Brussels Airport to carry out works on runway 25R in August

March 15, 2013

Brussels Airport announces that during the month of August substantial works will be carried out on the airport infrastructure. In the interest of aviation safety the airport operator plans important works on the infrastructure of runway 25R/07L: the renovation of the runway drainage system, the entire renovation of one of the major taxiways to runway 25R as well as the complete renovation of the runway lighting system including the replacement of the conventional halogen lights with more ecological LED lights. The airport will also carry out annual maintenance works. To allow for all of these works, runway 25R/07L will be entirely closed to takeoffs as well as landings for 14 days. Starting on the 15th day and for 9 days runway 25R/07L will be operated at reduced length, which means that certain aircraft types will be able to take off from it.

Work will be carried out in August as this month offers the best combination of warm temperatures and little precipitation. Moreover, apart from the winter months, August is the month with the smallest number of movements per day. This makes it possible to complete the works in the shortest possible time.

The works inevitably have an impact on the runway use and the normal flight dispersion plan. When runway 25R/07L is closed to air traffic, takeoffs and landings are carried out on the two remaining runways: 02/20 and 25L/07R.

It is not possible today to give details on the exact use of the two remaining runways during the works as this depends on the weather conditions.

Three fundamental principles apply when deciding on the runway use.

Safety
It goes without saying that only those runway configurations can be used that are guaranteed to be safe, taking account of the weather conditions.

Capacity
A configuration is used that offers sufficient capacity to allow all scheduled airline operations in order to make sure that delays are reduced to a minimum.

Optimal distribution of aircraft movements
Moreover, the fairest possible distribution of the flights for the neighbouring residents is sought after. It is inevitable that during the works some municipalities will be overflown more and others less.

The decision as to which runways to use during the works will be taken in consultation with the Secretary of State for Transport, Belgocontrol, the Directorate General for Aviation and the airlines. Based on this decision and the prevailing weather conditions, the air traffic controllers of Belgocontrol will decide about the actual application on the moment itself.

Work is scheduled to commence on the 1st of August and should be completed by the 24th of August. However, unexpected events during the works can lead to additional works. These, together with the weather conditions, may have an impact on the duration of the works. This is why it is not possible to predict the exact duration at this point.

The residents of the municipalities of Boortmeerbeek, Brussels, Evere, Grimbergen, Haacht, Herent, Ixelles, Jette, Kampenhout, Koekelberg, Kortenberg, Kraainem, Leuven, Machelen, Meise, Molenbeek-Saint-Jean, Rotselaar, Schaerbeek, Steenokkerzeel, Tervuren, Vilvoorde, Wemmel, Wezembeek-Oppem, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Woluwe-Saint-Pierre, Zaventem and Zemst will soon receive a flyer in their mail to inform them on the scheduled works. General information as well as detailed information on the works will be permanently available on www.runwayworks.be as of 16 March.  The runway use will equally be published on this website, as soon as it is known. Everyone who’s interested can subscribe through this website to a digital newsletter with general information about the works and the airport, and with detailed updates on the works and the runway use as soon as it is known. Finally, the runway use during the works will be communicated every day by @brusselsairport on the social media network Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/brusselsairport.

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport effectuera des travaux à la piste 25R en août

15 mars 2013

Brussels Airport annonce que l’infrastructure aéroportuaire fera l’objet de travaux importants au cours du mois d’août prochain. En vue de préserver la sécurité du trafic aérien, des travaux importants à l’infrastructure de la piste 25R/07L sont prévus: la rénovation du système d’évacuation des eaux de la piste 25R, la rénovation complète d’une des principales voies d’accès à la piste 25R ainsi que la rénovation totale du balisage, y inclus le remplacement de l’éclairage halogène par un éclairage LED plus écologique. Des travaux d’entretien annuel seront également effectués. Tous ces travaux nécessitent une mise hors service totale de la piste 25R/07L pour les atterrissages et les décollages pendant 14 jours. A partir du 15e jour et pendant 9 jours, la piste 25R/07L sera opérationnelle sur une longueur réduite, ce qui signifie que certains types d’avion pourront l’utiliser pour les décollages.

Les travaux seront exécutés pendant le mois d’août, cette période offrant la meilleure combinaison de températures élevées et de précipitations faibles. De plus, en dehors des mois d’hiver, août compte le moins de mouvements par jour. Ce choix permet de limiter  au maximum la durée du chantier.

Ces travaux ont inévitablement une répercussion sur l’utilisation des pistes d’atterrissage et de décollage, et sur l’application du plan normal de dispersion des vols. Lorsque la piste 25R/07L est fermée, les atterrissages et décollages s’effectuent sur les deux autres pistes disponibles : 02/20 et 25L/07R.

Il est impossible de préciser dès à présent le détail du mode d’utilisation des pistes pendant la période des travaux car celui-ci dépendra des conditions météorologiques.

Toutefois trois grands principes sont d’une importance cruciale.

Sécurité
Il va de soi que seules peuvent être utilisées des configurations de pistes (l’utilisation des pistes de décollage et d’atterrissage et le rapport entre elles) dont la sécurité est garantie, tenant compte des conditions météorologiques.

Capacité
La configuration utilisée doit offrir une capacité suffisante pour permettre d’effectuer toutes les opérations des compagnies aériennes telles que prévues à leur horaire, tout en réduisant les retards à un minimum.

Répartition optimale
En outre, on vise une répartition optimale pour les riverains. Il est toutefois inévitable que des habitants de certaines communes connaîtront un survol plus important au cours des travaux, et d’autres moins.

La décision en matière d’utilisation des pistes pendant les travaux sera prise en concertation avec le Secrétaire d’Etat à la Mobilité, Belgocontrol, la Direction générale  Transport aérien et les compagnies aériennes. Sur base de cette décision, ainsi que des conditions météorologiques, les contrôleurs aériens de Belgocontrol décideront de son application concrète au moment même.

Les travaux commenceront le 1er août et se termineront vers le 24 août 2013. Cependant, en cours de chantier, des événements imprévus peuvent entraîner des travaux supplémentaires. Ceux-ci, ainsi que les conditions météorologiques peuvent avoir une influence sur la durée du chantier. C’est pourquoi il n’est pas possible d’en prévoir à l’avance la durée avec exactitude.

Les riverains des communes de Boortmeerbeek, Bruxelles, Evere, Grimbergen, Haacht, Herent, Ixelles, Jette, Kampenhout, Koekelberg, Kortenberg, Kraainem, Louvain, Machelen, Meise, Molenbeek-Saint-Jean, Rotselaar, Schaerbeek, Steenokkerzeel, Tervuren, Vilvorde,  Wemmel,  Wezembeek-Oppem, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Woluwe-Saint-Pierre, Zaventem et Zemst recevront prochainement un dépliant d’information dans leur boîte aux lettres. L’information générale tout comme l’information précise concernant ces travaux ainsi que la répartition de l’utilisation des pistes dès qu’elle sera connue, seront disponibles en permanence sur le site www.runwayworks.be à partir du 16 mars. Toute personne intéressée peut également s’inscrire via ce même site web pour recevoir une lettre d’information digitale contenant des informations générales sur les travaux et sur l’aéroport, mais aussi les détails concernant l’exécution concrète des travaux et l’utilisation des pistes dès que ceux-ci seront connus. En outre, l’utilisation des pistes sera communiquée quotidiennement pendant la durée des travaux par @brusselsairport via le réseau social Twitter: www.twitter.com/brusselsairport .


<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company