Strong increase in passenger and cargo traffic in December 2013 - fourth consecutive year of growth

January 10, 2014

Strong growth in passenger numbers
In the last month of 2013, Brussels Airport recorded a 6.2% increase in passenger numbers, yet another a clear sign that aviation is recovering. In December Brussels Airport handled over 1.3 million passengers. Long-haul, intra-European scheduled services and low fare in particular contributed to this strong result.

“After an exceptional month of December and with a 0.9% increase in passenger numbers in 2013, Brussels Airport has achieved its best result since 2001. With this growth figure, Brussels Airport is even expected to outperform average growth rates at the major European airports”, explains Arnaud Feist, CEO of Brussels Airport Company.

In 2013 Brussels Airport welcomed 19.133 million passengers against 18.971 million passengers in 2012. Growth was driven especially by the low fare segment and intra-European scheduled services. Intercontinental traffic recovered in the second half of 2013.

Decrease in the number of aircraft movements
In spite of increasing passenger numbers, the number of aircraft movements in 2013 remained fairly constant.

However, over the whole of 2013, passenger growth was coupled with a decrease in the number of aircraft movements. Brussels Airport recorded 216,678 flights, down 3.4% on 2012. In the span of one year, the average number of passengers per flight increased from 98 to 102, leading to an improved average payload factor of 72.1% against 70.9% in 2012.

Cargo: strong 4th quarter due to e-commerce, perishables and pharmaceuticals
Brussels Airport recorded a 9.4% growth in cargo volumes despite the discontinuation of several full-freighter services.

Over the whole of 2013, Brussels Airport handled 430,000 tonnes of cargo, down 6.4% on 2012.  Where in the first half of the year Brucargo was hit heavily by the global decline in air cargo and the economic crisis in general, the past few months showed signs of strong recovery. In the fourth quarter of 2013, cargo traffic was up 6.8% on the corresponding period of 2012. The highest growth figures were achieved in the transport of e-commerce, perishables and pharmaceuticals. Cargo volumes carried by DHL have increased significantly due to the use of larger aircraft, an improved payload factor and the opening of new intercontinental routes.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Forte progression du trafic en décembre 2013 - Croissance pour la 4éme année consécutive

10 janvier 2014

Forte croissance du nombre de passagers
Au cours du dernier mois de 2013 Brussels Airport a noté une forte hausse de 6,2% du transport de passagers, ce qui constitue un nouveau signe évident de reprise dans le secteur aérien. On dénombrait en décembre plus de 1,3 million de passagers. Le transport long-courrier, les lignes régulières européennes et le low fare ont particulièrement contribué à cette forte croissance.

“Après un mois de décembre exceptionnel, Brussels Airport clôture l’année 2013 sur un progrès de 0,9% du nombre de passagers, les meilleurs résultats depuis 2001. Grâce à cette croissance, Brussels Airport fait même un peu mieux que la moyenne escomptée des grands aéroports européens», déclare Arnaud Feist, CEO de Brussels Airport Company.

En 2013 Brussels Airport a accueilli 19,13 millions de passagers, contre 18,97 millions en 2012.
Le segment low fare et les lignes régulières européennes s’inscrivent particulièrement en hausse. Pour le trafic intercontinental, la croissance s’est rétablie au cours du deuxième semestre de 2013.

Baisse du nombre de mouvements d’avion
Malgré la croissance du nombre de passagers, le nombre de mouvements restait relativement constant en décembre 2013.

Sur l’ensemble de l’année, la hausse du nombre de passagers s’est accompagnée d’une baisse du nombre de mouvements d’avion. Brussels Airport a enregistré 216.678 vols en 2013, en baisse de 3,4%. Le nombre moyen de passagers à bord des avions a augmenté en un an de 98 à 102 par vol. Cette amélioration se traduit par un taux d’occupation moyen plus élevé, qui passe de 70,9% à 72,1%.

Fret: l’e-commerce, les produits périssables et les produits pharmaceutiques ont boosté la fin de l’année
Brussels Airport a noté en décembre une croissance de 9,4% du volume de fret transporté, malgré la suppression d’un nombre de vols cargo.

Brussels Airport a traité un total de 430.000 tonnes de fret en 2013. Sur l’ensemble de l’année, ceci représente une baisse de 6,4%. Alors que Brucargo était fortement touché au premier semestre par le malaise mondial du secteur aérien et de l’économie en général, les derniers mois de l’année ont été marqués par une forte reprise. Au quatrième trimestre de 2013, on constate une hausse de 6,8% par rapport au quatrième trimestre de 2012. Les meilleures prestations ont été notées dans le transport pour l’e-commerce et celui de produits périssables, de même que dans le transport de produits pharmaceutiques. DHL a transporté significativement plus de fret grâce à l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands, un meilleur taux de chargement et quelques nouvelles destinations intercontinentales.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company