DHL opens its new logistics center at Brussels Airport

March 22, 2013

Tonight, DHL Global Forwarding, the air and ocean freight specialist within Deutsche Post-DHL Group officially opens its new logistics center at Brucargo. With a total ground territory of 54,000 m² and 23,000 m² of warehouse space, this facility unites all of DHL Global Forwarding Belgium's air freight activities under one roof at Brucargo West. DHL Global Forwarding has been based in Brucargo since the cargo area was developed in 1980. This 27 million euro investment shows the decision to settle in the Brussels Airport freight area was the right one.

"DHL Global Forwarding's choice for Brucargo strengthens the status of the cargo area and Brussels Airport as a key employment platform in Belgium. Brussels Airport is our country's second economic driver, providing 20,000 direct and 40,000 indirect jobs. Through this 27 million euro investment in this new logistics platform, DHL Global Forwarding is reinforcing our strategy to focus on the specific logistics needs of our various key industry sectors", says Jean-Claude Delen, CEO DHL Global Forwarding BeNeLux & France.

Meeting the most stringent air freight safety requirements and complying with the TAPA standards, the new 'state-of-the-art' logistics center is ideally situated in this strategically important region, providing the best infrastructure for DHL Global Forwarding's air freight activities. The new building provides dedicated areas including a 1,750m² temperature-controlled area with the highest GDP standards to meet the needs of our life science customers and customers with other particular requirements. In respect to Deutsche Post-DHL's Go Green environmental protection program, this investment represents a green investment for DHL Global Forwarding, involving the deployment of environmental technologies including on-site electrical vehicles and water recovery systems.

Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport says:  "We are very pleased that a key partner such as DHL Global Forwarding again chose to firmly establish itself at Brucargo and Brussels Airport. This investment gives a very strong boost to the development of Brussels Airport as a cargo hub in particular. Moreover, the lasting presence of DHL Global Forwarding provides crucial added value to the logistics activities in our country. Investments such as these are the best antidote for the economic crisis. Companies that show the initiative and have the courage to invest hugely at this moment are sure to be in pole position once the crisis is behind us."

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

DHL ouvre son nouveau centre logistique à Brussels Airport

22 mars 2013

Ce soir, DHL Global Forwarding qui fait partie du Deutsche Post-DHL Group inaugurera son nouveau site à Brucargo. Ce site occupe une surface au sol totale de 54.000 m² et dispose d'un entrepôt de 23.000 m², ce qui lui permet de concentrer toutes ses activités de fret aérien en un seul et même endroit  à  Brucargo West. DHL Global Forwarding Belgium est un transitaire de premier plan basé à Brucargo depuis l'aménagement de la zone de fret en 1980. Avec cet investissement de 27 millions d'euros l'entreprise confirme donc son choix initial de s'implanter dans la zone de fret aérien à Brussels Airport.

"Le choix de DHL Global Forwarding en faveur de Brucargo renforce la position de la zone de fret et Brussels Airport comme plateforme essentielle pour l'emploi en Belgique. Brussels Airport est le deuxième moteur économique de notre pays avec 20.000 emplois directs et 40.000 emplois indirects. DHL Global Forwarding réalise un investissement total de 27 millions d'euros dans cette nouvelle plateforme logistique afin de répondre encore mieux aux besoins logistiques actuels et futurs de ses clients des différents secteurs industriels", dit Jean-Claude Delen, CEO DHL Global Forwarding BeNeLux & France.

Le nouveau centre logistique 'state-of-the-art', qui satisfait aux normes de sécurité les plus strictes en matière de fret aérien et aux normes TAPA, est idéalement situé dans cette région stratégiquement importante et offre la meilleure infrastructure pour toutes les activités liées au fret aérien. Le bâtiment abrite notamment des zones spécifiques, dont une zone de 1.750 m² où la température est contrôlée et qui répond également aux normes GDP les plus strictes. Et ce en appui de notre stratégie pour garantir une qualité de service encore meilleure à nos clients sectoriels qui ont des exigences spécifiques. Dans le respect de la valeur 'Go Green' de Deutsche Post-DHL, cela représente un investissement vert pour DHL Global Forwarding qui implique l'utilisation de technologies écologiques dont les véhicules électriques sur le site et la récupération d'eau.

Arnaud Feist, CEO Brussels Airport : "Nous sommes extrêmement satisfaits qu'un partenaire important tel que DHL Global Forwarding ait de nouveau choisi de s'implanter à Brussels Airport et Brucargo. Cet investissement donne un coup de fouet au futur développement de Brussels Airport en tant que aéroport de fret. De plus, la présence durable de DHL Global Forwarding apporte une valeur ajoutée essentielle à l'activité logistique dans notre pays. Des investissements comme celui-ci constituent le meilleur antidote à la crise. Les entreprises qui prennent l'initiative et ont le courage d'investir fortement en ce moment, s'assurent d'une place en première ligne lorsqu'on aura laissé la crise derrière nous".

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company