1.8 million passengers in June – positive growth in first semester

July 9, 2013

Passengers
In June Brussels Airport welcomed over 1.8 million passengers. Home carriers Brussels Airlines, Thomas Cook Airlines and Jetairfly each recorded strong growth. Brussels Airlines is strengthening its position in the long-haul segment due to its Africa network and the success of its route to New York which celebrated its first anniversary in June. Brussels Airlines added a second trans-Atlantic route to its network: since June they are also operating flights to Washington DC. Growth was also recorded in the short-haul segment.

Leisure and low fare also performed well. Jetairfly and Thomas Cook Airlines reported nice growth rates. In spite of the economic uncertainty, Belgians continue to travel to sunnier destinations. Greece and Spain are the fastest growing destinations. At the end of June Thomas Cook Airlines launched new routes to Reykjavik and Bastia and as of November Jetairfly will start operating direct flights to Ras al-Khaimah. In de low-fare segment growth is driven mainly by the new routes to Alicante and Malaga operated by Vueling.

Movements
The number of aircraft movements decreased by 3.4% in June in spite of the growth in passenger numbers. This is largely attributed to the improved load factor of the planes.

Cargo
Cargo traffic was down by nearly 12% on the previous corresponding period. The strong decline of world air cargo traffic manifests itself at Brussels Airport through a decline of the volumes carried on passenger and full-freighter flights. This is partly compensated by the ongoing strong growth of cargo volumes carried on integrator flights (+7%). But there’s good news too. In the beginning of June Singapore Airlines launched a weekly, direct service to South-Africa and Magma Aviation started a new route to Lomé.  These two new routes strengthen Brussels Airport’s position on the African market.

First semester
In the first six months of the year Brussels Airport recorded a slight growth of 0.4%, a good result considering the ongoing economic uncertainty. New routes and improved load factors contribute to positive traffic figures in the short-haul and leisure segments. In the long-haul segment a decrease was reported that can be attributed to the discontinuation of Chennai-JFK route via Brussels Airport and the fact that American Airlines stopped its activities at Brussels. If we leave out these factors, long haul is showing positive growth.

In the cargo segment a decrease of nearly 12.8% was recorded. Traditionally, air cargo is the first segment to suffer from an economic recession. Brussels Airport has been hit harder by the crisis than other European airports. The major cause of this is the discrepancy between the federal legislation with regard to flight routes and the noise standards imposed on a regional level. Foreign carriers that wish to avoid the fines more often choose to operate from airports in our neighbouring countries. Especially when it comes to cargo traffic, this compromises the ambitions of Brussels Airport. Moreover, each choice for a foreign airport is a missed opportunity for employment in Belgium.


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

1,8 million de passagers en juin et bilan positif pour le premier semestre

9 juillet 2013

Passagers
En juin, Brussels Airport a accueilli plus d’1,8 million de passagers. Les compagnies belges, Brussels Airlines, Thomas Cook Airlines et Jetairfly, ont noté chacune une forte croissance.  Brussels Airlines continue sa croissance sur les vols long-courriers grâce à ses vols vers l’Afrique et au succès de sa liaison vers New York inaugurée il y a un an. En juin Brussels Airlines a élargi son offre avec une deuxième liaison transatlantique vers  Washington DC. Une croissance a également été enregistrée pour les vols court-courriers.

Les segments des vols de vacanciers et des vols à bas prix ont également fait preuve de belles performances. Jetairfly et Thomas Cook Airlines affichent une belle croissance. Malgré l’incertitude économique actuelle, le Belge tient à ses vacances au soleil. Les destinations les plus populaires sont la Grèce et l’Espagne. Fin juin, Thomas Cook Airlines a ouvert deux nouvelles liaisons vers Reykjavik et Bastia et à partir de novembre, Jetairfly opérera des vols directs vers Ras al-Khaima. Dans le segment des vols à bas prix la croissance a été stimulée entre autre par l’ouverture par Vueling de nouvelles routes vers Alicante et Malaga.

Mouvements d’avion
Le nombre de vols a diminué de 3,4% en juin malgré la hausse du nombre de passagers. Ceci s’explique principalement par une amélioration du taux d’occupation de la capacité offerte en sièges.

Fret
Le trafic de fret a enregistré une croissance négative de presque -12% par rapport à juin 2012.  La forte baisse du trafic cargo au niveau mondial en raison de la crise économique s’est traduit à Brussels Airport  par une chute des volumes sur les vols tout cargo et passagers. Cette baisse est partiellement compensée par la forte croissance continue des volumes transportés à bord des vols intégrateurs (+7%). Mais il y a aussi des bonnes nouvelles. Fin juin, le réseau desservi au départ de Brussels Airport a été élargi par un vol hebdomadaire direct vers l’Afrique du sud, opéré par Singapore Airlines et fin juin, Magma Aviation a lancé une nouvelle route vers Lomé. Ces deux nouvelles liaisons renforcent la position de Brussels Airport sur le marché des vols vers et au départ de l’Afrique.

Premier semestre
Dans les six premiers mois de 2013, Brussels Airport a enregistré une légère croissance de 0,4%, une bonne performance en dépit de l’incertitude économique persistante. Les nouvelles routes et l’amélioration du taux d’occupation des avions contribuent à la belle croissance dans les segments du court courrier et des vols de vacanciers. La baisse enregistrée dans le segment des vols long-courriers s’explique par la suppression de la liaison Chennai-JFK via Brussels Airport et l’arrêt des activités d’American Airlines à Bruxelles. Abstraction faite de ces facteurs, on note une croissance dans le segment du trafic long-courrier.

Sur le plan du fret, une baisse de presque 12,8% a été enregistrée. Traditionnellement le segment du fret aérien est le premier à être touché par un ralentissement économique. Brussels Airport est plus affecté par la crise économique que les autres aéroports européens. La principale cause en est la contradiction entre les directives fédérales relatives aux itinéraires de vol et les normes de bruit imposées sur le plan régional. Les compagnies aériennes étrangères, souhaitant éviter des amendes, optent plus souvent pour un aéroport dans nos pays voisins. Sur le plan du trafic cargo en particulier ceci compromet les ambitions de Brussels Airport. De plus, le choix pour un aéroport étranger est une occasion manquée pour l’emploi en Belgique.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company