Brussels Airport: 1.4 million passengers in March

April 9, 2013

Passengers
In March Brussels Airport handled 1,445,987 passengers, up 1.4% on the corresponding month in 2012. The leisure segment in particular recorded a strong growth of 8%. In spite of the economic crisis, the Belgian passenger decided to escape from the winter weather to classical top destinations including the Canary Islands, Turkey and Morocco. What is noticeable is that growth in the leisure segment started very early in the month, about four weeks before the start of the Easter holidays. In the low-fare segment the upward trend of the past few months continues.

In the long-haul segment growth was recorded on the routes to North-America (driven by Brussels Airlines’ services to New York JFK) and Asia due to the additional flights operated by Qatar Airways and Thai Airways International.

Aircraft movements
Despite the 1.4% growth in passenger numbers, the number of aircraft movements decreased by 6.9%. These figures confirm the trend of recent years and are explained by the use of larger passenger aircraft and a significantly improved average load factor.

Cargo
In March Brucargo handled 38,314 tonnes of cargo, a decrease by 17.4% on the previous corresponding period. However it is expected that the negative growth of the past months will turn positive in the second half of 2013 due to the launch of several new operations. Finnair for example is currently setting up its second European hub at Brussels Airport.  On 6 April, Finnair Cargo started operating flights from Brussels to New York, Chicago, Helsinki and Hong Kong and new destinations and frequencies are to be added later this year.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport : 1,4 millions de passagers en mars

9 avril 2013

Passagers
Brussels Airport a clôturé le mois de mars sur un total de 1.445.987 passagers. Ce nombre représente une croissance de 1,4% par rapport à mars 2012. Le segment leisure en particulier a enregistré une forte croissance de 8%. Malgré la crise économique, le passager belge a décidé de fuir le l’hiver vers des destinations populaires classiques telles que les Îles Canaries, la Turquie et le Maroc.  Un fait remarquable est que la croissance dans le segment leisure a débuté déjà au début du mois, quelques quatre semaines avant les vacances de Pâques. Dans le segment des vols à bas coûts, la croissance des derniers mois se poursuit.

Dans le segment des vols long-courriers, une hausse du nombre de passagers a été enregistrée sur les routes vers l’Amérique du Nord, grâce aux vols de Brussels Airlines vers New York JFK, ainsi que vers l’Asie grâce aux vols additionnels de Qatar Airways et Thai Airways International.

Mouvements d’avion
Le nombre de vols a diminué de 6,9% alors que le nombre de passagers a connu une croissance de 1,4%. Ceci confirme l’évolution notée depuis quelques années à l’aéroport, marquée par l’utilisation d’appareils plus grands et une amélioration significative du taux d’occupation des avions.

Fret
Brucargo a traité en mars 38.314 tonnes de fret, une baisse de 17,4% par rapport au même mois de 2012. Pour le deuxième semestre de 2013, on s’attend à ce que la tendance négative des derniers mois soit inversée grâce à l’ouverture de nouvelles routes.  Ainsi, Finnair installe son deuxième hub européen à Brussels Airport. Depuis le 6 avril, Finnair Cargo relie Bruxelles à New York, Chicago, Helsinki et Hong Kong et ajoutera des nouvelles destinations et fréquences au cours de l’année.


 

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company