brussels Airlines, JetairFly et Thomas Cook Airlines.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company