Brussels Airport takes measures following incident with unaccompanied minor

February 11, 2013

Brussels Airport takes additional measures regarding access control to the non-public area of the airport following the incident with an unaccompanied minor who travelled to Malaga last Friday.

Together with the competent authorities, Brussels Airport will investigate whether additional security measures are required, in terms of infrastructure as well as procedures. In the meantime, additional supervision on the electronic scanning of boarding passes will be provided. Moreover, Brussels Airport sensitises all partners who are active at the airport and asks airport staff that has direct contact with the passengers to be particularly alert to the presence of unaccompanied minors.

The screening of passengers who travel within the Schengen area is carried out on two levels. On the one hand, the airport, in conformity with European legislation, is responsible for the access control to the non-public area of the airport through the electronic scanning of boarding passes. A security agent is always present to supervise. On the other hand, access to the aircraft is controlled by the airline, likewise by checking the passengers’ boarding pass. On top of these access control checks, all passengers and their hand baggage are screened.

Despite these thorough checks, a young passenger succeeded in gaining access both to the non-public area of the airport and the aircraft. Brussels Airport takes this incident very seriously and will give its full support to the investigation.

Brussels Airport stresses that during the incident there was never any security risk, neither to air traffic nor to the passengers, given that all screening operations were carried out.  

<< Back to Overview
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company

Brussels Airport prend des mesures à la suite de l’incident avec un passager mineur non accompagné

11 février 2013

Brussels Airport prend des mesures additionnelles quant au contrôle d’accès à la zone non publique de l’aéroport et ce, à la suite de l’incident avec un passager mineur non accompagné qui a voyagé vers Malaga vendredi passé.

En collaboration avec les autorités compétentes, il est actuellement examiné si des mesures de sûreté s’imposent au niveau de l’infrastructure ou des procédures. Entretemps, une surveillance supplémentaire est prévue sur le scanning automatique des cartes d’embarquement. De plus, Brussels Airport sensibilise tous les partenaires actifs à l’aéroport et demande au personnel qui est en contact avec les passagers d’être particulièrement vigilant aux mineurs non accompagnés.

Le contrôle des passagers voyageant au sein de l’espace Schengen se fait en deux phases. D’une part l’aéroport est responsable, conformément à la législation européenne, pour le contrôle d’accès à la zone non publique de l’aéroport et ce, au moyen du scanning automatique de la carte d’embarquement.  Un agent de sûreté est toujours présent. D’autre part, le contrôle d’accès à l’avion relève de la compétence de la compagnie aérienne, et ce également sur base de la carte d’embarquement. En plus de ces contrôles d’accès, les bagages à main de tous les passagers sont contrôlés.

Malgré ces contrôles approfondis, un jeune passager a réussi à obtenir accès à l’aéroport ainsi qu’à l’avion. Brussels Airport prend cet incident très au sérieux et apporte toute sa collaboration à l’enquête en cours.  

Brussels Airport souligne que  dans cette affaire la sécurité des passagers et du trafic aérien n’a jamais été mise en péril étant donné que tous les contrôles de sûreté nécessaires ont été effectués.

<< Retour au Sommaire
Disclaimer - © Brussels Airport Company