Brussels Airport: 1.6 million passengers in April

May 10, 2013

Brussels Airport closed the month of April with 1,627,828 passengers. This was an increase of 0.9% compared to April 2012. April was also the second month in 2013 with positive growth in the number of passengers. Despite the economic situation more passengers chose to travel by plane during the Easter holidays than last year. That had a positive effect on both European and intercontinental flights, as well as on the leisure segment, of course. The number of transit and transfer passengers was slightly lower than the previous year due to earlier reductions at Jet Airways and the disappearance of American Airlines at Brussels, though this has been partly compensated by expansion at Brussels Airlines, Qatar Airways and THAI, amongst others.

Aircraft movements
The rise in the number of passengers contrasted with a fall in the number of airplane movements. With 18,455 flights, 0.9% fewer aircraft movements were noted in April than last year. The loss was smaller than in previous months since the summer schedule came into force at the end of March. Due to the use of relatively larger aircraft the number of seats offered has increased by 0.9% compared to last year, but the occupancy rate remained the same.

In April 36,542 tons of cargo were transported into and out of Brussels Airport - still a decrease of 5,80% but again an improvement compared to previous months. The main reason for the fall in the full freighter activity continues to be the slumping economy. There has also been a decrease in freight on board passenger flights for several months due to the reduction in available capacity. This decline in activities was partly compensated for by an increase in integrator transport, especially at DHL.

For the summer of 2013 FlyGeorgia has announced two weekly flights to Tbilisi (Georgia) as of June. The Turkish airline company Pegasus Airlines will also start two weekly flights then to a new destination: Zafer (Turkey).


<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport: 1,6 million de passagers en avril

10 mai 2013

Passagers
Brussels Airport a accueilli 1.627.828 passagers au cours du mois d’avril, une hausse de 0,9% par rapport à avril 2012. Il s’agit du deuxième mois de 2013 au cours duquel le nombre de passagers s’inscrit en croissance positive. Malgré la situation économique, les passagers étaient plus nombreux que l’année dernière à opter pour un voyage en avion pendant les vacances de Pâques. Ce qui a eu un effet positif sur les vols européens et intercontinentaux, ainsi que sur le segment des loisirs bien évidemment. Le nombre de passagers en transit et en transfert enregistre un léger recul en raison de réductions chez Jet Airways et de la suppression du vol American Airlines, compensées toutefois partiellement par des développements chez Brussels Airlines, Qatar Airways et THAI, entre autres.

Mouvements d’avion
Contrairement à la hausse du nombre de passagers, les mouvements d’avion sont notés à la baisse avec un total de 18.455 mouvements en avril, soit 0,9% de moins que l’année dernière. L’horaire d’été étant d’application depuis la fin mars, le recul est toutefois moins important que celui des mois précédents. De par l’utilisation d’appareils relativement plus grands, l’offre en sièges s’est accrue de 0,9% par rapport à l’année dernière, le taux d’occupation restant inchangé.

Fret
Le fret transporté de et vers Brussels Airport s’élève à 36.542 tonnes. La baisse est encore de 5,8% mais constitue une nouvelle amélioration par rapport aux mois précédents. Le ralentissement économique reste la raison principale du recul du nombre d’avions cargo. Le fret à bord des vols passagers connait depuis quelques mois une diminution en raison de la réduction de la capacité disponible. Ces activités en retrait sont toutefois partiellement compensées par une augmentation du transport intégrateur, principalement chez DHL.

Réseau
En vue de l’été 2013, FlyGeorgia annonce deux vols par semaine à destination de Tbilissi (Géorgie) à partir du juin. Quant à la compagnie aérienne turque Pegasus Airlines, elle prévoit également à partir de juin deux vols par semaine vers une nouvelle destination: Zafer (Turquie).

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company