Brussels Airport: strong growth continues through February

March 11, 2014

In February Brussels Airport recorded a 3.1% growth in passenger numbers compared to February 2013. Growth was tempered by the particularities of the calendar: in 2014 the half-term holiday rush was spread over February and the first days of March, whereas last year it took place entirely in February. Growth in February was strongest in the transfer segment which increased by over 25%.

Growth in passenger figures was driven mainly by the intra-European scheduled services segment, a segment in which Brussels Airlines is doing particularly well. Low-fare too is performing strongly. The start of Ryanair’s operations out of Brussels in the last two days of February already has a limited impact on this result. Long-haul traffic too continues to grow in February. 

Aircraft movements
While the number of flights decreases by 1.7% the number of seats offered remains all but status quo. Growth in passenger numbers is once again sustained by the use of larger aircraft and a considerable improvement of the load factor.

In February too cargo figures continue to recover with a growth of over 8% on the previous corresponding period. Growth is driven mainly by the strong performance of DHL. Belly cargo on board of passenger aircraft too is recovering. Full-freighter airlines however are still suffering from the crisis and the lower cargo prices and continue to cut flights.

The network from Brussels Airport for the 2014 summer season includes 15 new destinations. Never before were so many new destinations opened in one year’s time. The number of passenger destinations now totals 204.
New trans-Atlantic destinations include Charlotte and Miami, and in Europe London Gatwick, Newcastle, Bari, Cagliari, Venice/Treviso, Montpellier, Seville, Santiago de Compostela, Gdansk, Krakow, Wroclaw, Thessaloniki and Split.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: persistance de la forte croissance en février

11 mars 2014

Pour le mois de février le nombre de passagers fréquentant Brussels Airport enregistre une croissance de 3,1% par rapport à février 2013. Cette croissance est atténuée par les aléas du calendrier: les départs en vacances de carnaval se sont étalés de fin février à début mars, alors que l’année dernière ils étaient comptabilisés entièrement en février. La croissance de février se concentre surtout dans le segment des transferts, où elle dépasse les 25%.

Passagers
La hausse la plus forte est notée dans le segment des lignes régulières européennes, marqué principalement par la croissance de Brussels Airlines. Le transport à bas coûts enregistre également un bon score, auquel le lancement des opérations de Ryanair au cours des deux derniers jours du mois a contribué modestement. La croissance du transport long-courrier se poursuit elle aussi en février.

Vols
Le nombre de vols diminue de 1,7% alors que l’offre de sièges reste quasi inchangée. Une fois de plus la croissance du nombre de passagers et du fret s’accompagne de la mise en service d’appareils plus grands et d’une amélioration substantielle du taux d’occupation.

Fret
Les chiffres concernant le fret indiquent, en février également, la poursuite d’une reprise, notant en hausse de plus de 8% par rapport à février de l’année dernière. Cette croissance est due principalement aux bonnes performances de DHL. Le fret transporté à bord des vols passagers augmente également. Toutefois, les compagnies cargo subissent toujours les effets de la crise et de la baisse des prix de transport de fret, et continuent à réduire le nombre de leurs vols.

Réseau
Pour la saison d’été 2014 Brussels Airport propose 15 nouvelles destinations. Jamais auparavant on n’y avait ouvert autant de nouvelles dessertes en un an. Les passagers auront ainsi le choix entre 204 destinations. Charlotte et Miami sont de nouvelles destinations transatlantiques, tandis qu’en Europe s’ouvrent les destinations suivantes: Londres Gatwick, Newcastle, Bari, Cagliari, Venise/Trévise, Montpellier, Séville, Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, Gdansk, Cracovie, Wroclaw, Thessalonique et Split.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company