Brussels Airport records small growth in May in spite of Swissport strike

June 12, 2013

In May Brussels Airport welcomed 1,719,561 passengers, making it the third month in a row with positive growth after the slight dip in January and February. Passenger numbers were up 0.7% in May in spite of the strike at Swissport, which lasted four days and caused several flights to be cancelled or diverted while other passengers chose to cancel their trip.

The number of originating departing passengers was up 2.1%, whereas the number of transfer passengers recorded a slight decrease. The latter is attributed to the reduced activity of Jet Airways. Intra-European traffic, and in particular the leisure and low fare segments, did well. Undoubtedly the unpleasant weather of the past few months has contributed to the growth in leisure traffic to sunnier destinations. The long-haul segment continued to show slightly negative growth mainly due to the discontinuation of the part of the Jet Airways flights and the loss of American Airlines in 2012. However, this trend was largely countered by the fact that several carriers, including Brussels Airlines and Qatar Airways, extended their services.

Aircraft movements
In May the number of aircraft movements decreased by 3.1% despite the growth in passenger numbers. This is mainly attributed to the improved load factor of the capacity offered.

Cargo traffic recorded a negative growth of -12.8% compared to May 2012. The continued decline in full freighter traffic worldwide is translated in a 20,9% drop at Brussels Airport. As a large number of passenger flights left without belly cargo during the Swissport strike, this segment too records negative growth. This is partly compensated by the continued strong growth of the cargo volumes on integrator flights (+14%). This evolution is in line with that of previous months.  

A new announcement for the summer season of 2013 is the start of the new carrier Air Lituanica, which plans to operate a six weekly service to Vilnius. In June FlyGeorgia launched a two weekly service to Tbilisi. For the coming winter season, THAI has confirmed that it will up its frequency on Bangkok from 3 to 4 flights a week.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport enregistre une légère croissance en mai malgré la grève de Swissport

12 juin 2013

Passagers
Brussels Airport a accueilli 1.719.561 passagers en mai, enregistrant pour le troisième mois d’affilée une croissance positive après le léger repli de janvier et février. Le nombre de passagers a augmenté de 0,7% en mai, malgré la grève de Swissport qui a duré quatre jours et a eu pour conséquence que plusieurs vols ont été annulés ou déroutes, et que des passagers choisissaient d’annuler leur voyage.

Le nombre de passagers dont le voyage débute à l’aéroport était en hausse de 2.1%, tandis que le nombre de passagers en transfert s’inscrivait en léger recul. Celui-ci est attribué à la diminution de l’activité de Jet Airways. Le trafic intra-européen, et en particulier les segments des vacanciers et des vols à bas prix, ont fait preuve de belles performances. Sans aucun doute, le mauvais temps des derniers mois a contribué à la croissance du trafic de vacanciers vers des destinations plus ensoleillées.  Le segment long-courrier continue à enregistrer une légère croissance négative, due principalement à l’interruption d’une partie des vols de Jet Airways et à la perte d’American Airways en 2012. Toutefois cette tendance a été largement contrecarrée par l’extension des activités de différentes compagnies, dont Brussels Airlines et Qatar Airways.

Mouvements d’avion
Le nombre de vols a diminué de 3.1% en mai, malgré la hausse du nombre de passagers. Ceci s’explique principalement par une amélioration du taux d’occupation de la capacité offerte en sièges.

Fret
Le trafic de fret a enregistré une croissance négative de -12.8% par rapport à mai 2012. Le ralentissement continu du trafic cargo au niveau mondial s’est traduit à Brussels Airport par une chute de 20,9%. Etant donné par ailleurs que pendant la grève de Swissport un grand nombre de vols passagers a décollé sans avoir chargé de fret dans ses soutes, ce segment enregistre lui aussi une croissance négative. Cette baisse est partiellement compensée par la forte croissance continue des volumes de fret à bord de vols intégrateurs (+14%). Cette évolution est en ligne avec celle des mois précédents.

Réseau
Parmi les nouveautés pour la saison d’été 2013, la compagnie Air Lituanica a annoncé son arrivée à Brussels Airport et projette d’opérer six vols par semaine à destination de Vilnius. Depuis juin, FlyGeorgia assure quant à elle deux vols hebdomadaires à destination de Tbilisi. Pour la prochaine saison d’hiver, THAI a confirmé une augmentation de sa fréquence sur Bangkok, la portant de 3 à 4 vols par semaine.


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company