Brussels Airport: work on Connector has been started

June 24, 2013

After the preparation of the construction site, excavation work was started a few weeks ago for the construction of the Connector: a new building, as announced previously, that will connect the departure hall of Brussels Airport to Pier A. Once completed, the new building will make a world of difference in terms of passenger experience and comfort. With this Brussels Airport will be back among the top of European airports. Connector represents an investment of € 71 million, the largest investment since the construction of Pier A in 2002.

The building will be used for all passengers departing from Brussels Airport. After passing the automated access control to the Connector, passengers then find themselves in the first part of the building where a spacious screening platform is located for security checks. These security checks will be faster in the Connector, with more comfort and with a unique view of the airport activity. After the security check, the passengers separate according to their destination: outside or inside of the Schengen area. As before, non-Schengen passengers will use Pier B where they will be submitted to an identity check by the Federal Police, while Schengen passengers follow an escalator down to the lower level of the Connector with a wide range of walkthrough shops, restaurants, bars and seating areas with view of the outside. This space connects seamlessly to the departures gates level in Pier A.

The Connector is not an isolated building and certainly not a stand-alone project: it connects Pier A with the terminal. The areas where the new building connects to Pier A on one end and to the terminal on the other will be given an extensive facelift. Thus the northern part of the departure hall will be completely renovated with a tarmac view. Here too, there will be a renewed range of new bars, restaurants and shops, which are also available for non-passengers. Some weeks ago a new Exki restaurant was opened as a first step in this process. The thorough renovation of this area is scheduled to be completed in the second quarter of 2014. The second stage, the opening of Connector and the adjacent area in Pier A is scheduled for the first quarter of 2015. The connection to Pier B is scheduled six months later.

The most important reason for the Connector is user comfort. There will be far fewer vertical movements with escalators and lifts than we have currently. On the entire itinerary from the departure hall to the gate in pier A, the departing passengers only have to take one escalator that goes down one level; for passengers using pier B, both arriving and departing, there is no need to change levels. Also the feeling of being in a tunnel will be a matter of the past: the wide, open space offered by the Connector allows an abundance of natural light to enter on both sides of the roof, with direct sunlight being filtered and reflected.

The environment will be given special attention during the construction. The abundant natural light reduces the need for artificial lighting, which will be based as far as possible on LED technology. The cooling and heating systems use heat recuperation, and the building will be thermally insulated to a high standard (K20). Rainwater is stored in water tanks with a capacity of 670,000 litres for sanitary use.

Following various preparatory activities, the work on the foundations started last month. The construction work will conclude in 2014, and then the finishing and the installation of the airport-specific facilities will take place. Passengers will be able to use the Connector as from the first quarter of 2015.

Various videos show an artist's impression of the Connector, both from the outside and inside. They are publicly available on YouTube: search for "Connector" and "Brussels Airport".



<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : la construction du Connector a débuté

24 juin 2013

Après la préparation de la zone de chantier, les travaux de terrassement pour la construction du Connector ont démarré il y a quelques semaines. Nouveau bâtiment qui fera la jonction entre le hall de départ de Brussels Airport et la jetée A, le Connector procurera au passager un confort et une expérience sans précédent. Cet investissement d’un montant total de 71 millions d’euros, le plus important depuis la construction de la jetée A en 2002, positionnera Brussels Airport à nouveau totalement parmi les meilleurs aéroports d’Europe. Cet investissement d’une valeur totale de 71 millions d’euros est le plus grand depuis la construction de la jetée A en 2002.

Le bâtiment sera utilisé par tous les passagers partant de Brussels Airport. Un large passage avec contrôle d’accès automatisé ouvre sur la première partie du Connector où sera située une vaste plate-forme de screening pour le contrôle de sûreté. Celui-ci se déroulera plus rapidement et plus confortablement, avec vue sur les activités aéroportuaires à l’extérieur. C’est ensuite que les chemins des passagers se séparent en fonction de leur destination. Les passagers se rendant dans un pays non Schengen sont soumis à un contrôle d’identité par la Police Fédérale avant de se diriger vers la jetée B. Les passagers Schengen, quant à eux, se rendent directement via un escalator à l’étage inférieur du Connector et traversent une zone offrant un large choix de boutiques, de restaurants, de bars et d’espaces de repos avec vue sur l’extérieur. Cette zone mène directement à l’étage des portes d’embarquement de la jetée A.

Le Connector n’est pas un bâtiment isolé, ni un projet isolé : il relie la jetée A au terminal et touche donc à ces deux bâtiments, dont les zones contigües au Connector seront profondément remaniées. Ainsi, la partie septentrionale du hall de départ, à laquelle le Connector viendra se raccorder, sera entièrement rénovée avec vue sur les activités aéroportuaires extérieures. Ici aussi, l’offre de bars, restaurants et boutiques sera renouvelée et accessible également à ceux qui ne voyagent pas. Première étape de ce processus, le nouveau restaurant Exki a ouvert il y a quelques semaines. La rénovation de cette zone sera terminée dès le deuxième trimestre de 2014. La deuxième phase, l’ouverture du Connector et de la zone contigüe dans la jetée A, est prévue début 2015. La connexion avec la jetée B est prévue six mois plus tard.

La principale raison d’être du Connector réside dans son confort d’utilisation pour les passagers en partance, à l’arrivée ou en transit. Le nombre de déplacements verticaux en escalators ou ascenseurs que nous connaissons aujourd’hui est fortement réduit. Sur l’ensemble du trajet entre le hall de départ et la porte d’embarquement de la jetée A, le passager n’aura plus qu’à emprunter un seul escalator descendant un seul étage. Quant aux passagers arrivant ou embarquant à la jetée B, ils ne doivent pas changer d’étage. L’expérience peu appréciée de l’effet tunnel fera bientôt partie d’une époque révolue : l’espace du Connector, vaste et haut, jouit en abondance d’une lumière naturelle captée par les deux façades latérales et par le toit, tandis que les rayons directs du soleil sont bannis et filtrés.

Les aspects environnementaux bénéficient d’une attention particulière. L’abondance de lumière naturelle diminue les besoins en lumière artificielle, qui sera basée autant que possible sur la technologie LED. Les systèmes de refroidissement et de chauffage sont pourvus de récupération de chaleur, et le bâtiment jouit d’un niveau très élevé d’isolation thermique (K20). L’eau de pluie est récupérée de la toiture dans des citernes d’une capacité de 670.000 litres, pour être utilisée dans les sanitaires.

Après les divers préparatifs, les travaux de fondation ont débuté le mois dernier. Le gros-oeuvre sera terminé en 2014; les finitions et l’installation de l’équipement aéroportuaire spécifique suivront. Les passagers utiliseront le Connector à partir du premier trimestre de 2015.

Divers petits films montrent des vues d’artiste du Connector, tant de l’extérieur que de l’intérieur. Ils sont disponibles publiquement sur YouTube: faire une recherche “Connector” et “Brussels Airport”.

Pendant toute la durée des travaux, il est possible de suivre l’avancement du projet sur le site internet de l’aéroport et sur le blog de Brussels Airport.

Site internet: http://www.brusselsairport.be/nl/corporate/connector/

Blog : http://brusselsairport.tumblr.com

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company