Brussels Airport: strong start of 2014

February 10, 2014
  • 6.1% growth in January, both for passengers and cargo

In the course of the month of January, Brussels Airport handled 1,214,897 passengers, up 6.1% on January 2013. With this result, the airport once again records strong growth.

Passengers
Passenger growth in January is in line with the earlier growth of 6.2% registered in December 2013. Part of the growth can be attributed to the favourable temperatures compared to those last winter.

Strongest growth in January was recorded in the intra-European scheduled services segment, where Brussels Airlines in particular put down a strong performance, as well as in the low-fare segment. Long-haul too recorded positive growth, and here too Brussels Airlines sets the trend.

Aircraft movements
The number of movements increases slightly in January, driven mainly by the non-commercial traffic.  The number of passenger flights decreases slightly in line with the use of larger aircraft and an improved passenger payload. The number of cargo flights on the other hand increases by 6%.

Cargo
With 34,613 tonnes of cargo carried and a 6.1% growth, the positive trend of the last months of 2013 continues in January.  Within the full-freighter segment, integrator traffic in particular is doing very well. Belly cargo on board of passenger aircraft too recovered strongly in the past few months, a trend that is confirmed at the start of 2014.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : 2014 démarre sur les chapeaux de roues

10 février 2014
  • Au mois de janvier, la société affiche une croissance de 6,1 %, tant pour les passagers que pour le fret

Au cours du mois de janvier, 1 214 897 passagers ont eu recours aux services de Brussels Airport. Une augmentation de 6,1 % qui représente de nouveau une forte progression pour l’aéroport.

Passagers
L’augmentation du nombre de passagers au mois de janvier est comparable à la croissance antérieure de 6,2 % notée en décembre 2013. Une part de cette croissance peut être attribuée aux températures clémentes par rapport à l’hiver dernier.

C’est le segment des lignes européennes régulières qui enregistre la meilleure progression pour le mois de janvier. Brussels Airlines, tout comme les vols low-cost, ont fortement le vent en poupe. Les vols long-courriers affichent également de jolis résultats, et Brussels Airlines est ici aussi en tête.

Vols
Le nombre de vols a légèrement augmenté au mois de janvier. Une hausse qui se situe principalement dans le secteur des vols non commerciaux. Le nombre de vols de passagers a enregistré une faible baisse en raison de la plus grande taille des appareils et d’un taux d’occupation plus élevé, et le nombre de vols de fret a affiché une progression de 6 %.

Fret
Avec 34 613 tonnes et une croissance de 6,1 %, Brussels Airport poursuit au mois de janvier son évolution positive entamée au cours des derniers mois de 2013. Dans le segment des vols de transport de fret, c’est le trafic intégrateur qui enregistre les meilleurs résultats. Le fret transporté à bord d’avions de passagers s’est fortement rétabli ces derniers mois. Une tendance qui s’est confirmée en ce début d’année.


 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company