Summer holiday rush at Brussels Airport

June 25, 2013

Thursday 27 June will see the start of the summer holiday rush. As always, the rush begins a few days before the actual start of the summer holidays. This year too, July and August will be the busiest months of the year at the airport. Brussels Airport is designed and ready to deal with peak passenger flows but the next two months will be very busy particularly in the mornings.    

An overview of the number of departing passengers (*) for the next few days.

Thursday 27 June 36,000
Friday 28 June 40,000
Saturday 29 June 33,000
Sunday 30 June 37,000
Monday 1 July 41,000
Tuesday 2 July 38,000
Wednesday 3 July 39,000
Thursday 4 July 39,000
Friday 5 July 40,000

(*) Throughout July, the number of arriving passengers too will be around 35,000 a day.

Exceptionally, the busiest departure day is not the last Friday of June (Friday 29 June 2012 was the busiest day in the history of Brussels Airport with 43,000 departing passengers): Monday 1 July is expected to be slightly busier. On the other hand, the number of departing passengers in the first week of July are higher than last year. Whereas a peak day of 30,000 departing passengers was exceptional a few years back, we are now recording no less than 17 days with over 35,000 passengers and two days with over 40,000. Contrary to what most people think, Saturday is not the busiest but rather the calmest departure day of the week during the summer months.

In anticipation of the expected rush, Brussels Airport issues the following tips and recommendations to facilitate the start of the holidays.

Leave for the airport well ahead of your departure time
Arriving at the airport well ahead of their scheduled departure time remains the principal advice given to holidaymakers.Travellers are responsible themselves to take the necessary precautions to arrive at the airport in time for check-in. The advice given may vary from airline to airline. However, the European Commission advises passengers to arrive at the check-in desk two hours in advance of their departure time for short-haul flights and three hours for long-haul flights. This buffer time is not only for security reasons. During peak hours, the extra time is necessary to find a parking space, for queuing at the ticketing and check-in desks, for border control and security screening and for embarking. As from 4 o’clock in the morning until past noon, the departures hall will be extremely busy. This may also be the case in the late afternoon.

Information on your smartphone
A practical free app guides passengers from their point of departure to the airport, helps them plan their journey and guides them through the various activities at the airport, from the check-in desk to their gate. The app also provides real-time queuing times at security screening in both pier A and pier B. The app is available for iPhone and Android, Apart from the English language version, there’s now also a Chinese version.

Dropping off and picking up passengers
During the summer months the arrivals curb remains closed for works. People who drop off departing passengers at the airport as well as friends or relatives who come to pick up passengers, will have to do so from the departures level. However, this implies that the passengers in question step in or out of the car immediately and that the car drives on without any delay. Parking is strictly forbidden on the departures curb. The police are keeping an eye on things.

If you wish to take your time to say goodbye to a passenger or to welcome them, or to accompany them in the terminal, you had best park your car in one of the airport car parks.  Brussels Airport provides some 12,000 parking spaces opposite the terminal building.

The airport provides a wide range of parking solutions. Some of these are close to the terminal, others are remote car parks with free shuttle service. Some are recommended for long stays, others for short stays. More information is available on this website.

For those in search of the cheapest parking solution, Interparking last year opened the Discount Parking at Brucargo. The open-air car park with free shuttle service is recommended for longer stays. One week parking is available as from € 39 a week.
Details and tariffs for all car parks are available here.

Liquids and gels
Since November 2006, Europe restricts the quantity of liquids and gels carried in the hand baggage. These rules continue to apply. Liquids, gels, foams or pastes and other items of a similar consistency are allowed in the hold baggage (which you check in) but are strictly limited in the hand baggage. Any liquids or gels you do wish to carry into the cabin should be held in containers of maximum 100ml and have to be presented to the screening staff in a re-sealable transparent plastic bag of 20x20 cm, freezer bag type.

This restriction also applies to spreadable products including chocolate spread, peanut butter, soft cheeses or goose liver pate.

For convenience reasons, Brussels Airport advises passengers not to carry any liquid or gel-like items in their hand baggage if the use thereof in the aircraft cabin is not absolutely necessary.

This restriction does not apply to tax-free goods: these may also be carried on board in larger volumes because they were thoroughly screened before they arrived in the airport shops. The tax-free goods will be put into a sealed plastic bag. The seal may not be broken until you reach your final destination. Water and other non-alcoholic drinks that were purchased beyond the security screening point may also be carried on board.

Neither does the restriction apply to liquid medicine and care products that are necessary for the care of a baby or toddler during the flight.

Every day about 500 kilograms of liquids and gels are confiscated during the screening of hand baggage. Containers that have already been opened are destroyed; unopened containers are donated to good causes. Spirits and alcoholic drinks are sold to an auctioneer’s and the proceeds are donated to a number of orphanages.  

Other prohibited items
As before, certain items are prohibited in the aircraft cabin. Objects with a sharp point or edge (especially knives and scissors) and any object that can be used as a weapon (hammer, clubs) or to restrain someone (rope, adhesive tape) are not allowed in the hand baggage. Other items are not allowed anywhere on the aircraft: flammable, corrosive, radioactive, toxic or explosive items. More details are available on the airport website.

Quick check-in
No more queuing at check-in with thousands of other departing passengers. Technology is helping us to check in more quickly. With some airlines over half of the passengers use the electronic self check-in systems.

Most airlines offer internet check-in. As from 24 hours before your scheduled departure time you can print a boarding pass from the website through which you bought your air ticket. If you only carry hand baggage, you can immediately proceed to border control.

The same is true if you use one of the tens of self check-in machines in the departures hall. Many travellers seem to believe that these have been put there for the exclusive use of the “business travellers”, but actually these machines are very simple to use and will save you a lot of time. Moreover, there’s always someone from the airline around whom you can ask for help.  
If you also have hold baggage you can deliver your bags at the check-in desk. Most airlines have a separate baggage drop-off desk for passengers who have checked in electronically.  

Self-service baggage check-in
Passengers with Brussels Airlines who checked in electronically and are travelling with hold baggage can check in their baggage themselves. To this end six brand-new automatic self-service baggage check-in desks are available. If necessary, airline staff are ready to lend you a hand.

Identity papers for children
Like every other passenger, children under 12 years have to carry a valid proof of identity with photograph. This may be an identity card or passport. Children’s identity cards only have limited validity. Always check the expiry date before you leave.

Do not forget to check the validity of your ID card, passport or visa.  For some countries, you need a passport that is still valid for several months. Make the necessary inquiries.
Please keep in mind that the procedure to apply for an identity card, passport or visa usually takes several days. A certificate of theft/loss issued by the police is not valid for travels abroad.

If you intend to book a last-minute trip, please check first whether you have the necessary identity papers or whether there’s still enough time for you to obtain them. If you’re leaving for an exotic destination, please bear in mind that you may need several days or weeks to get the necessary vaccinations.

Hold baggage
The weight of the baggage you are allowed to take is limited. The baggage allowance is mentioned on your air ticket or your airline’s website. In case of doubt, you are advised to weigh your baggage at home before leaving for the airport. Remove all baggage labels from previous flights. Avoid using baggage straps and make sure all straps on your backpack are pulled and tied firmly. They might get stuck in the baggage sorting system and damage your bag.

Hand baggage
Most airlines limit the number of pieces of hand baggage allowed as well as their weight and volume. Especially during the summer months, airlines tend to be very strict about this. More information is available on the airlines’ website.

Baggage tip
Passengers are advised to provide each piece of baggage (including hand baggage, camera bag, beauty case, backpack…) with a label carrying their name and contact details. Also put a visiting card inside each piece of baggage. If your baggage gets lost, this may be the only thing the services concerned have to go by to return the bags to you.

Children: beware!
Every summer incidents happen at the airport involving children getting hurt through the improper use of escalators, walkalators and baggage trolleys. Attractive as they may seem, these are no toys!

Additional information
More detailed information on most of these matters is available on the airport website The smartphone app too is bursting with practical information. In exceptional conditions, the airport posts regular updates on Twitter and Facebook.

Answers to some questions may vary between airlines depending on the situation. If you have any questions on baggage allowances, travelling with pets, changing air tickets or retrieving lost baggage, you had best check with your travel agent or airline. Their web address and telephone number is usually mentioned on the ticket.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Exode estival à Brussels Airport

25 juin 2013

Affluence des grands jours à l’aéroport dès ce jeudi 27 juin avec le début de l’exode estival. Comme chaque année, l’exode commence quelques jours avant les mois de vacances que sont juillet et août. Cette année également, ce seront les mois les plus chargés. Bien que Brussels Airport soit dimensionné pour faire face à de tels pics de fréquentation, il est clair que les matinées connaîtront une affluence particulière à l’aéroport cet été.


Voici un aperçu du nombre de passagers au départ (*) pour les prochains jours :

jeudi 27 juin 36.000
vendredi 28 juin 40.000
samedi 29 juin 33.000
dimanche 30 juin 37.000
lundi 1 juillet 41.000
mardi 2 juillet 38.000
mercredi 3 juillet 39.000
jeudi 4 juillet 39.000
vendredi 5 juillet 40.000

(*) Le nombre de passagers qui atterriront à Brussels Airport en juillet se situe aux alentours de 35.000 par jour.


Situation inhabituelle cette année: le pic des départs ne se situe pas le dernier vendredi de juin, mais le lundi 1 juillet. L’année dernière 43.000 passagers avaient embarqué le vendredi 29 juin, ce qui constitue un record absolu pour Brussels Airport quant au nombre de passagers au départ. Les départs au cours de la première semaine de juillet sont par contre plus nombreux que ceux de l’année dernière. Alors qu’il y a quelques années encore un pic de 30.000 passagers était exceptionnel, le cap des 35.000 est dépassé 17 fois en juillet et le cap des 40.000 passagers 2 fois. Contrairement à une idée reçue, le samedi n’est pas un jour de pointe pendant les mois d’été, mais au contraire le jour avec généralement le moins de passagers au départ.

Brussels Airport formule quelques conseils et recommandations à l’attention des passagers qui se préparent à voyager pendant les jours d'affluence.

Partez bien à temps
Le premier conseil, le plus important, que l’on puisse prodiguer aux vacanciers, c’est d’arriver bien à temps à l’aéroport. Il est en effet de la responsabilité du voyageur lui-même de veiller à arriver à temps pour l’enregistrement. Les recommandations à ce sujet varient d’une compagnie aérienne à l’autre, mais les autorités européennes conseillent pour les vols vers des destinations proches de se présenter à l'enregistrement deux heures avant le départ, et trois heures avant le départ pour les vols long-courriers.

Ce délai est une précaution bien utile. En période d'affluence, il faut prévoir plus de temps pour trouver un parking, passer par les comptoirs de ticketing et d'enregistrement, se soumettre aux contrôles d'identité et de sûreté et embarquer à bord de l'avion. Dès 4 heures du matin le hall des départs connaît une forte affluence, qui perdure tout au long de la matinée. En fin d'après-midi les passagers sont à nouveau fort nombreux au départ.

L’info sur votre smartphone
Une appli bien pratique et gratuite guide le passager de son point de départ jusqu’à l’aéroport, l’aide à planifier le temps nécessaire et lui sert de pilote dans les différentes étapes à l’aéroport, du hall d’enregistrement jusqu’à la porte d’embarquement. L’appli indique également en temps réel la durée des files d’attente aux postes de contrôle de sûreté des jetées A et B. Cette appli est disponible pour iPhone et Android, et existe même en version chinoise.

Conduire ou chercher des passagers à l’aéroport
Pendant les prochains mois, la zone des arrivées devant le terminal restera fermée pour cause de travaux. Les automobilistes venant déposer ou chercher des voyageurs à l’aéroport peuvent le faire au niveau des départs. Ces passagers sont invités à débarquer ou embarquer rapidement, de sorte que la voiture puisse redémarrer au plus vite. Il est strictement interdit de se garer devant le terminal et la police veille au grain.

Si vous souhaitez prendre plus de temps pour les adieux ou l’accueil, ou accompagner le voyageur dans le terminal, les parkings en face du terminal vous offrent 12.000 places de stationnement à proximité immédiate.

Se garer
L’aéroport propose un large choix de possibilités de parking. Certains parkings sont situés à quelques mètres en face du terminal, d’autres sont reliés par navettes. Certains parkings conviennent pour un stationnement de longue durée, d’autres sont mieux adaptés à de courtes durées. Les informations utiles sont disponibles sur le site web de l’aéroport www.brusselsairport.be

A la recherche du parking le meilleur marché pour une longue durée? Le nouveau Discount Parking d’Interparking à Brucargo vous permet de garer la voiture à partir de 39 euros par semaine. Ce parking en plein air est relié au terminal par des navettes gratuites. Pour plus de détails et pour les tarifs de tous les parkings, consultez le site web de Brussels Airport.

Liquides et gels
Depuis fin 2006 les autorités européennes imposent des limitations au transport de liquides et de gels dans les bagages à main. Cette réglementation est toujours d’application. Les liquides, gels, mousses et pâtes peuvent être emportés dans les bagages de soute (qui doivent être enregistrés), mais sont strictement limités dans les bagages à main. Si vous voulez les prendre avec vous en cabine, ils doivent être contenus dans un récipient de maximum 100ml chacun et doivent être présentés au contrôle de sûreté rassemblés dans un sachet de 20x20cm en plastique transparent qui peut être refermé, de type sachet surgélation zippé.

Les produits tartinables, tels le chocopasta et le beurre de cacahouètes, les fromages à pâte molle et les pâtés tombent également sous le coup de ces restrictions.

Brussels Airport déconseille d'emporter en cabine des produits liquides dont vous n'avez pas absolument besoin pendant le vol.

Ces limitations ne concernent pas les produits hors taxe, qui sont admis en cabine en conditionnement plus volumineux. En effet, ces produits ont été soumis à un contrôle approfondi avant leur mise en vente dans les magasins de l'aéroport et les achats sont emballés dans des sachets en plastique scellés. Ceux-ci doivent toutefois rester fermés jusqu'à l'arrivée du passager à sa destination finale. L'eau et les boissons achetées après avoir passé le contrôle de sûreté peuvent également être emportées en cabine.

Ces limitations ne concernent pas non plus les médicaments liquides et les produits de soins pour les bébés ou les enfants en bas âge dont vous aurez besoin au cours du vol.

Quelque 500 kilos de liquides et gels sont saisis chaque jour lors du contrôle des bagages à main. Les produits dont l'emballage est ouvert sont détruits, tandis que les produits non entamés sont offerts à des institutions caritatives. Les boissons alcoolisées sont vendues aux enchères et les revenus de ces ventes sont offerts à des orphelinats.

Autres objets prohibés
Comme par le passé, certains autres objets sont également prohibés dans la cabine de l'avion. Des objets pointus ou tranchants (principalement des couteaux et des ciseaux) ne peuvent faire partie des bagages à main, pas plus que tout objet de nature à être d'une manière ou d'une autre utilisée comme arme (marteau, gourdin) ou pouvant servir à ligoter quelqu'un (corde, ruban adhésif). D'autres produits ne sont pas du tout admis à bord d'un avion, même pas dans les bagages de soute: produits inflammables, corrosifs, radioactifs, toxiques ou explosifs. Pour plus de détails, consultez le site internet de l'aéroport.


S'enregistrer plus rapidement
Evitez de faire la file au check-in, parmi les milliers d'autres passagers au départ. La technologie nous aide à nous enregistrer plus rapidement. Plus de la moitié des clients de certaines compagnies aériennes utilisent déjà les systèmes d'enregistrement électroniques.

De nombreuses compagnies proposent le check-in par internet. Via le site sur lequel vous avez réservé votre billet vous pourrez, à partir de 24 heures avant le départ, imprimer une carte d'embarquement sur votre imprimante à la maison ou au travail. Si vous voyagez avec un seul bagage à main, il ne vous faudra plus faire la file au comptoir mais vous pourrez vous présenter directement au contrôle des frontières.

La même procédure est d'application pour les passagers qui ont effectué leur check-in sur une des machines automatiques qui se trouvent par dizaines dans le terminal. De nombreux passagers pensent que ces machines sont réservées aux "hommes d'affaires". Pas du tout. Leur emploi est d'une grande simplicité et elles vous permettent de gagner beaucoup de temps. Il y a d'ailleurs toujours quelqu'un de la compagnie aérienne à proximité pour vous remettre sur la bonne voie si nécessaire.
Si vous utilisez le check-in électronique et voyagez avec des bagages de soute, vous pourrez déposer vos valises à un comptoir d'enregistrement. La plupart des compagnies aériennes réservent un ou plusieurs comptoirs à cet effet.

Enregistrer ses bagages soi-même
Les passagers de Brussels Airlines qui se sont enregistrés par voie électronique et voyagent avec des bagages de soute ont dorénavant la possibilité d’enregistreur eux-mêmes leurs bagages. Six comptoirs automatiques, flambant neufs, ont été aménagés à cet effet. Des collaborateurs de la compagnies sont disponibles pour preter assistance si nécessaire.

Documents d'identité pour enfants
Les enfants de moins de 12 ans doivent, comme tout passager, être munis d'un document valable d'identité, avec photo: soit une carte d'identité, soit un passeport. Les petites cartes pour enfants délivrées précédemment par la commune NE sont PLUS valables pour un voyage en avion. Attention: les cartes d'identité pour enfants ont une validité limitée. Vérifiez à temps la date de validité et faites si nécessaire une demande via votre administration communale.

Passeports
Vérifiez en temps voulu la validité de votre carte d’identité, passeport ou visa. Certains pays exigent que le passeport reste valable un certain nombre de mois après la date de départ. Informez-vous au préalable.
La demande de documents d'identité, d'un passeport ou de visa requiert généralement plusieurs jours. Tenez en compte.
L'attestation de perte ou de vol d'une pièce d'identité, délivrée par la police, n'est pas valable pour un voyage à l'étranger.
Lorsque vous envisagez une réservation de dernière minute, assurez-vous avant de réserver que vous détenez des documents d'identité requis ou que vous disposez du temps nécessaire pour les obtenir. Les vaccins, indispensables pour certaines destinations exotiques, doivent également être administrés plusieurs jours ou semaines à l'avance.
Bagages de soute
Le poids de vos bagages est limité. Vous trouverez des informations au sujet de la quantité de bagages autorisée sur votre billet d’avion ou sur le site internet de la compagnie aérienne. En cas de doute, n’hésitez pas à peser votre bagage avant de quitter la maison. Supprimez toutes les étiquettes de voyages précédents. Evitez les lanières qui risquent de s’accrocher dans les systèmes de tri des bagages, et dès lors d’endommager votre bagage. Fixez bien les lanières de votre sac à dos.

Bagages à main
La plupart des compagnies aériennes limitent le nombre, le volume et le poids des bagages à main. Elles y sont particulièrement attentives pendant les périodes de grande affluence. Vous trouverez généralement les informations nécessaires sur le site web de votre compagnie aérienne.

Conseil bagages:
Il est toujours utile de munir chaque pièce de bagage (y compris les bagages à main, sac photo, beauty case, sac à dos, …) d'une étiquette mentionnant vos noms et données de contact. Et pas seulement à l'extérieur: prévoyez également une carte de visite à l'intérieur de chaque bagage. Si votre bagage devait s'égarer, ce sera souvent pour les services concernés l'unique moyen de pouvoir vous le restituer.

Enfants : attention !
Chaque été, des enfants sont victimes d'accidents plus ou moins sérieux à l'aéroport, en se blessant aux escalators, tapis roulants et chariots à bagages. Même si ceux-ci paraissent tentants, ce ne sont pas des jouets!  

Informations
Vous trouverez plus d'information concernant la plupart des sujets traités ci-dessus sur le site internet de Brussels Airport: www.brusselsairport.be. Et l'application pour smartphone déborde également d’informations pratiques. En cas de circonstances exceptionnelles, l'aéroport transmet généralement des mises à jour régulières sur twitter et facebook également.

La réponse à certaines questions peut varier d'une compagnie aérienne à l'autre, d'un vol à l'autre et chaque situation peut être différente. Votre agent de voyage ou votre compagnie aérienne sont les mieux placés pour répondre à vos questions sur des sujets tels le poids autorisé pour les bagages à main ou enregistrés, le transport d'animaux domestiques, les modifications de réservation ou la récupération de bagages égarés. Leur adresse internet et leur numéro de téléphone sont généralement mentionnés sur le billet d'avion.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company