Compulsory measures to restore the operations at Brussels Airport

May 16, 2013

The State Secretary for Mobility and Brussels Airport have decided in mutual consultation to take a number of compulsory measures to restore operations at Brussels Airport.

On Wednesday evening the trade unions and the Executive Board of Swissport agreed a protocol agreement, signed by the social mediator. In spite of this agreement, some members of staff are refusing to resume work. The agreement contains both concrete measures that start immediately, and a commmitment on the part of the Swissport Executive Board to continue the necessary discussions in the coming weeks. It is thus unacceptable that members of staff are disregarding this agreement and refusing to resume work.

Brussels Airport and the State Secretary for Mobility gave the necessary time and space in the first instance to the consultations and deeply regret that the agreement achieved is not being complied with by all staff members.

Not only has this extremely long strike caused a huge amount of nuisance for thousands of travellers since Sunday evening, but Brussels Airport and its partners are also suffering from an incalculable loss of image and through this all companies at the airport and in Belgium in general are suffering immense economic harm.

The State Secretary for Mobility and Brussels Airport have decided to take compulsory measures as from 2 pm today, namely:
- The seizure of Swissport material in accordance with the provisions in their licence
- Access to the tarmac and other secured zones to be refused to Swissport personnel that refuse to resume work and therefore have no reason to enter these areas.
- The enforcement of a penalty if the access to the airport infrastructure is blocked and/or the airport operations are impeded.

With a view to the future, the State Secretary for Mobility, Melchior Wathelet, is taking the initiative for consultation with Brussels Airport, handlers and trade unions with the aim of creating a common statute for the personnel of handlers. "This must improve job security for the benefit of the employees, the employers, the airports and the travellers," according to Melchior Wathelet.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Mesures impératives pour rétablir les opérations à Brussels Airport

16 mai 2013

Le Secrétaire d’Etat à la Mobilité et Brussels Airport ont décidé d’un commun accord de prendre un certain nombre de mesures impératives visant à rétablir les opérations à Brussels Airport.

Mercredi soir les syndicats et la direction de Swissport sont parvenus à un accord, signé par le médiateur social.  Malgré cet accord, une partie du personnel à refusé de reprendre le travail.  L’accord contient tant des mesures concrètes avec effet immédiat, qu’un engagement de la part de la direction de Swissport de poursuivre les négociations nécessaires dans les prochaines semaines.  Il est dès lors inacceptable que des membres du personnel ne respectent pas cet accord et refusent de reprendre le travail.

Brussels Airport et le Secrétaire d’Etat à la Mobilité ont initialement laissé amplement le temps à la négociation et regrettent profondément que l’accord conclu ne soit pas respecté par tout le personnel.

Cette longue grève, qui dure depuis dimanche, n’a pas seulement un énorme impact pour les milliers de passagers.  En effet, cette grève a également des conséquences sur l’image de marque de Brussels Airport et de ses partenaires ainsi qu’une immense perte  économique pour toutes les entreprises de l’aéroport et pour la Belgique en général.

Le Secrétaire d’Etat à la Mobilité et Brussels Airport ont décidé de prendre des mesures impératives à partir de 14 heures aujourd’hui, à savoir :

-La saisie du matériel de Swissport conformément aux dispositions de leur licence

-Le refus d’accès au tarmac et aux autres zones sécurisées au personnel de Swissport refusant de reprendre le travail et n’ayant donc pas de raison d’emprunter ces zones

- L’application d’une astreinte si l’accès à l’infrastructure de l’aéroport est bloquée et/ou les opérations aéroportuaires sont impactées.

En parallèle, le Secrétaire d’Etat à la Mobilité, Melchior Wathelet, a entamé les consultations avec Brussels Airport, les agents en escale et les syndicats dans le but de créer un statut commun pour le personnel des agents en escale.  «Cela  devrait améliorer la sécurité de l’emploi au profit des travailleurs, des employeurs, de l’aéroport et des voyageurs» ajoute Melchior Wathelet.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company